We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and friendly welcome, large clean, well equipped rooms.”
Review of Castle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Guest House
Ranked #8 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Friendly welcome, well placed for Dover stay and attractions, recommend castle, and bronze age boat. Full strength wifi, better than home! Large clean family room, nice biscuits, etc
Excellent value for money and worthy of it's 4 stars.
Would gladly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anyscreennamewontdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

After a long day we decided to stay the night in Dover and just happened upon the Castle guest house. We were met by Sharon who welcomed us warmly and was able to give us a family room. It was large and very clean. The bathroom was small but clean, and had a good shower. With two large windows overlooking the street the room was bright and cheery. The next morning we had a full English Breakfast that was delicious. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is very close to the cliffs of Dover walk as well as Dover Castle. I would highly recommend this guest house to any visitors of Dover.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed for three nights on a walking holiday, so needed a good place to sleep after the exertions of each day and this was it. The welcome was warm, the rooms (we had one each) clean and comfortable and the breakfast generous.
The location is perfect near the trains and buses and a short walk from shops and seafront.
Maybe a little decorating would be in order soon but this is not to say that the rooms were in desperate need yet

Room Tip: The front room here a bigger and have a better view but the smaller ones at the back are fine too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Good central location. Warm welcome. Well serviced room and an excellent and early if required breakfast.
Would use again.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
Thank roy400smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Just down the road from Dover Castle, we found this B&B a great place to stay for my wife, daughter and myself. The owners were always helpful even printing out some documents for me.Close to the docks it was quiet at night and gave a good base from which we could go to Canterbury and the White Cliffs.Room was quite spacious, clean and plenty of power to charge all devices and very stable internet connection. Breakfast was very fulfilling and gave you a great start to the day..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA_SJ_Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The owners are very pleasant. The bedroom was a good size but the bathroom was a squeeze. Right on a busy road, the sound penetrated through the night. And if the traffic did not disturb, whenever anyone seemed to use a toilet, the plumbing grumbled through the premises. The little extras such as tissues by the bedside were possibly the cheapest buy from a tacky market stall. The radio was one step up from a tin can etc.
The breakfast consisted of equally cheap produce. The toast was exceptionally poor sliced white bread. The owners need to compare what they provide with other guest houses carrying three and four stars and see if they can return to a former glory. Currently they are at least a star rating to high and the price for what one gets is excessive when put against other guest houses

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beurwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. However we are understandably upset by your comments and do not understand why you did not bring your views to our attention when staying. Since taking over the guest house at the end of January we have made several improvements and received some very complimentary reviews especially about the breakfast and the comfort of the beds and rooms. As we would like to get things right we would like to invite you to contact us direct either by email or phone so that we can discuss your points in more detail. The only other comment we would like to make at this stage is to invite those reading this review to view the independent views on our web site www.castle-guesthouse.co.uk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I booked a single room at Castle House for a Sunday night in mid may because it is very handy for the Dover Eastern Docks. Due to my vehicle breaking down at Frankley services on the M5, I didn't arrive until around 7.45pm. I was greeted by a cheerful Sharon who informed me that I had been upgraded to a double room. That cheered me up after my tiring journey. My room was clean, bright & airy & much nicer than the single room at the top of the building. I know this because I have stayed at Castle House three times in the past when it was run by the previous owners.

The toilet/shower room was spotlessly clean & there was tea/coffeee making facilties provided in the bedroom. I slept well until a loud noise woke me up at 6.30am. I don't know what it was but I had trouble getting back to sleep after that due to the room being illuminated by the early morning light. I could hear music from somewhere in the building.

I was downstairs in the basement breakfast room just after 8am & the room looked newly decorated. I ordered a full English breakfast with tea & toast. I was asked by Sharon if I wanted extra toast but I politely declined. I enjoyed the breakfast with no complaints whatsoever.

I paid for my room & made a speedy departure for the ferryport on my way to France.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARKWRIGHT1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
0 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crabble Hill House Guest House
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
933 reviews
3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Guest House

Address: 10 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guest house gem on the iconic White Cliffs of Dover coast, Castle Guest House is overlooked by the mighty Dover Castle and offers easy access onto the White Cliffs coast path cared for by the National Trust. Head off along the beautiful Kent Channel Coast, home to Henry VIII's great conical castles Deal and Walmer. Our Grade II listed guest house sits within easy reach of Dover ferry services, Eurostar and Eurotunnel links, and just a short drive from Kent's ancient capital Canterbury. Pets and families are welcome and with free on-street parking adjacent. Nestling within Dover's beautiful Conservation area, Castle Guest House offers wonderfully romantic all en-suite rooms with a charm and period character all their own. Choose from spacious king-size double en-suites, large family rooms sleeping up to 2 adults and 3 children, cosy singles and double/twin rooms arranged as required. Decoration is exquisite in all rooms, designed befitting the Grade listed period of the guest house. Facilities such as Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions with Freeview, quality toiletries and fluffy soft towels are all included. Some of Kent's most spectacular walking and cycling opportunities sit right on our doorstep, and we offer secure garage bike and motorcycle storage space. Enjoy delicious full cooked breakfast in our classic light and airy dining room with a contemporary twist, featuring individual tables and a larger family table. The dining room affords access out to the attractive garden area where guests are welcome to relax. Weather permitting, coffee and tea is served outside after breakfast. We're perfect for family holidays, with family facilities available including cots, high chairs, a children's menu and a selection of games. Whether you're looking for a luxury ferry stopover, a short break walking the White Cliffs of Dover and exploring Dover Castle, or the perfect Kent touring base, Castle Guest House looks forward to welcoming you. Pets welcome. Free WiFi. Walkers & Cyclists Welcome. Ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing