We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr & Mrs Jacobs. ( Outstanding Hotel)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs Jacobs. ( Outstanding Hotel)”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

What can I say, from beginning to end this hotel was outstanding, all the small added touches i.e. cheese & biscuits, having your bed covers turn down, just makes this hotel one of the best in the UK.... A stunning view of the harbour which no doubt would look even more amazing in the summer. The staff could not help you enough, they were so friendly and warm.... The lounge was comfy with a beautiful open log fire, making feel like you was home..... Breakfast was perfection, so much choice and the cook breakfast was served piping hot....I just could not fault this hotel and will definitely be returning next year.....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlese J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    277
    76
    33
    29
See reviews for
181
559
79
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Battle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Wow! - Where on earth can I start, I have so much to tell you about this perfectly gorgeous little gem of a hotel situated probably in the most perfect position over looking Ramsgate Harbour.

Our stay from beginning to end was just magical in every way, from the beautifully decorated cosy but clinically clean bedroom and shower room, to the quirky but very welcoming lounge area and extremely cute TV room, not to mention the wonderful interiors of all the rooms with paintings, old books, and knick knacks of all sorts dotted around as if they have always been there. The log fires just added to the entire feel of this wonderful place, the whole house felt as if you were actually staying in someone’s private home! – We have never felt a feeling such as that from a hotel before.

The friendly and very welcoming staff just added to the whole experience for us, nothing was too much trouble, the little touches like an honesty bar, complimentary cheese and biscuits for supper ……. And the breakfast!! The breakfast is fantastic with a huge choice of cereals, pastries and cakes, cold meats, smoked salmon, fruit cocktails, honeycomb honey strawberries, yoghurts as well as a great English breakfast cooked fresh as you like it, the addition of flowers waiting in our room just added to the whole weekend for us, a very romantic setting for our anniversary that we cannot wait to return too.

Thank you sooo much, keep doing what you are doing and we will see you again soon. In fact we had such a wonderful time, we are already planning to come and stay again for a long weekend in March.

Tim & Simone XX

Room Tip: The front three rooms have access to private balconies – if you’re lucky enough to get one! – We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Lovely hotel with stunning views over the harbour and a very friendly receptionist who went out of her way to help us. Great breakfast and beautiful interiors, full of old paintings, records and books.

The only thing I would have changed is the size of the bed, which was a smallish/standard double, as we're both quite tall, but it was still very comfortable! Hopefully will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This is a lovely hotel overlooking the harbour rooms have great sea views.
The rooms are small but have ensuite bathrooms and are clean tastfully decorated with comfy beds.
The hotel has wonderful interior decor which makes it feel you are in someones home not a bland corporate hotel,so you feel right at home.
The tv lounge is really comfy with a real fire and access to the nice courtyard garden and outside bar and seating. They give you free cheese pate and biscuits for supper nice touch. The breakfast is fantastic with a huge choice of cereals,pastries and cakes,cold meats, smoked salmon, fruit cocktails,honeycomb honey strawberries,yoghurts as well as a great English breakfast cooked fresh as you like it. The staff are all friendly. The hotel has an honesty bar. The only minus point is no lifts so difficult to access rooms with luggage. Fantastic little hotel will visit again.

Room Tip: lower floor better for access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYER30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is a gem of a place - quite pricey but worth every penny. It has the most glorious view over Ramsgate Harbour. It's a busy little port and at night, the view is quite magical with the European ferries disappearing into the darkness and the glow from the lights on the boats coming and going in and out of the harbour. Room 4 is fab with a four poster bed and a real fire. The breakfasts are sumptuous - a huge buffet as well as anything you want cooked to order. There's usually a whole honeycomb laid out next to the jams and pastries and lovely fruit salads. There's even a nespresso machine in the bedroom!

The sitting room and dining room are stuffed with beautifully chosen paintings and another lovely touch is a pile of vinyl albums in the corner that you are encouraged to play on a stereo on the sideboard. There's a well stocked honesty bar and loads of books, mags and games on offer.There are shrimping nets in the hall. And every night a complimentary cheeseboard is laid out for the guests!

The atmosphere is utterly relaxing and welcoming and the staff can't do enough for you. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for Room 4 = wonderful bed and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sioned W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Before we even arrived at The Royal Harbour Hotel, I had received 3 welcoming emails rom Jill, the friendliest receptionist I have ever encountered in an English hotel. On arrival we were given the tour and made to feel at home - and special - all at once. What the room lacked in size (very very compact!) it made up for in abundant charm - the decor was tasteful & considered. We experienced all weathers in one day on our weekend in Ramsgate - even snow - but with 2 real log fires to snuggle up and sip wine beside, we were more than happy. The breakfast was fresh, varied and tasty - and after hours, there was a free cheeseboard to enjoy with a Port from the honesty bar. All in all, a memorable stay in a well positioned cosy hotel with a very personal touch.

Room Tip: Decide what's important to you - a bigger room with a tiny bathroom, or a smaller room with a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladysnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here just for the one night and I do wish we had stayed longer. Very nice welcome & given a little tour so we knew where the sitting rooms, dining room etc were & advised that after 9pm (ish) complimentary cheese and biscuits would be put out for all to tuck in! how often do you find that in a hotel. We arrived about 5pm, sat by a lovely open fire in the lounge area with tea and read the papers of which there was a great choice and the cups and tea pot were of a great design. (may sound petty to some but it all makes for a good experience and I notice & appreciate things like this. We had a pretty disastrous meal at a restaurant in Canterbury so when we got back were still quite hungry and sure enough there in the dining area was a great selection of cheeses and crackers which we enjoyed again by the fire with a drink from the honesty bar.

Very nice room but right at the top of the house so a bit of a climb. Paintings of every sort under the sun adorn every bit of wall at The Royal Harbour - there must be 1000s (not exaggerating!) but you know what? IT'S WONDERFUL and gives the place such a great and quirky point of difference. Our room was lovely, my only slight niggle was that there were no herbal teas only breakfast tea but thats a very minor thing. Fab shower and comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious with so much to choose from and like another reviewer the honey comb was a lovely touch. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast served by very nice staff.

All in all a wonderful place to stay with a helpful & friendly team. Well done and keep on doing what you're doing. You deserve to be ranked so highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
20.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing