We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Finding The Way In!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Dover East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth Finding The Way In!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

After many years of staying in hotels from zero stars to 5 stars, this, surprisingly, was the first time I had stayed at a Premier Inn. Having done a couple of circuits of the petrol station in the dark and pouring rain I found my way in. The reception was efficient and friendly. We were told about the dining and breakfast arrangement (at the adjacent Brewer’s Fayre (see separate review) and advised that if there was anything we needed please just ask. The twin room was superbly clean and very spacious, despite the road outside the soundproofing was excellent. There was a large double bed and a good sized single. Extra coffee (including decaf.) etc. was readily available at reception and willingly offered. A good night’s sleep and a fresh start ready for the drive through France the following day. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flagman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    165
    53
    22
    12
See reviews for
167
184
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here to break up journey from Newcastle to Paris, great location for the ferry terminal. The hotel was what I expected from a premier inn, clean and maintained. Downside was the weird access to the hotel and slightly noisy other residents

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NeilHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Dover East - what a superb stay. Spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable! At £29 for the night it was amazing, but well worth more than that! If all Premier Inns are like this they will put all the other hotels out of business!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Premier Inn at Dover East is an excellent staging post for your next Ferry trip to France. Don't be put off by the austere façade or the occasional white van in the car park, the interior is spotlessly clean, the staff very helpful and the rooms clean, smart and modern. The flat screen TV in the room was the neatest "wire free" installation that I have ever seen.... yes, I am a technophobe and hate to see wires!! The adjoining restaurant was, again, a bit "grey" on the outside, but the food was excellent and well priced. Staff very pleasant and although you do have to order at the bar, the service was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here recently as visiting family in Deal. The location is very good and easy to find just look for the Shell petrol station and the Duke of York pub.

Receptionist was very helpful on arrival, and as we were checking in on New Years Day and had arrived late rang the Duke of York to see if they were still serving food, they said they would hold on for us but those who wanted food decided they would get a takeaway pizza instead. The receptionist provided them with menus which was helpful.

Found the room to be quite warm but couldn't figure out how to change the temperature settings despite following the instructions provided.

As our room was at the front of the hotel nearest the dual carriageway we didn't fancy opening the window due to traffic noise.

The bed was quite firm but I found it to be comfortable - although it was quite high which some may struggle with.

We had booked for two nights, however we had originally had a booking for one. As the bookings were done online, it was not picked up as one single booking and we found that on returning to our room on the second afternoon our key cards no longer worked. This was sorted efficiently by the receptionist and a replacement was provided.

Bathroom was clean although I don't like the "public loo" toilet paper provided, do Premier Inn lose that many that they cannot provide a proper roll of paper?

Breakfast was served at the Duke of York which is a 100m or so walk from the hotel. On our first morning we walked down the footpath between the two buildings but this was full of leaves which had become wet and subsequently quite slippery and hazardous, after that we decided to walk across the car parks.

All in all of typical Premier Inn standard although credit has to be given to staff on reception who were all polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel to cut down on road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Staff Members excellent and helpful and slept well the bed was very comfortable. What more can you ask for. Rooms clean and comfortable, not too warm like some hotels. This is not my first visit and will not be my last



  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights, arriving late on first night. It was a family group, occupying four rooms.
Receptionist on arrival on 1st Jan evening was excellent with a superb Customer service attitude. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very good, spacious and clean. Only downside was road noise from adjacent A2, but it is a major road into a very busy ferry port.
Breakfasts at adjacent pub top class again with good service.
Only downside for me was pricing, I paid twice as much for the same room on 1st night as second night.

Room Tip: Rooms on opposite side from A2 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AirlieJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dover East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dover East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
Address: Jubilee Way | Guston Wood, Dover CT15 5FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dover East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the Duke of York's Royal Military School, just outside of the centre of Dover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dover East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing