We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Churchill Tavern

Churchill Tavern
Ranked #37 of 195 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Just had lunch at the churchill Tavern, In the past I have had mixed feelings about the restaraunt but with the new menu and the new chef the food was lovely. It was cooked perfectly and very good value. £7.50 for the special. The waiter was very friendly and gave us everything we asked for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloydylardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    47
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Food for Thought ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

me and my family had a wonderful breakfast, Kippers, Full English...was delicious.
we also booked for xmas day lunch and the food was amazing, it is so no to have such a wonderful day and everyone went away happy with full tummys.

bar/waitress staff rather vacant/ignorant but that was the only downside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desert21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pub and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I have eaten at this restaurant many times. The food is absolutely amazing and complete value for money, at a superior quality. The ambience is warm and friendly, with a welcoming feel as you walk in the door. I have eaten in many restaurants throughout Europe and would rate this establishment 10 out of 10. The Manageress is clearly, extremely experienced and this is demonstrated in the efficiency of the running of the restaurant and bar. Well done Churchill Tavern for your delicious and varied menu and polite, friendly service cascaded from Management. I would highly recommend that anyone visiting Ramsgate samples the delights this Restaurant has to offer. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RUTH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Xmas Day to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Xmas Day lunch was one to remember - having sampled others in Ramsgate in previous years this was the best.
Staff great, atmosphere lovely, food wonderful, not rushed a great way for me and my hubbie to spend xams day without the hassle of all the cooking and cleaning up.
Food - fresh, abundant and tasty - the best soup i've had in ages.
Will be booking for 2013 for deinite.

Malcolm W - give it another go it must have been an off day...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramsgate
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eaten here once, never again. Worst pub food despite 2 chefs recently. Staff very pleasant, manageress dreadful. Woul”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Nice environment, pleasant staff - manageress...wrong person for the job, unfriendly, sour-faced, rude woman. Whoever has written to say good food in this pub, I can only wonder at what they must eat at home!! I would rather have a kebab from a cheap Turkish takeaway, (which I'd throw away). Anyone coming to Ramsgate, eat somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malcolm w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churchill Tavern also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Churchill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing