We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff but faded and jaded.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great staff but faded and jaded.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Friendly staff, but a tired and rather tatty hotel very much in need of repair and renovation! A convenient place however if you must visit the south coast. Thin towels and less than sparkling clean bathrooms.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a sea view room, rather than the view of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    91
    85
    36
    33
See reviews for
48
122
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shavington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I booked in for a 2 night business trip. The hotel is about 3/4 mile from the station on the seafront. Its quite light and airy downstairs bit looking a bit dated. My room was at the back overlooking a carpark, but for the price was reasonable. The meals were very good value and the service excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front will have a great view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
897 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Spent the May day weekend here and liked the hotel. All pretty basic but good value. Staff were very nice generally. Rooms were a good size with nice bedlinen. The shower didn't have much power but did the job ok.The windows were old and a bit rattly if there was a breeze but thankfully they opened as it was a hot weekend and the room was very warm, we didn't bother with the air con. We had a very good quiet nights sleep. Breakfast was a bit chaotic on the Monday morning as they ran out of everything and seemed incapable of replacing basics like sliced bread or mugs for tea an coffee. We waited 20 mins for a mug and were told they'd run out, but they were clearing tables and surely could have washed them quickly as brought them out again. We had a lovely Canadian waitress however who did her best to keep everyone happy.On the Tues morning breakfast time was very quiet but they ran out of mugs again perhaps the hotel should buy some more!!! We had a nice meal in the restaurant on our last night very good value . There are plenty of parking spaces by the hotel and you can walk to the harbour and town easily in 10 min. There is a lovely walk along the seafront and through a park to Broadstairs.

Room Tip: ask for top floor with sea view avoid rooms near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked in here for Friday to Tuesday over the Labour Day bank holiday, and THEN read other people's reviews. We cannot agree with some of the adverse criticism therein. The weather was so much better, but I can imagine it being cold earlier in this year (as some had found it) when temperatures were abnormally low. We were on the top floor at the front, wonderful view, good spacious room. The staff were extemely friendly, again contrary to one reviewer's experience. We would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booksperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Staying there just for a couple of days to attend a wedding, the Comfort Inn was a reasonable stay for the money.

Although the hotel looks in general a little out dated in terms of décor, everything that we needed was, for the majority, well catered for. Both bedroom and en suit bathroom were spotless, TV (despite a scratch) and trouser press was functional, and bed well made. Though some of the room lights, the radio alarm clock and hair dryer were not.
Local room controllable air conditioning as well as opening (but safe) windows were very welcome in the hot weather that weekend and fully functional, meaning a very good night's sleep.
Our DND tag was also respected and despite leaving late in the day, the room was still serviced when we eventually removed it later.

Breakfast was a bit basic with not much variety though there was enough seating generally speaking. We didn't attend later meals but the hotel has a 4 out of 5 rating for food safety and I've been informed by locals it does reasonable meals.

Staff were friendly, both service staff, reception; and the night porter who was quite happy to assist us with some resupplies for our room despite our late return. Though we weren't warned in advance there would be an extra charge for additional towels. And there was confusion at checkout that we'd ordered a cooked breakfast, though there was no argument when we insisted this was not the case.

All in all a pleasant enough stay and would happily recommend for a short break in the area with it being both in walking distance to the town centre and the sea front.

Room Tip: For a sea view, you'll need to pick the deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidonocu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Great hotel and location, friendly staff good food and drink recommend it to anyone wishing I visit Ramsgate. Nice room on the corner with great views of the sea and promenade, lovely to wake up and see the sea! On the whole clean and comfortable, just what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akuma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Paid £55 for one night including breakfast. Had a 4 poster bed, great room, food was lovely. Good entertainment . Over all a great evening.nice ab
Nice and clean . friendly helpfull staff.beach view. Reasonable bar prices too. It's well worth a visit. It's nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ramsgate hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ramsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ramsgate

Property: Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Address: Victoria Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8DT, England (Formerly Minotel San Clu)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Ramsgate 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Ramsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ramsgate Hotel Ramsgate
Comfort Ramsgate Inn
Ramsgate Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Ramsgate Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing