We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dover
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Brilliant staff - helpful and friendly. Great location! Very much enjoyed the stay. On arrival there was some building work being done but staff relocated me in a different part of the hotel. Had a great sleep and was very comfortable. I wish wi if was free though. It's the 21st century!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    289
    110
    37
    20
See reviews for
287
301
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Had a 2 night stay at this hotel whilst we visited family in Dover. We were allocated room 56 which is on the upper floor, however there is no guest lift. The room was ok however there were some questionable stains on the bed-settee/ sofa within the room. The heating in the room did not work on our first night and we got really cold during the night. We reported this and a stand alone electric radiator was provided. In fairness to Premier Inn we were refunded the price of the first night's stay. The shower was terrible, it was little better than a trickle. Bed was as comfortable as any other premier inn. I will not stay here again the Premier Inn at Dover Harbour is so much better. Definitely stay away from room 56!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Although we often stay at PI with young family this was the worst experience ever and distressing. Staff member (who turned out to be the General Manager!) chose to not take our order as my husband and I were talking (animatedly admittedly) about the room key. We had to call him back to take order. He then complained that we had made him feel uncomfortable by our discussion (we are in a family restaurant with our young children - it was honestly a lively and short discussion, nothing of any note at all - until he made it one). I then went back to hotel room to collect key and when I returned (we were on a tight timeschedule which he knew) he hadn't served up my breakfast at all) and was clearly done for petty purposes. There was a complete lack of customer focus, service and actually quite upsetting to us in front of the children. Worst EVER service in any restaurant ever in both our collective experience and a bad start to a family holiday (never mind the lack of breakfast). When I asked for a refund as no time to wait for it to be cooked he directed us back to hotel reception who were very professional and supportive. However, on the basis of his behaviour we will not be returning to this PI.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bwrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just what you would expect from a Premier Inn - a good welcome, a clean, comfortable room and good value for money. A few miles from the Channel Tunnel but much cheaper than staying in the Premier Inn in Folkestone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailcmsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island
Level Contributor
325 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Over night stop for catching the early morning ferry to alleviate that annoying early morning rise and long drive. Awoke very refreshed and ready to go. Friendly staff and good beds made for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at a few premier inn's before I was pretty dissappointed with this one & especially the breakfast. On arrival the corridor & room stank of disinfectant it was really overpowering. Night 1 we managed 4 hours sleep due to the noisy neighbour snoring all night then singing in the shower at 5am. When we were asked about our stay we mentioned this & the lady said it would be like being at home for her but we were tired & unimpressed. I don't hear my neighbours snoring at home & haven't in other hotels. The room was fairly pokey for 3 & the bathroom was tiny & needed a bit of tlc. At other premier inns you help yourself to breakfast where as at this one you have to order the hot items you want & wait for them which isn't ideal when your rushing off for a ferry & also half way through you might decide you want another piece of bacon but this isn't possible. The veggi & normal sausages were horrible & they ran out of flavoured yoghurts & croissants. If all premier inns start doing that I won't bother with breakfast again it just wasn't worth the money. Doubt I would stay here again & so much for your money back if you have a bad nights sleep.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannahc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We needed a room for two nights, near to the port, to take a day trip to France, and this hotel fitted the bill well. Although we arrived late, the person at reception was welcoming and helpful. The location is good, close enough to the port, but surrounded by countryside.
The room was a good size and clean. It had everything we needed; although, like other Premier Inns we have experienced, it is pretty sterile and lacking in character. For a short stay though, it doesn't really matter. The room was very quiet for our stay and so sleep quality was good. I would definitely return if I needed to go to Dover again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmicgirl1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3.0 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Address: Folkestone Road | Church Hougham, Dover CT15 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Dover in the Kent Countryside, this hotel is the perfect relaxing stop off on your way to or from Continental Europe. Less than 4 miles from the Ferry Terminal, it is ideally located for those wishing to stay before catching an early ferry or after returning late on an evening sailing.Dover (A20) Premier Inn is conveniently located just off the A20 between Dover and Folkestone and provides a great base for exploring the surrounding area. Not only are there some great sights such as Dover Castle and the lovely Dover Beach within close reach, but the beautiful Cathedral City of Canterbury is only half an hour's drive away.Refurbished in 2011, we offer clean and comfortable rooms, a Beefeater Grill Restaurant and Bar and all the amenities you would expect from Premier Inn - not to mention a welcoming and helpful team on duty for you 24hrs a day.Here at Premier Inn Dover (A20) we are so confident in what we have to offer you that we guarantee you will have a good night's sleep - or your money back! (Terms and Conditions Apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dover West
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing