We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome English guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hubert House Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome English guesthouse”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

For our first trip to the UK my husband & I wanted to experience a more typical English accommodation rather than a 4 or 5 star big name hotel. Hubert House could not have been more perfect. The host, Peter, was very caring and made sure all was perfect. Never mind the negative reviews...this guesthouse was perfect, the Georgian Suite was perfect, parking was perfect, location perfect...and pub next door perfect. I'd highly recommend it! Remember this is a guesthouse!!

Room Tip: Georgian Suite was perfect for 2. Great bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    53
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
107
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

We really liked our stay at Hubert house. Nice and cosy with attention to the the environment. The room was small but cute and warm. Excellent breakfast.
Definitely a must stay when in town.
Alberto & Miriam

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alberto Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

What a lovely place the Hubert House is. Had a fantastic meal in the Bistro served by the most dashing young man I have seen in a long, long time. His name was Luke I believe. Thank you so much. I will recommend you to all my friends. Kind regards, Mavis (aged 92)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This is a nice little B&B, The owner is friendly and the location is good. We took a room facing the front of the property and it has a view over small square at the front, parking is available at the side of the property. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keminoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

A Charming Guest House and it is quite close to the Dover Ferry. We stayed there on our way to France and liked it so much that we stayed there 3 weeks later when we arrived back in Dover. The owner is friendly and very, very helpful and he makes a great breakfast. We had the Georgian Room which was beautiful and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Georgian Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

A quaint little b and b. but so was the one in Faulty towers. The service man was quite rude when we checked in. It seemed we were putting him out by checking in at 830 pm. The rooms where chilly and the little space heaters caused quite a bit of noise but when you are heating a space slightly larger than a phone booth, I guess that's ok. On checkout the serviceman expressed his disgust with children. He said dogs cause less damage than children and would have charged our party extra if he new it included a child. The breakfast portion of the deal was a continental breakfast. Eggs and sausage where extra. If you enjoyed the series "Faulty Towers" and want to experience it for yourself, stay at the Hubert House.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HubertHouse, Owner at Hubert House Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
regarding the faulty towers criticism, i would like to say we were pleased to see them at 8.30pm. they had mentioned 10pm. on their check in booking confimation. sorry the room you found to be chilly, i guess with a georgian house [ grade 2 listed.] with no double glazing i have no control. as for telling you what was felt about your child helping herself by handfuls of dried fruit from the breakfast buffet, rolling in the curtains ,and making a big mess and not having paid ,// that was my point,// if you book a double [ thats 2 people not a family.] pets allows pay a surcharge and are kept under control. our cotinental buffet breakfast is included , it says in the booking details that other breakfasts have an extra charge. thank you for letting me show you my side of the coin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

In my recent trip, out of all the places I stayed in England this was definitely my favorite.
Dover is a wonderful small city with lots of attractions and Hubert House is definitely the best place to stay. The staff is wonderful and the bar next door is amazing. Both the places had the best food around.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
876 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
0.0 mi away
Castle Guest House
Castle Guest House
#6 of 38 in Dover
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubert House Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubert House Guesthouse

Property: Hubert House Guesthouse
Address: 9 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hubert House Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hubert House is the only 4* GOLD awarded accommodation in Dover. It is a family run business set in a beautiful listed Georgian townhouse. It is situated in an ideal spot cut back into the famous White Cliffs beneath Dover Castle and just minutes away from cruise, ferry and train terminals.Ideal for a one stay, romantic break or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hubert House Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubert House Guesthouse Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing