We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time staying there - and it will not be our last!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle House Guest House
Ranked #8 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This was our second stay at Castle Guest House and each time we come back to Scotland to visit family our journey back home to France we will stay at the guest house again for us to catch the ferry. It is ideally located for this as it is only a few minutes away from the Eastern Ports. Our hosts are very warm and welcoming. Lovely rooms and you get a fabulous full English breakfast. Zoe and Robert

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

The most positive: The breakfast is full English, cooked to order as you prefer and served at a time close to your own choosing, providing there are not too many other guest who want it at the same time as you. Location is great for a visit to the castle directly up the hill behind them. The manager was efficient and helpful. The negatives: The welcome here is OK, seems like they want you to know the rules before you get through the door. The door is kept locked, on the side street, you must buzz to have someone let you in, which does provide security-but not a warm welcome. Room is quite small, just barely enough to move around the bed and two cases we had. The bath was old and tiny, nowhere to lay anything, but efficient and clean, soap/shampoos provided if you needed them. There is street noise, even on the back/side since the windows are older here. Overall, OK for one night at a time for a couple, maybe better for singles!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_Adventurer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

For our first night in England after a long flight from Australia, this lovely B&B was perfect - great location, lovely hosts, lovely room, and a great breakfast. Really enjoyed the old-world ambience, but most importantly, had a great night's sleep.
Very comfortable in our room ('Dover'), lovely & clean, free Wi-Fi, good tv reception, plenty of facilities in the room and a well-provisioned bedside tray to make endless hot cuppas!
If we had more time in the UK, would love to spend a week at the Castle.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely and sunny in the afternoon, with large windows that did open to let in some fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodflyCowes_Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This place was all you need when you travel by a ferry, close to the ferry terminal, well kept and reasonably priced. The hotel building is pretty and is in nice area. The hotel keepers are VERY friendly and hardworking. I really liked the breakfast at the hotel, they had grapefruits, melons, yoghurt, lots of stuff as well as traditional "full english" (sausage, black pudding, bacon, etc were excellent). It looks like the owners take a great pride in what they do. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BShorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed here in March 2013. I was traveling solo, and opted for their less expensive attic room. The room was very small, but adequate for my needs. The double bed occupied most of the room space. The bathroom was very small with virtually no counter space. The shower stall was very small, with just enough room to turn around. Other, larger rooms are available for not too much extra cost if more space is desirable.

The walk up and down to and from the room is good exercise(!!) and not too terribly difficult to navigate with luggage.

The room was both clean and comfortable. The included English breakfast was quite good. Sharon is quite nice.

The b&b is located a short walk from the Dover bus station (basically a parking lot) at the foot of the hill leading to Dover Castle. A short, mildly strenuous uphill walk to the Castle which was fabulous and pricey (~$25 US).

The Dover Priory train station was a short (~$8 US) taxi ride. A 5-10 minute walk into the center of this small town and about another 5 minute walk via the subway under the highway to reach the promenade by the sea. The long pier there affords a nice view of the town and the 'white cliffs of Dover".

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank growler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I needed a good B&B for the night in Dover and found the Castle House with Trip Advisor. I was travelling alone and needed just a single room. I opted for one of the attic rooms which was a little cramped but suited my needs. Priced at just £35 for the night including breakfast, I fail to see how they make any profit. Everything was exactly as described so I can have no complaints. The booking included tea and coffee making facilities together with a complementary biscuit and chocolate. The room was clean and tidy. Don't be put off by "The Adams Family" front door. Parking for this guest house is on street but that is the only drawback. I would not recommend this hotel for the elderly or infirm, 7 flights of steps from the breakfast room to my attic room can be a little daunting. Yes, I will go again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We booked for an overnight stay as we had an early saturday morning ferry departure. The parking is on street opposite the building, which is not ideal but we found a spot about 30 yards up the hill and didn't have much luggage etc anyway, so not a problem. First impressions are not good, the door is closed and you have to press a bell to access. However, on opening the door, the owner was very welcoming and attentive. We were shown directly to our room as there is no reception area, which is unusual but again not a problem. This is an old terraced building, so space is tight but the room was very clean and comfortable, and we were upgraded from the smaller attic room without charge, which was again very reasonable. Owner was informative and a comprehensive information pack was included giving details of Wi-fi access etc (which was very good). TV was a good quality with adequate channels provided.
Location excellent for ferry and town.
Breakfast was exceptional, obviously good quality produce used, smoked bacon and lovely sausages. Home cooked and well presented. My only comment would be that the portions were too generous, but overall one of the best breakfasts I have eaten. Complements to the chef.
£55 for the night including breakfast - again excellent VFM. The only reason I have not given this 5 stars is the noise factor, it is an old building and therefore has some creaks, running water, toilets etc and the off street parking. There is little the owners can do regarding this.
Would definitely revisit and would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
0 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
1.8 mi away
Crabble Hill House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House Guest House

Address: 10 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £60 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle House Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guest house gem on the iconic White Cliffs of Dover coast, Castle Guest House is overlooked by the mighty Dover Castle and offers easy access onto the White Cliffs coast path cared for by the National Trust. Head off along the beautiful Kent Channel Coast, home to Henry VIII's great conical castles Deal and Walmer. Our Grade II listed guest house sits within easy reach of Dover ferry services, Eurostar and Eurotunnel links, and just a short drive from Kent's ancient capital Canterbury. Pets and families are welcome and with free on-street parking adjacent. Nestling within Dover's beautiful Conservation area, Castle Guest House offers wonderfully romantic all en-suite rooms with a charm and period character all their own. Choose from spacious king-size double en-suites, large family rooms sleeping up to 2 adults and 3 children, cosy singles and double/twin rooms arranged as required. Decoration is exquisite in all rooms, designed befitting the Grade listed period of the guest house. Facilities such as Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions with Freeview, quality toiletries and fluffy soft towels are all included. Some of Kent's most spectacular walking and cycling opportunities sit right on our doorstep, and we offer secure garage bike and motorcycle storage space. Enjoy delicious full cooked breakfast in our classic light and airy dining room with a contemporary twist, featuring individual tables and a larger family table. The dining room affords access out to the attractive garden area where guests are welcome to relax. Weather permitting, coffee and tea is served outside after breakfast. We're perfect for family holidays, with family facilities available including cots, high chairs, a children's menu and a selection of games. Whether you're looking for a luxury ferry stopover, a short break walking the White Cliffs of Dover and exploring Dover Castle, or the perfect Kent touring base, Castle Guest House looks forward to welcoming you. Pets welcome. Free WiFi. Walkers & Cyclists Welcome. Ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Castle House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing