We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.”

St. Lawrence Tandoori
Ranked #37 of 196 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We go to this restaurant at least twice a month and the food is always excellent. Although on a busy night the service can be a bit slow the staff are always polite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank shirleyw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    22
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best curry I've ever had!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I've been to many indian restaurants in this area and I always return to St. Lawrence! The food selection on the menu is great and has always tasted great too - authentic and everything is freshly made (unlike some places I've been too). The staff are very polite and I will always return here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophiesmith1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly disappointing”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have just returned from this restaurant with a party of colleagues. Service was atrocious, food VERY average, and attitude of staff totally "couldn't-care-less". They even tried to charge us extra for items they had provided to out table without any request to do so. We were not offered either coffee or desserts. They couldn't wait to get rid of us, which was not too much of a problem as we couldn't wait to leave anyway. Will never return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very average curry”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The St Lawrence Tandoori is a modern restaurant, with a light feel, but sadly the long, narrow shape of the premises makes it feel more cramped than it actually is.
Atmosphere was quiet but this was midweek and not many people were in. Traditional and some modern Indian music playing.
The staff are very friendly and pleasant, and service was prompt and efficient.
The menu gives a good range of typical curry house dishes, and a good selection of house specialties.
Poppadoms were served with a small selection of pickles and sauces, in not over generous quantity. Spicy poppadoms were slightly burnt at the edges.
The curry itself lacked anything special, and for a tandoori mixed grill masala, the amount of meat was not excessive. The sauce itself, while tasty enough, did not stand out and could have quite easily have just been shop bought.
Rices were well cooked, perhaps a little dry.
Breads were very nicely cooked and had a very good flavour, although I am not sure if they are made on the premises or bought in.
Onion bhajis were delicious!
Price was fairly typical for a restaurant of this type, possibly a little higher, but not too much.

Still probably the best curry house in the local area, but just nothing that would make you travel more than a couple of miles to eat there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The only choice in thanet”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I have been eating here since 2007 and have never had a bad experience. The staff are friendly and provide excellent service. I do dislike that everywhere I eat I get asked how is my food after my first three mouthfuls but then again I am guilty of doing exactly the same at home! That said, I would not agree with other reviewers who have said that the staff are over the top but we all differ. Food has always been excellent and plenty of it too. Would go there more if could.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BenLaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Lawrence Tandoori also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Westgate-on-Sea, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to St. Lawrence Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing