We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Wonderful Stay!!”
Review of The Foxhunter Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Foxhunter Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful Stay!!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having just finished our first stay at The Foxhunter Park, I can honestly say we are immensely impressed. Me, my wife and my two young children decided to make the journey down to Kent to visit family, so we thought we would try a stay at Fouxhunter, and we are extremely glad we did! The caravan we rented was spacious, luxurious and fitted our family of four easily. A problem we have experienced in our stays at holiday parks in the past is a lack of activities for the children, but not at foxhunter! Every night there was different entertainment on in the club, all hosted by the lovely Roy. The children didn't want to leave! We were told by the management that there was a new chef in the club, and we were very impressed (make sure you try the steak, and make sure you eat it on the 'Long Island Terrace'!). Thank you Jane, Russell and the rest of the foxhunter staff for a lovely summer stay and we will be seeing you next year!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, Owner at The Foxhunter Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear George S
All feedback is important to us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and see us again soon
With warm regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    18
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
58
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First impressions were great - beautiful bar and restaurant, excellent staff and service, very well kept grounds and a fantastic outdoor pool area. However spending a relaxing day by the pool was spoilt by a huge group of caravan owners who arrived throughout the afternoon taking over the area. As for their children, they were left to their own devices running and shouting around without any supervision at all. They also left the gate wide open so anyone could access the pool area instead of having to use the entry code system. In the end we had to move to the other end of the pool to escape the noise and disruption. A further incident occurred the following evening when my 2 sons were in the play area and these same children turned up and proceeded to threaten and bully them. As my children have been brought up well mannered and polite they walked away from the situation without stooping to their disgusting level only to be told by these unruly children that they were going to stab them ! Truly despicable behaviour and their parents were nowhere to be seen throughout this whole incident. This unfortunately left a very bitter taste in our mouth and so we chose to avoid the pool and restaurant area for the rest of the weekend. However, on the plus side we explored both Ramsgate and Broadstairs which we thoroughly enjoyed and would highly recommend. Such a shame about these particular caravan owners and their children, as aside from them The Foxhunter Park would have been perfect which is why I have rated them as a 4.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cazlovesbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, Owner at The Foxhunter Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Carolineormerod
I am disturbed to hear of your experience whilst staying with us recently. I sincerely apologise for this very unpleasant behaviour.
It is our company policy not to tolerate anti social behaviour in any form. Anti social behaviour is considered a breach of our rules and conditions and anyone breaching our rules and conditions are in danger of having their Licence agreement terminated forthwith.
We, as a Company abhor bullying of any nature.
I am truly sorry that your Children were exposed to this most unfortunate experience.
If you would like to contact me, to discuss the matter further in confidence, please feel free to do so.
I am pleased to hear in every other way you found Foxhunter to be perfect
With kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The website made this park look lovely, and we went for a gold plus caravan thinking we'd be in luxury... well we were wrong.

We were taking our 6 month old baby, and found straight away that the travel cot had no chance of fitting in any of the 3 bedrooms, which meant our baby had to sleep in the living area the whole time with us & my family coming in and out all the time. And because she was so young, WE had to sleep in the living room with her. Reception & the welcome pack in the caravan both said there was bed linen for the pull out sofa bed under the master bed, which there wasn't. We went back to reception and the same guy we had just spoken to said there isn't linen because the caravan is a 6 berth and the sofa bed isn't included in that. So on night one we pulled the mattresses off 2 of the beds and brought them out to the living room floor. After that we had to go out and buy our own double bed sheet to use on the sofa bed.

The beds and bedrooms themselves are the tiniest things I've ever seen. My husband slept on one for a nap and said it was like sleeping on a shelf - if you tried to move it felt like you were going to fall off. We went on a £10 Sun holiday a couple of years ago and the beds were great! These were just not practical or comfortable in any way. The sofa bed was awful as well. It was very cramped with 2 people in it and it dipped in the middle so we were sleeping on a slant and rolling into each other the whole time. We did not have a comfortable night's sleep the whole time we were there.

The site, while pretty, was very limited. And a lot of the website information was very vague or contradicted reality.

It advertised and arcade - which was only open at weekends.

It said the pool was heated in height of season - so June & July are not height of season then?

Where the hell was the spa?

Where the hell was the putting green?

It advertises free wi-fi for gold and silver caravans like it's a bonus for paying the extra - when we got there it was an open wi-fi and we didn't even need the passcode they provided. So anyone on site can just access the wi-fi - not the people who paid more thinking it was an added bonus.

There's no shop. Nowhere to buy simple things like milk & loo roll.

Overall I was very disappointed. My biggest issue was paying for a gold plus caravan and being presented with the smallest, most uncomfortable beds I've ever seen and having to sleep on a wonky sofa bed all week. Never have I been so glad to be sleeping in my own bed tonight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, Owner at The Foxhunter Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Kirsty M
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and I apologise for the inconvenience that you experienced. When we know someone is bringing a travel cot we remove a single bed to allow for a travel cot to fit in the bedroom. The reason we do not use the sofa beds in the hire caravans is because they tend to be small and not really designed for two people. It is a shame you didn't use the master bed as the mattresses have been upgraded and are very comfortable in the gold plus range.
To make it more simple to connect to our Wi-Fi, our guests no longer need a code, and we now offer free Wi-Fi to all our guests. At Foxhunter we consider a good Wi-Fi connection as important as having electricity and a good supply of hot water.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
With kind regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Having spent the last few weekends at the Foxhunter Park I feel I must take issue with the previous reviewer tony b. We have eaten with friends in the "same room round the corner". I am guessing he is not terribly well travelled as it is quite normal practise for a hotel or bar to have two menus. One is a bar menu which means you eat seated around the dance floor or bar area. The other is in a beautifully decorated room with full table service for which of course you would expect to pay more. The food is of a high quality with the sea bass of a good restaurant standard and we do not feel at all overpriced. The service is second to none and our friends were extremely impressed with the all round standard not just of the restaurant, but of the park as a whole.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, Owner at The Foxhunter Park, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your time at The Foxhunter park and look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our 2nd time at the Foxhunter and the newly refurbished club looks great, was very impressed. The staff are so friendly and bent over backwards for us especially Barbara. Food is great, pool is lovely we managed to get one nice warm day to have a dip. Caravan was fabulous and our young boy was in his element. We will defo be booking to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beckyboopManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, Owner at The Foxhunter Park, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The caravans were very well equipped with loads of room for 2 adults & 2 young children. The newly refurbished bar/restaurant and pool area provides a great place for the kids to play safely and the adults to relax. We had dinner there every night and they served a good range of high quality food with healthy and fresh options for the kids too. The bar puts on an hour of entertainment for the kids in the early evening which they loved and gave us a break too. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel it was a home away from home. It was a perfect family break and we will be booking for next year!!

Thanks to all at Foxhunter

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, Owner at The Foxhunter Park, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
A big thank you!
We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Foxhunter park
With my good wishes and those of all the team

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Having been coming here for 3 years now. In fact own our own van here. There has been lots of changes over the last year or so. The club house has been changed from functional to amazing and there is still more planned for next year. It has become our little oasis a place to go to loose yourself from the normal everyday chores, to a place to relax, enjoy and spend with friends. It seems to benefit from very good weather most of the time meaning the pool is very welcome. The site is kept immaculate, with the palm trees you could almost be somewhere in the med. The new chef has brought some very nice food to the menu and we have so far enjoyed every meal we have had. John and Barbara run a very well organised and friendly bar with the staff being very efficient but not losing the friendly touch. The entertainment is very varied and always something for everyone. Staff in the office are very knowledgeable and helpful with anything you may need to know about the area. All in all we are very pleased with our little bit of paradise and can't wait to return to our little oasis. Keep up the good work foxhunter.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane s, Owner at The Foxhunter Park, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Linda

I cannot begin to tell you how much your review means to each and every member of the team. A huge thank you

With our warmest good wishes

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
5.8 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
6.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
18.2 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 10 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
#6 of 10 in Ramsgate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Foxhunter Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foxhunter Park

Property: The Foxhunter Park
Address: Monkton Street, Ramsgate CT12 4JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Foxhunter Park 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foxhunter Park is a holiday caravan park situated in the village of Monkton, near Ramsgate on the beautiful Kent coast. We are only a short drive from the coast, which boasts miles of golden sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Foxhunter Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Foxhunter Park Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing