We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Valentines”

Sir Stanley Gray Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 199 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chatham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Valentines”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Welcoming, friendly, efficient, great atmosphere, food was SUPERB possibly one of the best burgers I have ever eaten. Good value for money, would definitely eat there again if in the area

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    70
    34
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice uncomplicated food”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

In the bar area it is like a country pub, relaxed and informal and a friendly environment. The staff were courteous and friendly and quick to serve at the bar. There was a good choice of local hand pulled beers, lagers and cider, I never checked the wine option but it was available. Food choices for a starter, main and dessert were good. Starters around £5 as were desserts and mains from around £9 for a pasta or burger to £15 for steak.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, fantastic fish and chips”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Great Saturday lunchtime visit. Something for everyone. Fresh cod for the fish and chips - a real indulgence. Window seats looking out across the bay on a wild and windy day.

Helpful?
Thank KeithW725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Funeral lunch at the Pegwell bay hotel . Following the funeral of an elderly friend, The family arranged a funeral lunch for family and close friends .This was a vey mixed group which included elderly relatives and young great grandchildren. 3 Highchairs were needed.,The meal was excellent, all our needs were catered for. The position of the hotel is fantastic overlooking the English channel, the mist cleared and we could see France. I am unable to comment about the cost as we were guests. I would certainly visit again.

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186460Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Very cosy. Lovely views. Served excellent food which was good value for money. So good that when we visited for a weekend we ditched our plans for trying different eateries and had all our meals here! Staff very friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sir Stanley Gray Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Sir Stanley Gray Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing