We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family meal”
Review of Churchill Tavern

Churchill Tavern
Ranked #39 of 195 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
thanet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely family meal”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I visited this restaurant with my family a couple of weeks ago. The food was amazing and everyone really enjoyed themselves. I had the chili squid to start followed by the St. Margaret Bay Hake. Both dishes were superb, the Hake in particular was incredible... the flavour of the accompanying samphire and brown shrimp butter made for a very well balanced dish. I would recommend this to any fish lover! The service was attentive but not stuffy... it's nice to go somewhere where the staff are allowed to show their own personality. After dinner we were able to enjoy the live music; a lovely way to end a brilliant night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThanetSimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    49
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Ramsgate”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Recently went in on a Saturday for the breakfast brunch club. And now am constantly craving their breakfast.. The food was exceptional, I had eggy bread with bacon mushrooms and maple syrup!! Seriously amazing should definitely try it if you have a spare Saturday morning free!x

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fmcdonald93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good pub grub-lovely decor”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Went here for breakfast and we werent disappointed. Excellent selection of breakfasts and great value for money. We decided on the Full English and it was certainly worth its £6.00 price tag. The whoie pub was warm and friendly with lovely open fires and the main menu looked lovely too. Would definately go back- just one thing to say is that the lady who took our order was a bit snappy -maybe she was busy but it was a shame on an otherwise lovely visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pinky2722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Lunch”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Took my mum for lunch to this lovely pub. The food was absolutely amazing, and the best value for money. Three courses for £11.95 and everything was delicious, home made and in huge portions! Would recommend to anyone and everyone. The nicest touch was that the chef had made individual cupcakes - free for each Mother to take away :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfort food with added flavour.”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

A lovely pub with a real country feel. Churchill's offers some wonderful real ales and now a great menu.
The dining area allows for a proper sit down meal and the menu offers all the traditional pub favourites plus a specials board with a few extras. All beautifully presented and in generous servings, the chef is clearly talented and better than those found in most town pubs.
Reasonable prices given the quality and quantity of the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Churchill Tavern also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Churchill Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing