We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Priory Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Priory Hotel
Ranked #29 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed there on way back to London. Right opposite the station, and short taxi ride from channel ferry. They have good food, a friendly host, from memory £50 for a large room. Breakfast is available too, up to you we had English. Recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zappa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
There are newer reviews for Priory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Staying at the Priory Hotel was the highlight of our honeymoon! Eric is a terrific cook and the Sunday dinner couldn't be beat! Fantastic live music three of the four nights. Across from the RR station, it's an easy walk downtown via the medieval priory complex built of flint. We made this our homebase from which we visited Canterbury and Folkestone. We could not have found nicer nor more fun people with whom to laugh, drink a pint and sing. We intended to just stay one night and ended up staying four!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

A great hotel right next to the train station, very clean and comfortable, great range of drinks and a well varied food menu, which was fab.The owner Eric and all the staff can't do Next time we visit Dover we will be staying at the Priory Hotel.We were a group of four to aunties and our two nieces in their twentys.Great location to pop over to France or a visit to Canterbury.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karenrowe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A lovely old hotel being cared for by an old Electrical Engineer and his wife. Beer is excellent condition always and that exceptional for real ale. Food is good. The owner looks after the pub and the regulars look after the pub which I understand has really turned it self around from what it had been three years ago.

I have also stayed in some of the rooms. I have been happy here. Thank you Eric, Andrew and others on the other side of the bar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
2  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A pub close to the train station, very handy for getting around. There for two nights to attend a wedding in Dover. Food basic but excellect - heard they have won best Sunday lunch in Dover. Friendly staff and locals who all make you very welcome - particulary Eric the landlord and the Scottish lady behind the bar (didn't get her name). Just one thing if you are planning on a quiet stay then it might not be the place for you - the live band plays until midnight, not a problem for us but it might be for some. And the bloody sea gulls keep you awake most o fthe night if you are not used to them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Brilliantly friendly staff and locals, got a great breakfast in the morning and had a fantastic evening in the bar.
Don't expect 5 star luxury and you won't be disappointed in the slightest. They often have live bands on so don't go if you want a quiet night. Excellent place to stop over on the way to Calais / France.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cool-njc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tiziana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.8 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Longfield Guest House
Longfield Guest House
#25 of 38 in Dover
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Number 7 Priory Guest House
0.3 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#30 of 38 in Dover
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dovers Restover Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Hotel

Address: 3 Folkestone Road | Priory Station Approach Road, Dover CT17 9SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing