We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea front hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sea front hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stay here regularly due to work. Very friendly polite staff, good food in the restaurant and very clean and tidy rooms. As with lots of hotels some of the rooms are just ok but then some are very very good. The only negative I'd have is that although the room is cleaned and tidied everyday the coffee and tea making facilities aren't always replenished. Never had a bad experience here, always a delight to return and certianly in a good position for venturing out into the harbour area of Ramsgate for bars and restaurants. Overall a comfy and friendly place, soon to add a gym to the facilities on offer which will be an excellent bonus. Looking forward to many more stays here :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a limited view with some a/c noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryanr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    94
    89
    40
    35
See reviews for
52
128
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Came away for a weekend break. On arrival was greeted by friendly staff and was in our room within five minutes. Room was of average size which I would expect, it was tidy and the bed was comfortable. The staff were always helpful with questions that we asked. The breakfast menu cannot be faulted as it catered for most people. The only criticism would be the bar prices as over the road at smugglers retreat the prices were a lot lower. We would stay at this place again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 146james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Im a generous-spirited person, and I really wanted to say something positive about this hotel, but unfortunately, most of the people on here are correct: there isnt much positive to say:

I stayed 5 nights for my main holiday. Id describe it as 'passable' but definitely NOT worth the £50 per night I had to pay. It is old-fashioned, room was pokey and drab. Sign on window saying that pigeons will enter if you open the window! Reception was cool, not welcoming. I cant believe you have to pay £5 extra for a cooked breakfast, when already paying £50 per night, for a hotel with no pool!

Some staff were lovely, but the American girl needs to change her attitude - bossy, telling me to "Sit down" in the breakfast room, and hassling me twice in the early morning to try to clean my room. Im the customer - has she not heard of manners??!!!

Not good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ramsgate hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Booked for 5 nights only stayed 1Room was terrible ,loo moved when you sat on it , basin did not hold water, more hairs in plug hole than on my head. Barman very rude thats when he was actually behind the bar, reception on arrival was poor, only good thing was how our complaints were dealt with ne next morning, avoid the victoria suite if staying there.

Room Tip: Avoid Victoria Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Not stayed here for quite a while, so was impressed that the place is being updated, well at least the rooms are, place was looking a bit tired and the two rooms i stayed in both had the bathrooms updated, looked like rooms had been decorated as well, shame still using the old dark old wood furniture of old though, its looking well tired !
Food here is great, breakfasts from the healthy continental with lots of choice down to poached haddock with poached eggs, grilled kippers, proper freshly cooked full English, dinner menu is varied, the usual uk fair but i di believe chefys are Indiian and they do proper curry's ss well so well worth the visit ! unless you fancy the liver and Bacon, that was shocking
All in all the place is getting lots better and heading in the right direction
By the way the staff are great. Very helpful, i will be going back if they will let me, give it a try !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked our stay by phone using a number on the Hotel’s website, there was no indication on the website that this was a link to a third party. One would assume that if you phone a hotel directly from their own website you speak to someone at the Hotel, in fact having stayed in many & various standards of Hotel in our experience this has always been the case.The reason we always book directly with the Hotel is to check it is suitable for my wife’s disability.

We phoned the Hotel shortly before the date we were due to arrive, once again getting the number from the same website to check our booking only to find there was no record of the booking, so we re-booked & asked for confirmation by e-mail, when this arrived we noticed it was £20 a night dearer than our original booking. We decided this might be an oversight so continued with our plans. On arrival the duty manager had no record of our original booking price (although it was clearly stated on your hotels own website) which incidentally she could conveniently no longer access but booked us in at the new cost which we agreed to pay. We inquired about the price of an upgrade (my wife & myself had already decided that we would probably upgrade) but the cost was approximately £40 a night more than that quoted on their website, so probably out of bloody mindedness we declined, I think it not unreasonable for a Hotel to honour their website prices.

After finally getting the key to our room & getting to the floor, my wife was really dismayed that after our explanations about access, the room could only be accessed down a flight of stairs with no proper handrails my wife couldn’t even attempt the stairs, I would have thought a key point for Hotel staff would be to actually listen to their clients, it should also have been quite obvious to the duty manager that my wife had a disability.

After trailing our luggage back down to reception we were given the key to another room. On using the electronic key which gave us entry we found the room was already occupied. What amazed us was the security aspect that allowed us to get into an already occupied room. Had we been unsavoury characters we could have left then & stolen what we liked!

Arriving once more at reception we were met by the manageress to whom we explained our predicament (incidentally the duty manager tried to get us not to involve her) She showed us to a third room (room 206). After a short chat the door was closed it was then that we could hear the hotels main air conditioning units directly under the window this actually had a notice on it inviting you to open it but beware the Gulls, if you did this the noise was excruciatingly loud,so we closed it again.
We turned on the TV to see if it would drown the noise out, after all we looked at it that as we were only staying 2 nights that would enable us to sleep by drowning the noise, unfortunately after about 2 minutes the picture started to pixilate badly & the sound broke up

The final straw was when we turned the hotel information paperwork over & discovered a message from a previous occupant together with a smiley face at that point we decided to go home.

On telling the duty manager we were leaving we got the impression she wasn’t interested at all.

We consider this Hotel totally ruined our intended short break in an area we like to visit on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Beware several rooms overlook the very loud air conditioning units.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hemeljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

stayed for one night in a standard double room.
Hotel is old but ok. Good if you have a sea view room as on the front. We did not. stayed on floor 4. Room was a good size and reasonably clean. Only hairs in the bath. Bed was ok but not the comfiest. The worst thing was the air con fan outside the back of the hotel outside the windows below. It was on all night and very noisy and no sound proof on the windows.
Room had air con unit which worked fine. coffee n tea making facilities etc. Ok for a short break but would pay to be at the front if went again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteBrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.7 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,069 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.8 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ramsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ramsgate

Property: Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Address: Victoria Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8DT, England (Formerly Minotel San Clu)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Ramsgate 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Ramsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ramsgate Hotel Ramsgate
Comfort Ramsgate Inn
Ramsgate Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Ramsgate Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing