We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hubert House Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Nice accommodation. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Host Peter set up Honour Roll plaque for all of "his" Channel swimmers, including our son 7 years ago,along with GPS route map across the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    53
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
45
106
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

A group of four of us stayed for one night in the Hubert House, Dover, we brought two dogs, a very large labradoodle, Tilly Mint and a chunky wheaten terrier, Ben. At 3.15 we rang the guest house to ask if we could park our cars so that we could take our dogs for a walk to the beach. We spoke to Peter, who told us to park up and get our dogs out for a refreshing walk. We booked in just after 4 pm. We had booked a twin and a large double. The rooms were immaculate, clean and well presented. The decor in one room was blue toile and the other was a pink toile. The bathrooms were also immaculate and fresh smelling and clean.

We had a very nice time in Dover and a relaxed sleep overnight, in the morning we took the dogs to the beach and returned to a very lovely buffet breakfast, which included muesli, cereals, fresh fruit, nuts and dried fruit, Danish pastries and pain au chocolate, joguhrt, grapefruit, morning drinks such as orange and apple. Peter our host made us fresh coffe/ tea and fresh toast, my favourite was the granary, all served with butter and preserves. Peter offered us drink and toast top ups. He also discussed with us the channel swimmers - very interesting.




I am not surprised it is an award winning guestouse. We can definitely recommend this guest house for cleanliness, location. Service, breakfast, - well done and Peter thank you very much.

P. S. His only request was no dogs on the bed - and quite right too!

Room Tip: Room 4 is a double and a single, room 5 is a double and two twins, both were very nice, although we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

I had a small double room which was very cosy. Host was very helpful and friendly, the location is very good, very close to Dover Castle and Cliffs. Breakfast was continental and for full breakfast there are additional fee.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakyt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were visiting Dover to meet up with relatives whose cruise ship was stopping in Dover for the day and were so pleased that we decided to book a room at Hubert House for the night before our meet-up The location is perfect; it's close to the castle, within easy walking distance from the town centre and is ideal for a stop-over either before or after crossing the channel. We needed to park there in the morning, before the 16:00 check-in time, and emailed in advance to ask if this was possible. We received a prompt, friendly reply from Peter saying yes, which helped greatly with our planning. The guesthouse has retained its traditional feel without sacrificing comfort or convenience. Our bedroom was small but cosy with a good shower. Breakfast was excellent. We asked Peter to recommend a restaurant and we picked Dino's, a family-run Italian restaurant, which we would happily recommend to others. Make sure you also visit the pub next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesRIAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordons Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Hubert House is at the foothills near the ferry port. If you need a place with easy access to the ferry port, this is the place to stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and decorated in a high standard. Also not to expensive but of high standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriveeMarinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Excellent location, convenient to Dover Castle and easy access to Kent. Breakfast was outstanding, very pleased with room. Peter was very accomodating, made good suggestions regarding places to visit. Bonus was good pub next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Pros: great location - walk everywhere. on site parking, fee wifi, great breakfast. Lovely landlord, great sleep. CONS: cooked brekky is additional (which wasnt stated when I booked), room was pretty tiny (but compfortable and well set out - too small for two people though).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lillycorleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
3.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Guest House
Castle Guest House
#9 of 41 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubert House Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubert House Guesthouse

Property: Hubert House Guesthouse
Address: 9 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hubert House Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hubert House is the only 4* GOLD awarded accommodation in Dover. It is a family run business set in a beautiful listed Georgian townhouse. It is situated in an ideal spot cut back into the famous White Cliffs beneath Dover Castle and just minutes away from cruise, ferry and train terminals.Ideal for a one stay, romantic break or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hubert House Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubert House Guesthouse Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing