We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly.”
Review of Castle Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Guest House
Ranked #7 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So friendly.”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was the second stay as this property and I must say I enjoyed it more than before. I love the family that operates here. The English breakfast is wonderful. The location is so close to everything. This time I took a day and walked along the cliffs to the light house and beyond. Sharon was so nice an allowed me to ship some things forward to her before my arrival. I will again stay here as often as I can.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. I loved being at the top of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    44
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
57
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This was a lovely spot to stop over upon the beginning of a trip to UK. PERFECT location close to ferry, town, sites etc. lovely manager. Very friendly but not imposing. Fantastic breakfast will set you up for the day. Easy walk to town, castle and cliffs. Good value for a family. Parking could be a hassle. Quiet. Recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Good value. Stayed on top floor £40 including full breakfast freshly cooked with good choice. Good coffee. Just note there are steep narrow stairs so only take what you need. Friendly, helpful owner created a very relaxed pleasant atmosphere. Handy location. Comfortable. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrylerFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here in May, as a female solo traveller. I was allocated the room at the top of the B & B. This was excellent and more than adequate for the price (£40) and being on my own. The management were very friendly and allowed me to store my bike in their garage. Very clean and modern, internet everything you need. A wide variety of food at breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and recommend as a great stop over in Dover.

Room Tip: Attic room great if solo, but no disabled access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAlexandra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My partner and I visited Dover for a quick escape out of London. Booked about 5pm and arrived at 8pm. They knew who we were when were arrived. The room was nice. Well appointed, a little small. The location of the guest house is well situated to most things. They gave us 2 full cooked breakfasts as part of the price. £70 one night for a double room with ensuite. The staff were friendly and helpful. To me overall this was good value. So often you go somewhere and it disappoints. Not here. A really nice B&B in town. Book at this Guesthouse for a reliable option in Dover. Good for couples. Quality. 8/10. (a little harsh)

Room Tip: we ate at Blakes in town for dinner. simple home style restaurant. a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Castle House is well appointed and has all en-suite facilities. The breakfast is available from 6 for those leaving on early ferries. The sevice is friendly and attentive. Parking is availbale on street opposite. The bedrooms are comfortable but not over-large. Wifi is available free.

Room Tip: Book early as the Guest House is very popular and fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Very friendly welcome despite the fact that we got in really late, we even got a free upgrade to a family room, which was very spacious even though the bathroom was fairly small. Best (and full English) breakfast I've ever had and great location too!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thalia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
889 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
Crabble Hill House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Guest House

Property: Castle Guest House
Address: 10 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique guest house gem on the iconic White Cliffs of Dover coast, Castle Guest House is overlooked by the mighty Dover Castle and offers easy access onto the White Cliffs coast path cared for by the National Trust. Head off along the beautiful Kent Channel Coast, home to Henry VIII's great conical castles Deal and Walmer. Our Grade II listed guest house sits within easy reach of Dover ferry services, Eurostar and Eurotunnel links, and just a short drive from Kent's ancient capital Canterbury. Pets and families are welcome and with free on-street parking adjacent. Nestling within Dover's beautiful Conservation area, Castle Guest House offers wonderfully romantic all en-suite rooms with a charm and period character all their own. Choose from spacious king-size double en-suites, large family rooms sleeping up to 2 adults and 3 children, cosy singles and double/twin rooms arranged as required. Decoration is exquisite in all rooms, designed befitting the Grade listed period of the guest house. Facilities such as Wi-Fi, flat-screen televisions with Freeview, quality toiletries and fluffy soft towels are all included. Some of Kent's most spectacular walking and cycling opportunities sit right on our doorstep, and we offer secure garage bike and motorcycle storage space. Enjoy delicious full cooked breakfast in our classic light and airy dining room with a contemporary twist, featuring individual tables and a larger family table. The dining room affords access out to the attractive garden area where guests are welcome to relax. Weather permitting, coffee and tea is served outside after breakfast. We're perfect for family holidays, with family facilities available including cots, high chairs, a children's menu and a selection of games. Whether you're looking for a luxury ferry stopover, a short break walking the White Cliffs of Dover and exploring Dover Castle, or the perfect Kent touring base, Castle Guest House looks forward to welcoming you. Pets welcome. Free WiFi. Walkers & Cyclists Welcome. Ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing