We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't complain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clare House
Ranked #37 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't complain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We booked because very close to ferry dock, we do have some mobility issues so stairs were difficult for us. The staff was brilliant suggesting a wonderful place for dinner and calling a taxi for us, so wouldn't lose parking space. Breakfast was really great. Enjoyed it. It was road noisey and bed was not that comfortable, but managed. Would have preferred en suite at our age.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graymovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    13
    25
    8
    13
See reviews for
8
43
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We booked this as an overnight stay whilst attending the Winter Ale Festival. Yes it's in need of a bit of an update, but you get what you pay for and it's comfortable. The lady who greeted us was very welcoming and laid on a fantastic breakfast. Only niggle was that we had to wait until the room next door had finished their shower to get enough pressure for ours, but we're quite used to doing that at home

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AngGravesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

So sorry but I wasn't happy with this place, booked it twice, going to France and returning from France put in the attic area twice we had a double room and it had this awful smell which was coming from the toilet. It was so bad that my wife had to go and speak to the owner. She managed to obtain a air freshener spray from them. Lot of noise outside from,high souped up cars racing up and down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onyurbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Like others stayed in this B&B before an early ferry the next day. It suits purpose and would recommend it as its easy to find and 5 minutes from the ferry.

The lady is very friendly and helpfull. Dover centre is 15 minute walk away.

The only downsides were the towels were damp on arrival, there was only a small amount of toilet paper and there is only parking for 3 cars at the front.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panick_Times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We required a place to stay before an early crossing at Dover. Booked this as it was cheap and didn't expect very much.

We arrived late (post the 10:30pm check in time limit specified on booking.com) the lady who greater us was very nice and the late time of arrival was no issue.

Parking is available at the front of the hotel for three cars - there is an unused building directly across the street that we could park at for the night.

We occupied two rooms on the top floor - no lift but it's a converted house so wasn't expecting one.

Bedrooms are small but adequate and fine for one nights stay.

Ensuite bathrooms are extremely small and in the morning there was no hot water in the shower - despite the note stating the water needs to run for a minute, ten minutes later still no luck. It was too early (5:30am) to call anyone to assist.

The double room I stayed in was clean and the bedding was fresh - my parents had the twin room and I was disappointed to hear that they slept in one single bed as my mum didn't think the bedding was clean on one of the beds.

Breakfast as other reviews have mentioned is not included but available at an additional charge - therefore this shouldn't be classed as a B&B

Overall, handy for the port - 10 minute drive away- but this could be better

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AMacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

The ad's are very clear that breakfast is available at additonal charge. There are lots of breakfast places in town so nice to have a choice. Some reviews have complained about this. We had 4-poster Bedroom. Nice decor, but bed not very comfortable. Ensuite bathroom was adequate .

Lady who runs the place is lovely. Breakfast is full English. Location is 2-3 blocks from railroad station. Easy walk from train station even with luggage

Make sure you visit dover Castle and allow at least 3 hours there.

Stayed 1 night prior to cruise and paid 57L including breakfast for 2

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrw1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Room was tiny but adequate with its own en-suite. Breakfast was great, hostess friendly and front room delightfully furnished. Not too far from the city centre. Parking limited. It is within a short drive of Dover Castle. As a result of the size of the room, I would recommend Clare House for short stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauveen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.1 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Longfield Guest House
Longfield Guest House
#24 of 41 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The West Bank
The West Bank
#22 of 41 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dovers Restover Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Sandown Guest House
Sandown Guest House
#13 of 41 in Dover
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 167 Folkestone Road, Dover CT17 9SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clare House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing