We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect For Purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect For Purpose”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed overnight for an early morning tunnel crossing.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and as it was warm, they kindly provided us with a fan.

We were in the quiet section, so we did not have any noise in the corridor, which was welcome as we had to get to bed for the early morning start.

If you are going to the Chunnel, then you will get a good nights sleep here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    288
    109
    37
    20
See reviews for
286
299
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked the hotel for overnight stay prior to an early morning tunnel crossing to France.
Found the room incredibly hot they knew about this but a fan situated practically over one of the children's bed was not really ideal.
Prior to a 600 mile drive through France all I wanted was a decent meal at the beefeater next door which was ok and a good nights sleep which I didn't get due to the room temperature. I wasn't the only person complaining about it and bearing in mind the location of the hotel I presume the vast majority of people staying are breaking up a long journey and need a good sleep.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as far from the A20 as possible Wifi only free for 30minutes but cheap for 24 ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking & review details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
316 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Very good location for those visiting Dover Castle for a full day plus. The location (immediately off the A-20) is convenient for popping in and out. We had 2 family rooms, which were quite spacious and provided more than enough room for our families. The hotel even provided 2 cots for the kids, and we still had enough space to maneouver.
We paid extra for the Beefeater breakfast. The continental buffet was lacking in options (staff did not keep up with replacing items as they were consumed), but the additional cook-to-order provided able selection and protein for a solid start.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas - Genevi... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Second time we have stayed at a Premier Inn.It was everything that the advertising says-the room was large and quiet and the bed extremely comfortable and the reception very helpful.Facilities were good with wide selection of coffee tea etc with reception saying that if we needed more coffee etc to just help ourselves.
As breakfast commenced at 06:30 we were able to take breakfast for which there was a great selection and was not hurried
Would definitely use again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Family overnight stay for a days visit to Dover Castle. Good location on outskirts of the town only 10 minutes from the castle. Staff very friendly and rooms very clean and well maintained. We stayed during hot weather and there was a fan in the room and an option to swap quilts for sheets only. Only downside was a very low pressured shower, but it did the job. The food in the Beefeater restaurant was good quality for both dinner & breakfast with helpful friendly staff. Overall really pleased with this Premier Inn and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a delightful surprise from a budget hotel. The bed was excellent and I slept very soundly and the breakfast had a great range of choice and attentive service. Top marks for me, what is not to like.?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Befordshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed a Thursday night in July before an early ferry. Didn't arrive until 20.20 due to traffic, but in adjacent Beefeater by 20.30 (had accepted text invitation to pre-book a table - a good decision as it was busy) Check-in was seamless, and the room was up to standard. We were having a freakish heatwave at the time, and the rooms do not have aircon, but it had a large fan, which helped. Bed very comfy and no noise at all with window shut. Could hear road with it open.
Pre-booked breakfast was great - eat as much as you want. I commented that the coffee was not very hot, and was immediately brought a complimentary Costa Coffee (normally extra) and the dispenser was changed for a fresh one. Nice service touch.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side nearest the road do hear traffic if you have the window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
3.0 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
120 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel
Address: Folkestone Road | Church Hougham, Dover CT15 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Dover in the Kent Countryside, this hotel is the perfect relaxing stop off on your way to or from Continental Europe. Less than 4 miles from the Ferry Terminal, it is ideally located for those wishing to stay before catching an early ferry or after returning late on an evening sailing.Dover (A20) Premier Inn is conveniently located just off the A20 between Dover and Folkestone and provides a great base for exploring the surrounding area. Not only are there some great sights such as Dover Castle and the lovely Dover Beach within close reach, but the beautiful Cathedral City of Canterbury is only half an hour's drive away.Refurbished in 2011, we offer clean and comfortable rooms, a Beefeater Grill Restaurant and Bar and all the amenities you would expect from Premier Inn - not to mention a welcoming and helpful team on duty for you 24hrs a day.Here at Premier Inn Dover (A20) we are so confident in what we have to offer you that we guarantee you will have a good night's sleep - or your money back! (Terms and Conditions Apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dover West
Premier Inn Dover (A20) Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing