We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosiest hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosiest hotel ever!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was really amazed by how home this hotel feels. Its perks are endless: 3 salons with fireplaces, the "honesty bar" (a bar without barman), selection of complimentary cheese and crackers after dinner, books all over the hotel, table games, friendly staff, superb view from rooms, ... I just can't wait to get back to Ramsgate!

Room Tip: Take a room with the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    290
    78
    34
    30
See reviews for
192
573
84
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights after reading good reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed!! A lovely hotel with lots of extra little touches that made our stay delightful. We spent the evenings out so did not eat in the restaurant or enjoy the cosy lounge with the open fire much, but it was there to be enjoyed nonetheless! Lovely toiletries in bathroom, good supply of tea, coffee and low cal hot chocolate in our room- a winner for me- and a real coffee maker and lovely biscuits. Breakfast was lovely, fantastic choice of cereal, including Dorset Muesli and real honey from a honeycomb as well as anything cooked to order. And this morning we received a postcard from the delightful David, which has reminded me I needed to write this! He and the other staff we met were lovely. We visit the area regularly and are so pleased to have found somewhere we want to stay at again . Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Fortunately, only stayed one night in the smallest hotel room ever !
A shame as the hotel is cosy and charming, with a great restaurant (a few heaters more would help though) !
But be aware - when booking a room - that the "compact" ones are so small that it is hardly possible for 2 guests to live in the room at the same time !!! Although the bed was very comfortable, the whole experience is disappointing (not even a coat hanger nor a shelve) !
And having to make your way to the main building for breakfast when it is windy and wet outside, is far from being a good start of the day.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room in the main building and avoid top floors' rooms as ridiculously small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmgpjl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My wife and i, have just spent 2 nights at this gem of a hotel. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we departed, we felt relaxed and looked after by all the staff. The manager, David such a nice and helpful guy, nothing was too much. Our room, No 16 was small, but had a great view. The lounges were great, with open fires, music and an honesty bar, which we enjoyed with another couple, on our 1st night. There is a new restaurant in basement, which we also tried, and is well worth a visit. All in all had a great time. Many thanks

Room Tip: " Rooms at the front have a sea view "
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

With a rare free weekend available to us, we decided to travel down to the coast with our dog and after doing a quick google search, we came across the Royal Harbour Hotel, who welcome dogs. There were a few hotels in the Broadstairs area to choose from, but I am so glad we chose this one! The hotel itself has a real quirky, boutique feel - we loved the way the rooms were all individually styled and furnished. We had a lovely relaxing evening spent in front of the crackling fire, listening to old records on the record player, helping ourselves to G&Ts at the honesty bar and playing crib (there are lots of games/books/magazines in the hotel), with our dog at our feet - it couldn't have been more idyllic! We ate at the hotel's brand new restaurant, The Empire Room. A lovely, cosy and elegantly styled restaurant in keeping with the house's Georgian history. The food was excellent. After dinner it was back to the drawing room (there are 3 to choose from each with their own open fire place) for complimentary cheese and biscuits! We were given a family room due to having a dog and it had everything we would want - clean, comfortable bed, good shower and strong wifi! Breakfast was served til late with a good choice, including cooked. The staff and service were excellent, very friendly and welcoming. We are so pleased that we chose this hotel and if we are ever in Ramsgate again, we will most definitely be back and we would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel has a great location on the seafront and the period building is warm and welcoming. The staff couldn't be more helpful and dealt efficiently with a couple of little issues with a smile. I started in room 29 at the top of the annex which is very small but with a great view of the harbour and then moved to room 25 which was bigger and really good. The double shower cabin with overhead power shower was GREAT. Absolutely loved the breakfast in a lovely room on a sunny day looking out to sea. Fresh fruit, cold buffet, anything cooked to order, a toaster that actually works and the BEST honey in a honeycomb that I have ever eaten! As with many period buildings, there is no lift! Jill was particularly helpful and I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: As mentioned, 29 in the annex is very small but with a great view and 25 doesn't have the sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptgrrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a lovely night here. Whilst we stayed in one of the tiniest rooms I have ever stayed in, they did very much warn us, and the decision was made because of price. It was still a very nicely decorated room and had a lovely view of the sea, and everything that we needed for just one night. Any longer may have been a bit uncomfortable! The service was very good, and breakfasts great. The living room, with fire and honesty bar was a nice area to spend time in before going out for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
4.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
#6 of 10 in Ramsgate
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing