We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, lovely staff but the room is too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The description of the Cabin rooms couldnt have been more honest.
So we expected a small room......the only downside was that it was far too warm.
Even with the window open all evening.
But the view is great fantastic and you are in a great location.

Room Tip: We had the Cabin SV room, at the top of the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1983shelley1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was the 4th time i have stayed at the Royal Harbour and once more i cannot fault. Hotel is great, a little quirky but stikes just the right balance to make you feel at home and special at the same time. The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gameshowhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Have just stayed the night and can't believe how lovely it is, can't fault anything, staff are fab, room was amazing(upgraded to Royal Oak Suite), service at dinner was the best I have had in a long while and food was great and accommodated my girlfriend's dietary requirements. It is just a perfect little seaside hotel that you want to keep secret. Come to The Royal Harbour Hotel with family or friends you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Small rooms are small but perfectly formed, sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robneary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

The team, the decor, the ambience - there are too many reasons why you have to call in for the warmest welcome in Thanet. The rooms are charming and full of character and every whim is catered for. This is a dream find - this is such a relaxed home-from-home. Go for it

Stayed: March 2014
Thank derekmarkspresenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Probably the best positioned hotel in Ramsgate. Views are terrific from the front overlooking the harbour. We upgraded to the Royal Harbour Suite which is beautifully furnished and with a double balcony. Even in late March the weather was clement enough to sit outside and soak up the morning sun.
Hotel staff were helpful and enthusiastic. The place is quirky in the nicest sense; you could spend a day just exploring the furnishings, decorations and oddities. The breakfast is first class. If we ever go back to Ramsgate I wouldn't consider anywhere else other than The Royal Harbour. Very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Room 4 - great views and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked here last minute for a getaway with a friend and my small dog... We booked for one night and stayed for 3 - I ABSOLUTELY loved this hotel and have no idea why it's 2 star - it should easily be 4*. The room (4 poster) was not huge - but was so comfortable with lovely balcony over looking the harbour.
We enjoyed the lounge areas in the evening, with a gin and tonic and open fire, my dog was so welcome and made staying even more enjoyable.
The breakfast was good and freshly made.
The only thing I didn't like were the shampoos and soap provided - the quality was poor & didn't match the fab quality of everything else provided.
I will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a balcony do
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Treated Mum and Dad to a short weekend break at the RHH for their 55th anniversary, we had stayed before for one night as a couple and thought "nice". It still was, we booked mum and dad into a suite with four poster, open fire and balcony, they loved it I must say. David and staff looked after all our needs, breakfast fantastic all you need from salmon to the big fry up, guess which I chose both mornings, yes both of them!
If a relaxing or romantic weekend away is what you desire or a week away with the family with nice, comfortable attentive surroundings then this is the place to be, not a cheap fun packed Butlin's adventure by any stretch of the imagination more class than that.
Main positive points, clean, friendly, quite, location (a few minutes walk into town and the Harbour) attentive and a bit more class than your usual larger hotel.
Thanks again David and team Mum and Dad loved the break.

Room Tip: If space is what you require then choose a suite if not all other rooms have enough room to be comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
328 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Burlington Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: £48 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing