We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

San Clu Restaurant at Comfort Inn
Ranked #99 of 199 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Open 7 days a week from midday the San Clu Bar and Restaurant offers a wide variety of lunch and dinner options. We offer a 7 day roast dinner with giant homemade Yorkshire puddings from £6.95, fish, vegetarian, Indian, traditional British food such as liver and bacon as well as steaks and ribs. Bar snacks are also available. We have a Gelato Ice Cream counter and seating outside so you can relax with just a coffee or Ice Cream and enjoy the views. There is a bouncy castle for the kids in the summer.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having eaten here before for lunch and also having used this hotel lobby/bar/restaurant as a meeting place with friends, we decided to eat here prior to going to the cinema across the road.

When we arrived around 6.00 the restaurant was fairly quiet and plenty of seats so we chose a seaview which was lovely.

You have to order at the bar, we thought this was probably just at lunchtimes, but no in the evenings too.

Our meals arrived, we realised then you have to help yourself to cutlery and condiments off the waiter's trolley. I had ordered Fillet Steak and my Husband ordered Chicken Korma. My fillet steak was very fatty, so I didn't make a fuss I thought my husband had probably ordered the rump by mistake it certainly didn't look or taste like Fillet, but even for rump it was very fatty and by the time I cut that off, there was very little steak left, the chips were tasty, dry and crispy but the fresh seasonal vegetables were boiled to death and were limp and didn't taste very nice so they too were left. My husband's Korma was a bit too dark, and didn't look very nice, he said that it tasted like a Tesco or Iceland cheap meal for one, and the Naan bread was like cardboard and again tasted like it had come from the cheap section of a supermarket.

We didn't bother to stay for dessert as nothing on the menu looked particularly enticing.

I would use it again for a snack at lunchtimes but I wouldn't bother for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheree E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    31
    14
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Staff let this place down”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel, the restaurant is part of it.
The food we had was ok, had to wait quite a while to be served,
We decided to sit outside as it was a nice day,
The waitress brought our meals, plonked them on the table and walked away,
No cutlery in condiments, nothing.
We had to go inside and ask for everything. Waited a couple if minutes, and just helped ourselves out of the cupboard.
Clearly not enough staff, or staff that actually care!
Poor service, ok food at a reasonable price,
You get what you pay for.....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simone h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shavington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

For a hotel restaurant the food was very reasonably priced and there was a good choice. I had a mixed grill one night and the Wexford steak another; both cooked well and served efficiently. Good real ale on offer as well which was a bonus.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,008 reviews
594 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
“nice god value meal”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We ate in our hotel restaurant on our last evening having been disappointed on previous evenings in what Ramsgate had to offer on the culinary front.This was by far the best meal we had on the trip. We had starters of chicken tikka and cheesy garlic bread , big portions and delicious. Mains were ribs, steak and liver an bacon all good but my steak was a little tough. The meals came with lots of chips , onions mushrooms and vegetables. These were are served on the plate with the meat but I would have preferred these on the side. Service was quick , friendly and efficient. Bill came to £42 for 3 people with a bottle of wine which was fantastic value for a huge meal.Much better than the other top listed trip advisor restaurants we tried in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissappointing outing”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Went to give it another chance but unfortunately nothing had changed.
Food not to bad but nothing to shout about but tediously slow and only
owner behind the bar .Poor show really.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Clu Restaurant at Comfort Inn also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to San Clu Restaurant at Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing