We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harsh reviews and largely unfounded”
Review of Costa Coffee

Costa Coffee
Ranked #12 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Dover
Restaurant details
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Harsh reviews and largely unfounded”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Come on people be fair. Don't get obsessed by the unclean tables, it proves how popular the place is. If it's as bad as you say why is it always full up. I love the coffee, yes the food is overpriced, but then you know that so don't eat here if you want cheap because as another review said there are great spoons down the road. Service is slow in the morning and folk do get fed up with that but it's because it's so popular, and it's so popular because it's largely good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirtbag7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a single clean table”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I visited Costa Friday morning for breakfast, there were several tables occupied, but more tables were empty of customers, it was very off putting to see every table had at least one dirty cup on it. There was only one person ahead of us in the queue, so it wasn't particularly busy!
I had a latte and a cheese and ham toastie. The food and drink were nice, but having to clear a table whilst the staff watched was irritating. As I had my young son with me some help with the tray would also have been appreciated but was not offered.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always Friendly ”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular visitor to this costa and have always found it to be clean and tidy. The staff are very friendly and the drinks fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank NeB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
959 reviews
639 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 632 helpful votes
“Typical Costa Shop”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Dover Costa is really no different from any other Costa in Britain. The food and drinks are good, but not great. The staff are usually helpful, but not exactly friendly and welcoming either. Often spillages on tables can go unnoticed and/or uncleaned. There aren't enough staff to deal with the mid-day rush. The usual things.

Once, when in Costa with my friends, I bought a Coke. Upon opening it, the contents exploded everywhere. It had been on a tray since we bought it, so it was not us who had shaken it up (though it appeared this was beyond shaking), however the staff offered me a free replacement. Despite this, the mess remained uncleaned. Also, I will add, that the brownies and muffins sold by Costa are actually very good, especially for a big chain.

In Dover, there are a lot of better places however, where you can get better food, better drinks and better service for a fraction of the price of Costa. For those unaware, Costa employs the same pricing techniques as Starbucks to drive their competitors out of business, and in Dover it appears not to have worked as there is still a wide selection. I don't usually drink coffee, one of Costa's main drawing points, yet my girlfriend recommends Chaplins in Dover for their coffee - which is both nicer tasting and cheaper than Costa's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandalfTheDrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to come for a hot chocolate before work. The staff are friendly the cafe is clean and the drinks always come out quick and hot. Very nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Costa Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing