We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sutton Vale Country Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good enough!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have been coming here on and off for a few years and each time we return it seems to be getting worse. The showers and washing up facilities are just not good enough.They are dirty,inadequate lighting and are in need of some TLC.The swimming pool and pool area is not very clean. The whole site needs some money spending on it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Hehehehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuttonVale, Manager at Sutton Vale Country Park, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Thank you very much for your review.

We are sad to hear your previous stay with us was not very enjoyable.

Over the last year we have made many improvements to the campsite and it's facilities and plan to make even more this Winter so that Spring 2016 can see a renovated clubhouse, new pool changing facilities and much much more.

We hope to see you return soon.

Kind regards,

Beth Harris
Marketing Manager
Sutton Vale Country Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

A cheap stop for campers wishing to explore deal but you don't get what you don't pay for.
The pitches are level, spacious and have electricity and water. However the cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired. The shower block is tired and in need of a refurb, the hot water is hot but takes time to come through. The toilets are tired portacabins and despite signs saying that they are checked every hour, I don't believe they were. Not dirty just grubby.
There is no warden throughout the night and the people in the pitch next to us, despite being asked to quieter down kept going until 6am.
The tent pitches are in a large circle which allows for children and families to play and socialise.
The bins were full when we arrived and low and behold they were still full when we left.
We only stayed one night and doubt very much that we would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrewg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuttonVale, Manager at Sutton Vale Country Park, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Thank you very much for your review Andrew.

We are sorry to hear your previous stay was unsatisfactory but we are happy to say that within the last year we have made many improvements. This Winter we plan to make many more such as a renovated clubhouse, fibre optic broadband, new pool and holiday facilities.

We do hope that now we have made many improvements that you give us another chance in the near future.

Kind regards,

Beth Harris
Marketing Manager
Sutton Vale Country Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We read reviews on this site so living local decided to visit before booking...

So lets start with the cons as other reviews are quite bad. The toilet and shower blocks are very dated. Over the weekend the hand towels and soap were filled on the Friday and didn't appear to be replenished once used up. The showers weren't overly clean, take your flip flops. Disappointingly there was litter on the site left by campers. Having camped for 40 years I was taught as a child to walk around after packing up and clean rubbish so I'm not sure the site can be blamed its irresponsible campers. Finally, there is nothing within walking distance so be prepared to have to drive for essentials.

Pros. It's a quiet and very small site. Staff were polite and helpful. I was not bothered by the traffic noise as other reviews stated. Neither was I bothered by the nature smells. That's what you get when staying in the country. The site was not over packed and there was plenty of space for kids to play football. This is a perfect site for a short stay and we will definitely go back. We all loved the site. The swimming pool is a great bonus. There's nothing I would change as that would encourage a price increase and commercialise the site. It's tranquil and perfect as it is. Don't be put off by negative reviews, personally I hate big sites with beautiful ablutions that the hot water runs out by 10 after an hours queue. This site had no queues and hot water all day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zam1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuttonVale, Manager at Sutton Vale Country Park, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Thank you very much for such an honest and fantastic review.

Since your stay we have made many more improvements and hope to see you and your family again soon!

Kind regards,
Beth Harris
Marketing Manager
Sutton Vale Country Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

We just recently come back from a weekend in our motorhome. We have been here a few years ago. The Shower block was appalling, rust around the sink basins not very apealing to have a wash in. Cobwebs behind the cubicle toilet doors. Not checked every hour as stated read there chart that is supposed to be signed by the staff. No heating on in the shower block I feel it has gone down hill. Even through it has static homes for sale and rent, The sight is trying to portray an allrounder good at everything. It sould keep up with appearances or just stick at selling static homes. No thought has gone into the hardstanding pitches, would it be too much trouble to make paths down the sides of the pitch so you are not tracing muddy grass in, they could use narrow strips of astro turf, not enough gravel topup, weeds overgrown slipped a few times just a mud bath. Also booked a Sunday Lunch, I will say the staff are friendly, but they could refresh themselfs with customer service skills. No Menu was offered, Just as we were taking our coats off. Will it be two lamb roasts. I did reply, if that is all there is on the menu, reply was i can do roast chicken. No starters were offered but i did notice that the next table has starters, also after we had finish the meal, quite a time had gone before the plates were taken from the table and no dessert menu was offered, just not impressed. Praise must be given to the club house,very clean and redecorated. The laundry/wash up area could do with a refurb, old seal around the washbasin just black.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuttonVale, Manager at Sutton Vale Country Park, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Thank you very much for your review Heather,

We are sorry that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We are happy to announce that over the last year we have made many improvements and plan to make many more this Winter. Just some of these changes will see an improvement in camping facilities, the swimming pool area and clubhouse including Fibre Optic Broadband.

We do hope you give us another chance soon as we do feel that you would very much enjoy your stay.

Kind regards,

Beth Harris
Marketing Manager
Sutton Vale Country Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We booked a camping pitch in the 6 weeks holidays and was amazed at the cheap price which was really good.Friends of ours had been here a few years ago so we knew roughly what i was like.Its a very small site with the camping field at the back of the park.The pitches were quite a good size,our 6m tent just fitted in the pitch so we had to put our car infront.Lots of room in the middle of the field for the kids to play. There was no park as stated on their website so that was a minus. The camping toilets are basically glorified porta loos but were kept quite clean throughout apart from the soap machines not being filled for at least 1 week while we were there. The washing up area is next to the toilets which again was a porta cabin and again it was kept very clean throughout our stay. The showers themselves were very dated and needed updating and the water just trickled out if you were lucky. The handle for the temperature actually fell off on one occasion. The pool is quite nice but the enclosure is quite dated.. its like a big warehouse style building with corrugated plastic for the walls on two of the sides.The first 3 nights there were holes in the walls which were replaced eventually...not very hygienic as birds could have entered and you know whatted in the pool. No lifeguard on duty so you have to keep a good eye on the kids.The clubhouse and bar was very nice. We had the food one night which was just ok. They did have a bit of entertainment in the bar but soon as it ended everyone cleared out.. sometimes 9 oclock. Staff seemed ok and the girl on reception was quite helpful when she could be bothered but thats another story.It was a pain in the a!$e keep driving down the narrow one lane road to get to the shops which is 4 miles long heading towards whitfield. Theres a big tesco just over the roundabout and a one stop just down the road. No shop on sight which was a pain even for basics like bread and milk would have been nice.Lots of manure smells as there are a lot of fields about and tractors, and speaking of tractors the road noise was terrible.. you wouldnt think for such a small back road there would be so much traffic.About 5 in the morning the tractors came and they were extremely loud and im not exaggerating.Then the cars would start shortly afterwards.We had pitch number 8 which backed on the road, maybe it would be a bit less quieter if you choose pitches 1 to 6.. 1 being the furthest away.The workforce drove their tractor/buggy vehicles way to fast across the camping field.In all it was a clean small sight with not much to do there if you have older kids but a good location if you want to go visiting the beautiful area. We would consider going again if the noise from the road wasnt so bad or if we took earplugs

Room Tip: Avoid Pitches 6 - 13 as they are nearer the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beleiveme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
5.0 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Vale Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Vale Country Park

Property: Sutton Vale Country Park
Address: Vale Road, Dover CT15 5DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sutton Vale Country Park 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutton Vale Country Club lies nestled in the heart of Kent, offering entertainment and engaging activities including live shows, swimming, and more. We offer holiday caravans, touring pitches and camping pitches in the heart of the Kent countryside. We are just 6 miles from Dover with it's bustling port and 4 miles from Deal with it's elegant beaches and quirky shopping. Sutton Vale Caravan Park has been established for over 50 years and we are able to offer a small friendly environment, set in beautiful countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, PitchUp and Odigeo so you can book your Sutton Vale Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Vale Country Park Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing