We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming, comfortable, good view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming, comfortable, good view”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here overnight to visit a local company. Very friendly welcome. I was upgraded from single to double room with an excellent view across the harbour and out to sea. Best position in the town. Not a large room but good value for money. Bright greeting for breakfast, which was quickly but freshly cooked with the individual items I'd ordered. The artwork on the walls was as prolific as it was esoteric - much better than a boring hotel chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TASJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    277
    76
    33
    29
See reviews for
181
559
79
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It's hard to say this because the people who run this hotel are lovely and I can't fault the service in any way, but to be honest we really regret choosing to stay here.
The tiny room which we got for our £120 was ludicrously overpriced. It was hard for two people to move around in the small space left by the double bed which was jammed into what really should have been sold as a single room. The bathroom, while clean, was also micro.
Breakfast time was also a cramped and slightly chaotic experience - with mediocre food.
The common rooms/ living rooms are pleasant but they ( and the complementary supermarket bought cheese board in the evenings - don't compensate for the bottom line.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Excellent stay in a beautiful hotel. Our room was fresh, clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was well put together and the service was quick and efficient by the courteous staff. Only (small) possible improvements would have been the view of the yard at the back of the building, the amount of hanging space in the room and the 'slam' sound of nearby guest room doors early in the morning. Great stay, will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruskinvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Staff were uniformly charming, from David and the young lady on reception, to the night manager and David's brother at breakfast, all happily accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. Rooms are small but immaculate. Beds nice and comfortable.

Countless nice touches throughout: quirky, interesting decor, books at every turn. We came back from a wedding to a roaring fire with a range of vinyl LPs to enjoy over a night cap from the honesty bar. The night manager offered cheese and biscuits to cap it off.

Breakfast a treat with a range of interesting cheeses, cold meats, fresh fruit and pastries (fresh honeycomb an impressive addition) and an excellent full English. The people behind the Royal Harbour have certainly put plenty of thought into every aspect of its operation.

How small hotels should be run; a real find.

Room Tip: We had six rooms within the group and all were small but comfortable. Not suited to lazing around in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What makes this place really special is the attention to detail. My room was very comfortable with some original paintings and a bookshelf with a variety of books. Also, instead of the usual instant coffee my room had a proper coffee machine. It was a really pleasant room to be in far from the soulless "sameness" of the hotel chains.
The lounge has a great selection of books and some amazing works of art. The honesty bar is a lovely touch too.
The breakfast was simply divine. A great selection served in a nice room.
Location and view are simply outstanding. I had a top floor sea facing room and I could have sat for hours just looking out the window.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virtualcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Royal Harbour just after New Years this year, just for a night. As the hotel was quiet they gave us a better suite than expected, and so it was amazing considering the price. The room was gorgeous, and had a beautiful view of the harbour and a lovely bed, fireplace, coffee machine etc. It is in a perfect location, a few mins away from nice restaurants etc, and the breakfast was fantastic too, made to order and you can have whatever you like, just have to wait a little while.

The staff at the hotel were lovely - friendly and helpful.

Beautiful old hotel in a lovely harbour town, great for tourists to explore, and go for walks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

With great views over the harbour (as the name suggests), this hotel is in a great location. It's also very comfortable and immaculately clean. The manager was really welcoming and extremely helpful. We were on a house-hunting trip to the area, and he kindly took time to tell us about the area. The hotel's restaurant is also excellent, with interesting decor and delicious food. And if you're staying a few days and want to try other restaurants, there are several good options just a short walk away.
Highly recommended! We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
20.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing