We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good drop in”
Review of Illy Cafe

Illy Cafe
Ranked #7 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Dover
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“a good drop in”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have been using this cafe for years now(under a different name till recently)..it's clean, friendly staff..butt he best thing is that they make a brilliant cup of tea..none of this hot water that many cafes serve up..and their eggand chips is spot on..ideal for a wuick pop in when you need an uplift from the ghastly place that is DOver!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheilaward1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

even tho they have changed names its still the same food and you can't fault it. Service is very good, always happy to help. Ideal location from the County Hotel.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stutours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for a late breakfast. Great service,value and food! Vegetarian breakfast was delicious and massive for how much it cost

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
895 reviews
601 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
“Cheap & charming”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Have walked past this little cafe many times and it always seemed pleasant enough. So when, this afternoon, my friend who has been here many times suggested we go there for a bite to eat and a drink I decided to give the place a try.

Place was clean, staff were friendly, all seemed good. Menu was relatively cheap, and had a wide drink selection - including Turkish beer! Large portions of cake were served, very tasty, enjoyed by all four of us. I also decided to try a tomato soup. Whilst it was very nice and the waitress who delivered it was both fast and friendly - it did taste suspiciously like it had just come out of a Heinz can. Despite this, the cake was homemade and it was an inexpensive order. Definitely interested in trying their full breakfast for £4 in future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandalfTheDrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Jacket potatoes YUM!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I've not been farmilar with "jacket potatoes" so I tried one. What a treat. It was a large baked potato split, reheated with a sweet light cheese melted on top. A fresh salad was served on the side.
There was a bit of a language barrier as my accent is heavy and so was the waitress but we worked it out. She was very friendly and I loved seeing the cook at the griddle. I would recommend this for a quick hearty meal while in Dover.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cajollytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Illy Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Illy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing