We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hubert House Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 38 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We booked Hubert House on the spur of the moment. What a find! A true Gem of a Jewel. We had the Georgian Suite. Chic and very tasteful, clean and everything you could wish for. The owner is very approachable and helpful. The breakfast is excellent :-) Beats many high class hotels.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank YorkshireMadMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We have been here with our little girl for a weekend and we were in the Georgian room which was so cute and large! Clean bathroom, clean room! The breakfast in the morning was really good and they have also the gluten free choice! The owner is a friendly person! It's really close to the Cliffs, to the seaside and to the castle!
We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigcate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a weekend break in Kent and stayed overnight at the Hubert House. Arriving mid morning, we were allowed to leave our car without any charge in their 6 bay car park which was very kind.
The guest house is close to the Castle area of Dover and so the Castle was our first stop.
Later in the day, we checked in properly and the room was double fronted with a nice view over the town. The room had team & coffee, tv, ensuite bathroom and all the usual stuff you would expect. The Hubert has free in house wifi which not only worked first time, but the signal strength was first rate with no dropping out or time limit.
Bed comfortable, and shower was ok.
Continental breakfast is included in the price which is what my wife chose to have, and I had the full English for £5. It was worth it and there was plenty of it.
We were on a weekend break and it was great for what we wanted - comfortable and homely. It is also very near the ferry port and it has a good reputation for overnighters on the way to Europe. What I hadn't thought about were the cross channel swimmers, and plenty stay here. Check out those who have done the crossing having first stayed at Hubert house.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were warm and comfortable for 3 nights in the large Room 9, with our two dogs. The owner's son was welcoming, accommodating and unobtrusive. Everything was very relaxed. There are steep steps and narrow staircases with tight bend at the top - we were OK but it will be a problem for some. Inclusive continental breakfast with good choice. Only drawback was the very small ensuite -it's OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesser24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were totally satisfied with every aspect of the Hotel. Our room (No 5) was very clean and comfortable. with many little extras. Peter the proprietor was most pleasant and helpful. The food served was nice and hot . This was one of the best we have stayed at in a long time. We would definitely recommend it, and would certainly stay there again on our next visit to relatives and friends in Dover. Mr and Mrs E & J Whitaker

Room Tip: Even though room 5 was one the top of the House (a lot of stairs to climb) it was well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joywhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed one night on a recent vacation. Rooms were ok but chilly and a bit damp, also a touch noisy early in morning when traffic got rolling. Owner not terribly hospitable - felt like we were putting him out. Overall, reasonable location (but lots of other choices in area) and ok for the price. Mostly overrated though

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for one night, before returning home to the Netherlands again. The guesthouse is situated perfectly near Dover castle (10 minutes walk if you would like to visit) and 15 minutes form the shops/restaurants. Also only 10 minutes drive to the ferry-terminal. Our room was very small but not that expensive either although I noticed it's necessary to book very early to be able to get that cheaper price. For comparing prices or slightly more (say 5 pounds) we had bigger rooms elsewhere. Very small bathroom as well. But all very clean. Great for 1 night. No english breakfast but a continental breakfast. (for us after 2 weeks of full English not too bad).
It's great that you can leave your car in the guesthouses carpark after checking out if you want to visit the castle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Marjan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
3 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crabble Hill House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hubert House Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hubert House Guesthouse

Address: 9 Castle Hill Road, Dover CT16 1QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Price Range: £57 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hubert House Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hubert House is the only 4* GOLD awarded accommodation in Dover. It is a family run business set in a beautiful listed Georgian townhouse. It is situated in an ideal spot cut back into the famous White Cliffs beneath Dover Castle and just minutes away from cruise, ferry and train terminals.Ideal for a one stay, romantic break or holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hubert House Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hubert House Guesthouse Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing