We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & Friendly - recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number One Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Number One Guest House
Ranked #12 of 41 Dover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm & Friendly - recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

Due to M25 motorway traffic delays we arrived later than we had stated. Margaret (the owner) stayed up until gone midnight to check us in. The garage parking was a real bonus as we had a boot full of goodies for our property in France. Breakfast was served in our room which saved getting presentable and meant we could relax before our ferry departed. Overall a welcome B&B and would recommened for that pre ferry stopover.

Thanks

Lauren

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDavies1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    17
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
27
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

A very poor guest house. We were greated by the owners requesting an extra £2.00 to park our car after a 350 mile drive, we were then told that, by the owners, lastminute.com should not have reserved this 3 bedroom as it should have been more expensive, (i don't think so), very poor room, en-suite very poor standard, very, very poor breakfast.

Worth about £30.00 per room per night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WalesDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbrotherDover, Owner at Number One Guest House, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
This reservation was made through an online agency that does not provide a means to pay for
or advise us you require secure garage parking, therefore payment for garage parking has to be made upon arrival as stated on our website. We are only advised of your name and type of room you reserved yourself online. We are not advised of your arrival time and have no means of contacting you should the need arise. Obviously from your harsh review, the payment of £2 (note we normally charge £3) after your trip down from Chester Dom was too much to bear and we are sorry this additional, normally welcome peace of mind expense spoiled your stay in Dover.

I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

The tattoo parlor two door down from this establishment has a sign in the window that says "No pain - No gain". That could also be the motto of this bed and breakfast. It is inexpensive - for three people we paid 75 lbs. We did get a great breakfast each morning and we were in walking distance of the castle. That ends the positive. First, in a traditional bed and breakfast it is expected that the visitor could visit - maybe even use some public space. The only time you are actually in the house ( or even use the front door) is when you check in and check out. We were in the basement (below street level) which had a room configured with a small bathroom. You are instructed to enter and exist through the garden and a side alley. The room fit the three beds and one table and two chairs. That was it. There was no room even to put the suitcases in, much less to open them. Once we removed two chairs we could open the suit cases. You eat your breakfast in your room and the table in your room has the setting for your breakfast on it all day, which makes it difficult to use the table for anything else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbrotherDover, Owner at Number One Guest House, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Sadly we are not able to control what businesses move into the area. We do have
Public "Spaces" available, a reading lounge, a PC and free Wifi and a walled Garden with seating - please see our website. All rooms have their own entrance, the room in questions utilises the garden entrance allowing guests to exit and enter as required. Security is a major concern, not only for your fellow guests but my family as well. Number One Guest House is a family house and as such we need to restrict who enters. Allowing Guests to enter through the main front door runs the risk to main door keys being lost, doors left open, strangers entering whilst guests are entering/leaving etc. We do not want to lock all our doors so the Garden entrances allow us to secure our private rooms whilst allowing free movement for our guests. It is a policy that has worked for over 35 years. Our home is not a Hotel, we do not have a receptionist/doorman or night porter. The vast majority of our guests welcome breakfast in the room and if you had requested we could have easily removed the breakfast cutlery. You only need to ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

Caught up in the post volcano travel chaos Margaret stayed up late to let us in,provided us with a comfy room and a delicious breakfast before trying to help us plan the next stage of our journey on the internet.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pishposhpesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

Stayed for 1 night in September before catching an early morning ferry the next day. Pleasant room and it was great to be able to pay extra to have a garage space for our car overnight. Convenient location for catching the ferry.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foss4London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

Margaret and John thought of everything for our room which I'd refer to as a basement apt. suite moreover. It has a double bed and 2 single beds. We requested a triple room for 6500 GBP. My expectations were rather low due to some of the "dated decor" reviews but it could not be far from the truth.
My first impressions were very good: clean, traditional decor yet very attractive despite your personal likes/dislikes. Beds spreads are suede like and are very comfortable. Delicious breakfast and many options for Vegetarians/Early Riser, House English breakfast and Healthy and Light. We filled out a form as per our choice and it was served at the time we stated punctually. It was a treat to have breakfast in our rooms on a lovely set table. Tea/Coffee facilities available in rooms as well. Beds are super warm and comfortable, suede comforters rather cozy. Furniture is very new and quite attractive.

Double sinks, private entrance to a beautiful garden with seating outdoors to enjoy a cuppa. Owners very polite and helpful. Wall paper in a pretty french lilly pattern line the spacious rooms. I felt it was thoughtful not only by little touches such as cards, sewing essentials, magazines, books and crossword puzzles in the room but also things like letting us leave the car in the garage on our checkout day while we visited Dover on foot. We simply had to return the key through the letter box for the garage when we returned.

Please bring your own toiliteries but a note in the room states if you have forgotten any, they will provide some. One of the best B&Bs we have stayed at and if back in this region, we will visit or recommend to our friends. More space than most hotel rooms and the biggest B+B room we have ever had. We dined at Romano's -Italian restaurant recommended by John--very nice ambience and reasonably priced dinner--many kebabs, pick up food options available in daytime. At night when we arrived ...a few restaurants open (chinese, pub, italian, Subway, kebab). Somerfield supermarket nearby this B+B. All within 5-7 min. of walking distance. Gorgeous castle in background of the B+B atop the hill.
Wifi available.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornstarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

We've stayed in a lot of B & B guest houses in Dover and despaired on finding a good one but this time we did. We can't understand the comments of some reveiwers, If they found a fiver in a drawer they'd complain because it wasn't a tenner. Roll on October when we go there again.
Doreen and Colin. Leicester. 30/3/2009

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparkenhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dover hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Loddington House
Loddington House
#7 of 9 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Dover East Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hubert House Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number One Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number One Guest House

Property: Number One Guest House
Address: 1 Castle Street, Dover CT16 1QH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Dover
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Dover
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Number One Guest House Dover, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing