We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“First rate boutique hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Never been to Ramsgate before, but we'll come again based on the quality of this hotel. Well appointed rooms, comfy beds, one of the best hotel breakfasts we've ever had and family friendly too. Very impressive!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    291
    78
    34
    30
See reviews for
192
574
84
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here for my husbands birthday and we splurged out on the room with the four poster and the real fire. We were given a lovely welcome and when we got to our room the fire was lit, the fizz was on ice and there were flowers (which I hadn't ordered - they are standard, and in the bathroom as well as the bedroom). We had booked a restaurant for dinner but I almost wish we'd got some fish and chips and come right back. As it was we returned at 11.00 pm and enjoyed some complementary cheese and biscuits and had a glass of wine from the honesty bar... then we stayed up for another hour and a half in the very cozy lounge) (with fire lit) playing vinyl on the record player; there was an eclectic mix of LPs ranging from classical to the Dubliners. When we finally went to bed at 12.30am our fire had been stoked for us and was still alight. We had to leave the next day but next time will save up and stay for two nights. Absolutely blimmin' marvelous.

Room Tip: I didn't see the smaller rooms but I believe they are 'cosy'. Splash out on the four pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTHACLEMATIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

A long weekend stay in this hotel was delightful. The position of the hotel is walking distance from good restaurants and town centre, rooms with sea views, lovely bed linen, good breakfasts, and amazingly comfortable lounge with sofas and books and real log fire. Cheese and bisuits in the evening. Another lounge with TV too. Everything had been thought of. Bliss. Were one there on a wet day it would be be a great place to be as well. On top of all this the staff could not have been more helpful when I managed to lose not only my car keys but my mobile phone, making phone calls and giving advice and sympathy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chedington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I've stayed several times in the Royal Harbour for business purposes, not that I had to but that I wanted to stay in this hotel. It's my preferred option.
Staying here is like coming home, The service is splendid, breakfast is great, the bed and shower is to my satisfaction. What else can you wish for. For a relaxing moment you can enjoy the cosy livings or the backgarden, or just enjoy the seaview from your room!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loches, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Near to Dover, the end of a hard day's drive from the Loire, the Royal Harbour was easy to find on the sea front and so beautifully welcoming. It feels more like a private house than a hotel, it's decor being the individual choice of someone with an eye for beauty. We enjoyed the paintings as much as the perfect view over the harbour. Our room , on the Upper Deck, which is up a final flight of steep stairs , so light and warm, well furnished with a very comfortable bed, books (I have one to return on my next visit)and a tray for tea making.The public spaces are a series of pleasant sitting rooms,elegant yet homely, dominated by great pictures , one being the incredibly sunny breakfast room with an enormous choice for breakfast. Watching the light on the water and listening to the clatter of the rigging on the boats whilst eating smoked salmon and scrambled eggs makes a memorable stay perfect. Jill and Dave, the friendliest, most welcoming hotel staff in the world! Thank you.

Room Tip: Beautiful views over the harbour came with the throb and hum of the port plus glowing security light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I had room 10 facing the harbour and it was perfect: cosy, lovely view, clean, excellent attention to detail (chocolate biscuit with tea - a lovely touch), sunny, bright and an incredibly comfy bed with proper linen sheets. The food was great, the service/staff friendly & helpful (especially Jill) - they couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome & at home. There's a dear little garden at the back - perfect for a quiet drink (the honesty bar is a nice touch too) or cup of tea. We loved the decoration - great pictures! - and general atmosphere. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The Royal Harbour Hotel is full of wonderful paintings, books and well-chosen furniture. The breakfast included everything from smoked salmon to cup cakes and fresh grapefruit (plus a cooked option). We went on a summer weekend, but I will visit again when the log fires are burning. The owner has thought of every little detail, from cheese and biscuits before bed to a well stocked honesty bar with fresh mint, lime and lemons. There were lovely biscuits in the room and a great choice of shower products.

Room Tip: Room 20 has bunkbeds and a double, so ideal for groups or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
4.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
#6 of 10 in Ramsgate
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing