We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE”
Review of The Arlington West Bistro - CLOSED

The Arlington West Bistro
Price range: US$5 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A small Bistro seating up to 25 people, fully licenced. Very close to Dover Port, opposite the marina on slip road.A warm friendly service with good home cooked food.
DOVER
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Having read many good reviews for this restaurant we were disappointed not to enjoy our visit. The food here is not cheap. At these prices the burgers should be home made. I ordered the hot spicy chilli type burger and expected something really special. It was just a thin cash and carry type of budget burger with some chilli sauce on it. The accompanyment of french-fries were totally without flavour. The same meal would have cost three or four pounds less in a high street cafe. We will not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOSCOW_PETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    3
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunks, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprise 16 Birthday”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

As a couple we had dined at the Bistro before and from the first time we ate there we have recommended the Bistro to a number of friends and colleagues.

We decided some time back this would be the perfect venue for our daughter's 16th Birthday - it was the perfect venue and the girls had a perfect night - a massive thank you to all the staff in making our daughter's birthday so special.

Nothing was too much trouble and they even made the most delicious chocolate/fudge birthday cake which was absolutely gorgeous.

Please take the time to experience this very special place.

Tyrone, Karon and Scarlett

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Shaun's Surprise Birthday Party”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We organised with the full support of the staff a surprise story for our middle son Shaun's 18th.The meal choices were fantastic ,the staff very attentive,nothing was too much trouble.Our youngest asked for duck breast with gravy(he doesn't like the plum sauce),no beans,lots of extra squashed potatoes.(He is a really fussy eater,cleared his plate),My husband had the famous burger and it very nearly stuffed him.I had the seafood platter yum, yum, yum,.Shaun had the chilli pasta and Sam, the steak all cooked to perfection.We were able to deliver his cake early and the card on the table as well as the little foil 18 decorations were appreciated.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Well, where to start! I have been here a couple of times in the last year and will not be returning. Scruffy waitress who never smiled. It was so cold in there and the heater above the front door was ineffective. Staff talking amongst themselves and ignoring the fact I had to put my coat on. Food was just ok and nothing special. Coffee awful. Not a cheap place to eat and I have lost count how many times this place has changed hands. Nuff said!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTgirlKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very OK”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This place is as my husband says very ok. It is not in the same league as other places we go in the local area. The service is friendly efficient and helpful, but most of what we ate [we think] was brought in frozen , nothing homemade going on. You can get very good food elsewhere for the same price. If the mains were priced nearer ten pounds[ They are mostly about £14. I would think the place reasonable value. The starters were the best part of the meal. All well presented.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Arlington West Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing