We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clare House
Ranked #32 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would stay again”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed one night before getting the ferry over to France it is not a big B&B with huge rooms with plenty of storage space for your luggage you do not have a lift to the bedrooms but what you do get is a very warm welcome from Stella, rooms that are clean with good comfortable beds and en-suite facilities that are more than adequate for an overnight stop a good full English breakfast in the morning, If you fancy a drink or a meal you are about ten minutes walk from the town centre, no need to rush back either as Stella gives you a front door key would use this B&B again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    25
    8
    13
See reviews for
9
45
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We chose this B&B for cheapness and handiness for our ferry crossing. The online site we booked through did not specify breakfast and we assumed we would have to pay extra. We booked it in the field available on the website. When we arrived we were told they did not serve breakfast because the kitchen was being done up. This is not good enough. We should have been informed when our booking was taken and given the oportunity to cancel. We found the place comfortable to sleep in but the decor is 50 years out of date. There is parking at the front for 3 cars and double yellow lines on the road. I don't know what happens when there are more than 3 rooms occupied!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanzaniaDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Its advertised as a B&B but Breakfast is not included in the price and read the small print with regards to cancellation fees it works out almost as expensive as staying, it wont be on my list of places to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kssdg2342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had the radiator on at full blast and it was still too cold to sleep. This is really the main complaint as the place was clean, the staff was friendly and there were three parking spots out in the front. We did not buy the breakfast, so I cannot comment on it. But since we used this B&B as a B and our B was very, very cold, I have no choice but to give it a low rating. Perhaps in the summer months, Clare House will be a nice place to stay. The location is great, too. About a ten minute walk to the center of Dover and the rail station.

Room Tip: Room #8 has its own bathroom. It is on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

I believe in given credit where credit is due and so, the best thing going for this 'Hotel' is the location close to the port!

Look around for somewhere else before booking here but if u have too, lower yr expectations for the cost! £35 and breakfast is extra.....and so was any form of heat in the rooms during the night!

So if u have too, use this place as a last resort before going to France on the ferry.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gingerninj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I always stop at Clare house on our way to France. The owner has great local knowledge and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and the showers are always piping hot. The full English breakfast is just the job to get you going before your ferry and there is plenty of nice hot coffee or tea. There is secure off road parking for cars and motorcycles and the building is situated right on the Folkstone road.... Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddaveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We booked 1 double room at this B&B for 1 night online which included breakfast. On arrival we were told that the online price actually didn't cover breakfast and this would be extra as Booking.com take a percentage turning B&B into B. It was little irritants that spoiled this stay like tea making facilities but no milk to make it with and when the owner was sought to get some he didn't answer the bell. The decorative pillows had a crusty dry slime on them and the mattress was more sprung then spring. To add insult to injury the top bed sheet was yellow although I believe white once and the curtains were not hung properly. The TV had no signal so we were unable to watch it without standing and holding the ariel and in the morning the shower flitted between hot and cold. When we seen the owner before we left he did not ask us if we enjoyed our stay because I think he was scared of the response although we still let him know! Clare's House is dated and needs some serious TLC, it has potential if the owners gave a damn and were not just out for every penny they could manipulate out of their customers by changing the goal posts.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.1 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The West Bank
The West Bank
#19 of 38 in Dover
65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Longfield Guest House
Longfield Guest House
#23 of 38 in Dover
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heather's Woodlands
Heather's Woodlands
#22 of 38 in Dover
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Dovers Restover Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 167 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clare House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing