We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stifling hot room - don't accept land-side room in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel the night of 5 July 2014. The weather at the time was partly sunny and dry, but not hot by any measure. When we arrived, there were two staff on the reception desk and several other customers in the check-in queue. As we waited, we heard the staff go through the same speech three times. Because we've stayed in Premier Inn hotels several times in various places, most of what we heard was very familiar: touting the on-site restaurant, offering a dinner booking, asking if breakfast was wanted and mentioning the Good Night's Sleep Guarantee. However, something we'd never heard before was specific mention that, while the hotel did not have air conditioning, there were fans in the rooms, the windows could be opened and an additional fan could be had on request. Since southern England was not in the middle of a heat-wave, this seemed a little odd, but we didn't question it when our turn at the desk came.
However, we understood perfectly when we opened the door to our room (218). It seemed very warm and stuffy to us and the thermometer on the wall registered 27.5° (that's 81° to us of a certain age). When we tried to open the window, it would - as is normal in corporate or government buildings these days - open only a couple inches at the bottom. What's more, the window was "triple-glazed" in order to reduce traffic noise. This additional glazing consisted of two panes of glass on runners on the window sill so, in order to open the window, one of these panes needed to be slid aside. The result being that the very limited ventilation provided by the open window was reduced even further by half the width of the window being obstructed by the inner glass. Making things even worse was the fact that the main road through Dover is right outside the room and cliffs on the opposite side of the road reflect all the traffic noise back at the hotel. While the open window didn't let in much fresh air, it was very good at letting us hear the constant din of a steady stream of cars and HGVs passing by on their way to and from the ferry. Although it must be said that this racket did subside at around 2:30 am, so we did snatch a bit of sleep. In the morning, the thermometer indicated that the room temperature during the night had actually increased half a degree to 28°. This even though the night had turned cool, breezy and it had started to rain. A further annoyance is that the lovely huge, new flat screen TV on the wall had it's maximum volume fixed on such a low level that it was impossible to hear over the noise of the traffic, so we were not even able to distract ourselves with that. On the positive side, the room was - as is normal with PI - very clean and the bed was comfortable. In the morning, I did something I have never before done after staying at a Premier Inn and told the reception desk staff that we did not have a good night's sleep and I wanted a refund. This was done with no real quibbling and only token attempts to excuse the service they had provided.

Room Tip: If travelling any time other than winter and you feel you MUST stay in this hotel, you could call an...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PembrokeAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,120 - 1,126 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed at Premier Inn Eastern terminal on 2nd July one night stay over it was just as I remembered staff on reception and throughout stay were excellent what a wonderfull start to our holiday stayed before would stay again .Well done!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gburlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A good place to stay overnight to catch the early morning ferry to Calais. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The room was a good size with a modern bathroom. Bed very comfortable and we had a very good sleep. Our room had a sea view which is away from the main road and subsequently the traffic on the main road did not bother us. We had a very nice meal at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel. It took no more than 5 minutes from check out of the hotel to checking in with the ferry. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view to ensure that you're away from the main road
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location for staying before leaving Dover on a cruise ship. The rooms are very clean, the staff is very friendly. We had a nice room, it was clean and had all the amenities. And, btw, a great bed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchOmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after driving across England en route to the Ferry to France. On arrival I spoke with the ladies at reception, really pleasant, professional and friendly. The room was great - sparkly clean, plenty of space, and we had room for a cot for the toddler and another single bed for our young son, nothing too fancy, and had no issues with the accommodation at all. The bar attached had a decent selection of food and I opted for good ol' fish n chips, which wasn't bad at all. The bar was child friendly, which is very important in our circumstance. The staff here, again, were pleasant, professional and helpful. Breakfast was brilliant, usual hotel breakfast stuff, selection of cereals, toast, and hot breakfast to order which I prefer over the serve yourself buffet style. For it being a Premier Inn, I was pleasantly surprised at how good this one is. Minutes away from the ferry terminal too, which was perfect for us to continue onto France. Car park's a bit small, and we couldn't get a space 1st time, no big deal, got sorted eventually.
Good place, good grub, good staff, good scenery (cliffs).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ade_Sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed overnight as a couple in mid-June, having paid £49 in advance on a non-flexible basis which included a free car park. The staff were friendly and efficient, the bedroom large with a sea view and the bathroom well-equipped. 30 minutes free Wi-fi was also included. We had a very good fish and chip supper in the adjoining restaurant, served by a lovely Ukranian waitress. It was excellent value. We have previously stayed at the Premier Inn by the Dartford Tunnel and were equally impressed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBrStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here on 8 June, before catching the ferry to France. The room temperature was over 25 degrees C and the noise of lorries coming off the ferry meant that we couldn't open the window. Even with it shut, the constant rumbling of lorries and other traffic all night prevented virtually any proper sleep for both my wife and I. We were particularly upset because we had a long drive in prospect the next day. We told the reception about our bad night the next morning, but the only response was "Sorry about that " with a shrug. Later we were asked on behalf of Premier Inn to complete a survey about our visit, and we again told them of our poor experience. That was weeks ago and we have no response at all. So much for the guarantee of a good night's sleep or your money back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
0.2 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
134 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel

Address: Marine Court Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Dover CT16 1LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: £44 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great sea views close to the port, with handy links to Canterbury, Calais and London ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dover (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel Dover
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing