We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Host- Michael”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 299 London Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
299 London Road
Ranked #20 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Austin, Spamtown , Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Host- Michael”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Michael responded to all our email inquiries and made suggestions on mode of travel to Dover from London. He even offered to pick us up at Dover Priory, though we walked instead, easy enough. Michael did drive us to the cruise terminal at 1:30 P.M. after our tour of Dover Castle. With additional guests arriving and his son's birthday he managed to accommodate our desire to sightsee in Dover. He provided a full English breakfast that enabled us to tour most of the day without anything additional. The room was unique and I am still a believer in using B&B to add something special to your travel. The location provides an easy walk to most places if your are in moderate shape.

Room Tip: We were in the lower level off street room. The only problem is the room had a very low ceiling thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougg1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The double room on the ground floor has a private entrance, plenty of space and lovely en suite facilities. We found this to be a great pre-cruise location from which to explore Dover and its historic castle. You can be confident that the property photos are accurate.
Michael could not have been a better host. He picked us up at the coach station upon arrival and even took us to the cruise terminal to meet our ship. We felt right at home from the beginning and welcomed the opportunity to recuperate from our overseas flight.
I would like to encourage anyone cruising out of Dover to start their travel early, spend at least two nights with Michael & Beverly, relax, visit a local pub, take the Castle tour and start your cruise refreshed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilbo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatillon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Excellent choice. We stayed 3 weeks in the UK and did not find a better B&B. Lovely room, very spacious and such a nice smell (aromatherapy). Ideal for families with children. Excellent home cooked breakfast. Good location, safe, and possible to park a car safely. I can recommend this place definitevely.

Room Tip: Very calm room, spacious. Have a go! You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed at a charming Bed and Breakfast one night in June which was owned and operated by Michael and Beverly Pirie in Dover, Kent CT17 OSY. This is an elegant home, offering to me a downstairs room with all the comforts of a top rated hotel. It had an incredible beautiful large private bathroom, brochures on Dover for the taking, elegant bed linens, a private entrance and the host, Michael invited me to enjoy their gardens and brought me a fantastic cup of tea while I awaited briefly the departing guests as I had arrived early. This was a beautiful serene spot, and the host suggested nearby restaurants and directions for my walk-about Dover as I had by-passed the town arriving by a cab at the Bed and Breakfast from the Dover Cruise dock. In the morning there was a full breakfast awaiting me and my choice of tea or coffee. My host went above and beyond in friendliness and welcoming to Dover as well as helping me with my very heavy suitcase to the awaiting cab which would take me to London. This is a Bed and Breakfast that I would highly recommend to anyone who would prefer to take the time to see Dover and its beauty and not just pass through on their way to or from the cruise ship.

Room Tip: My room was with a private door and key for my coming and going and Michael Pirie would be the exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

This tiny B&B has two rooms, a double with its own entrance - and its own key - and a smaller room facing ghe garden. I stayed in the double, which has the most beautiful en suite I have ever seen. Everything is of the highest standard, the bed with its egyptian cotton bedlinen is perfect.

The welcome i received from Michael when i staggered in, late on a cold wet night, was so kind and thoughtful - a glass of wine and a tasty snack, then Michael left me to enjoy the warmth and comfort of the room, and a hot bath in the impeccably clean and well appointed en suite.

Everything is geared to their guests and their comfort and pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stella Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

My wife and I booked for one night and ended up staying for two! Didn't think there was much to see except for the white cliffs, we were so wrong. Still more to see so will have to come back again Michael. 299 London road is a little gem of a B&B. warm cosy room, comfy bed. Flat screen tv. All the little extras that set one b & b apart from another such as tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the room, a great selection of DvdS if you want to stay in on a cold winter night, a good selection of restaurants and pubs within walking distance (reasonable prices as well) and to start the day a full (English) breakfast. The only drawback would be that there is only on street parking but the positives far out way this one little negative. I can truly say "superb" and we'll d one to michael and Beverly. 5** Miro

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

I visited 299 London Road on August- vacationing around Europe in hotels was starting take a toll on me, they were nice but I wanted more home like feel while in Dover. I came across this lovely place while doing my research in airbnb and believe me, it was the best decision I made during the whole trip.
Bev came to my rescue to pick me up at the cruise terminal , calling it a rescue as it was my first time in Dover and it was a good feeling to have someone around to welcome me.
During my 3 days stay there I had a great time! My very friendly hosts Micheal and Bev were helpful and assisted me in my tour around Dover. House had all the facilities that I would find in mine in Hong Kong and breakfast was YUMMM! The house had a very vintage decor similar to mine in HK and I felt like being back home. By the end of 3rd day I had become very good friends with Bev and Micheal - it was kind of sad to leave but I had to. :)
On my way to Paris I promised myself that I would definitely visit 299 while I am in UK next time again...
Thank you for your hospitality- I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at your very beautiful home.

I will definitely be back for more...

Avi

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.5 mi away
The Norman Guest House
The Norman Guest House
#11 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Dieu Guest House
0.0 mi away
Heather's Woodlands
Heather's Woodlands
#21 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
1.7 mi away
Guston House B&B
Guston House B&B
#7 of 41 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number 7 Priory Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 299 London Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 299 London Road

Property: 299 London Road
Address: 299 London Road, Dover CT17 0SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant listed Georgian townhouse. 5 minutes from centre of Dover, 5 minutes Dover Railway Station, cruise/ferry terminal, Dover Castle. 2 bedrooms both ensuite. Comfy beds, Egyptian Cotton bed linen, WiFi, TV and Ipods in room. Tea and Coffee making facilities in room, hairdryers, luxury bath products. Great English breakfast with local produce, homemade jams and preserves, farm eggs, Nespresso coffee. Complimentary pickup from Ferry/Cruise terminal/railway station if required (By prior arrangement). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 299 London Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
299 London Road Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing