We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great consideration for the visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great consideration for the visitor”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in the Oak Suite. This room has a splendid view over Ramsgate Harbour and a narrow balcony with two chairs and a table from which to enjoy the view of the boats going to and fro. The room has a four poster bed, a lounge area with comfortable sofa and armchair, large flat screen telly and a very good coffee making machine. In the modern well fitted bathroom there is a telly at the end of the bath! The walls throughout the hotel are decorated with excellent maps and pictures. There is a pleasant lounge with a well stocked honesty bar, books and magazines.
Breakfast is very much a feature of the hotel. The visitor can have continental with a wide range of excellent cheeses and ham, cereals, bread and so on. Or the full English is magnificent with quality bacon and sausages.
The staff are courteous and helpful. The room was made up in the morning and turned down at night very well.
Altogether an excellent hotel

Room Tip: Recommend the Oak Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    283
    77
    34
    30
See reviews for
187
567
82
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Lovely hotel with lovely staff.... comfiest beds I have ever come accross in a hotel :)
they have evening turn down which is really cute and the main hotel building has an oldy world feel.
The cleaners must eat weetabix.... my window was closed every night and i struggled to open it - admittedly i am not the strongest person in the world but you shouldnt need to be the HULK to open the window -that was a bit frustrating especially since is was baking hot outside!

Overall it is Home away from Home - LOVELY :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZedDogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On arrival difficult to park at first, there is free parking at the front of the hotel, spaces do come available frequently. We opted to pay extra to use the hotel parking facility at the rear. Make sure you book this before you travel. Check in was good, was shown to our room very quickly without any fuss. The room was not the biggest but very clean and tidy. The shower facilities was very good with plenty of hot water. The restaurant menu seemed pleasant, we decided to eat out as there is a wide range of places to eat locally. Bed was very comfortable had a good night sleep with no noise. Breakfast was excellent with both centennial and English on offer. If I to go back to Ramsgate would use this hotel again. Many thanks for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony room over the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We loved this hotel so much we didn't want to leave and actually did stay another night! The staff were so accommodating and friendly with the overall experience of staying in someone's home. The decor is certainly quirky with plenty of intriguing objects de art scattered throughout, and very comfortable.
The breakfast is excellent and plentiful, and the dining experience at 'The Empire Room' is highly recommended.
We stayed in the room behind the Reception Desk and next to the back door which at times was a little noisy, but the advantage was not having to climb any stairs to our room, and the room itself was big enough for all our luggage.
We are frequent travellers from NZ which have never been to the Kent area before, but this gem of a hotel will definitely lure us back to this area again.

Room Tip: The cabin rooms are very small, so don't take a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raysue25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great hotel in Ramsgate. The hotel halls could do with a lick of paint but the rooms are very clean and look like they have been recently refurbished.great (they are on the smallish side). The lounge is full of character and has great views of the sea. There is also a small but lovely sun trap at the back. The restaurant Empire attached to the hotel was a great surprise. You walk down a few steps and walk into this amazing dining room. Great food and amazing decor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillesmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A charming hotel, paid £160 for two nights in June with breakfast. The hotel is beautifully decorated, the rooms at the front have excellent views. Our room was small, but it clearly states that in the hotel description and is reflected in the price. The room was perfectly formed, with great touches like plenty of herbal teas, fresh coffee, biscuits. Complimentary cheese and biscuits was offered in the evening and they run an honesty bar in the stylish lounge with quirky, interesting art work and ornaments. Loved it. Breakfast was good, cooked to order. Staff were friendly and helpful, nicely chilled Prosecco waiting in our room, as requested. We are also a gay female couple, no eyebrows were raised. Would highly recommend :-)

Room Tip: Top rooms are on 4th floor, so ensure you have no mobility issues if booking one of these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My son and I Arrived at hotel 8.00 waited 10 mins at the reception no one to be seen.eventually shown to an extremely small supposedly double room with a 1foot space round the bed no wardrobe just a 6inch space .i caught my rib twice on the brass bed post.the shower had a mind of its own from cold to scorching with no real power behind it.the view was the only upside.when I did mention to the up his own self important manager how small the room was he said we've got smaller rooms than that! He said he could move us the next day and it would cost 25.00 wot a joke!breakfast looks a great spread but the cooked breakfast is cheap sausages and bacon pre cooked burnt and rubbery.the manager has no management skills and smiles too much at inappropriate times if you know wot I mean?its a quirky place but let down by the management.shame
}

Room Tip: If you need to stay here ask for a balcony room at the front with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Zara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
461 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
1.9 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing