We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“what a find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary by visiting my cousin's restaurant (Wyatt & Jones in Broadstairs) with our two daughters and their boyfriends. We couldn't get accommodation in Broadstairs so looked at Ramsgate, and we were really glad we did. The Royal Harbour is a quirky little hotel with views of the harbour to die for, very friendly staff (particularly Hannah and Gareth) and a great Sunday morning English breakfast..a real find!

Room Tip: the rooms we had weren't huge, but there seemed to be bigger available, so check when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven3757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    277
    75
    33
    28
See reviews for
179
556
79
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our 3night stay at The Royal Harbour was really enjoyable .unfortunately we did not get a room with harbour view but room was very cosy and had everything we required. The service was excellent and David, the manager & staff were very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was very good with a great selection to choose from including a full English breakfast. The bus service into Broadstairs is every 8 minutes. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treasha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is maintained to a high standard, has great views and excellent service. I would suggest the hotel is best suited to a romantic weekend rather than a business trip. Ramsgate was also a pleasant surprise being far better than the average seaside town. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

This is a character hotel but if you want lifts, fancy bars and aircon then it's not for you.

Room Tip: While the sea facing rooms have a briliant view there is quite a bit of noise if you have to open th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just back from a really lovely stay at the Royal Harbour Hotel in Ramsgate. The staff were so friendly and helpful too. We were in the new building in a lovely room on the top floor with a great view of the harbour. Our room was very small but so cosy and comfortable with everything that you could need (apart from perhaps a mirror for us ladies in the bedroom!). The bed was the comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in and they do a great turn down service so you feel very looked after. Wouldn't hesitate given the chance to stay there again. Didn't get the chance to try the Empire restaurant but based on the yummy breakfast I'm sure the food would be delicious! Would recommend it wholeheartedly and defy anyone to say they didn't like it!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Everyone-even locals- describe this place as "quirky"--it certainly is full of character.Old wooden floorboards,rugs and tons of books and artwork on a nautical theme.Also it is well located overlooking the harbour and marina.There is on- street parking and we were fortunate to find a space.The front rooms enjoy good views and at first floor level there are small balconies.The problem is the size of these rooms which are cramped.They are really best suited for single occupancy.Anyone wishing to apply make up will feel the lack of any dressing table.Two people cannot pass easily in the space available and hanging space is severely limited.The ensuite loo and shower are the tiniest I have ever seen.In spite of the flat screen TV and espresso maker.I wonder if the price charged on a square foot basis makes it among the costliest hotels in this country.The part buffet breakfast was sound and there is an honour bar in the lounge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russelmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Delightful quirky hotel well worth a visit if heading to the area. Not only do you get a wonderful couple of lounges complete with books to read and records to play - but you also get a wonderful view (from at least some of the rooms) of the harbour. The downside to being at the front of this fine Georgian building is that you also get the noise from quite a busy road ... but the view more than makes up for this.
My room was up on the top floor - a single with a view. Quite small but spotlessly clean and complete with all that you'd want. They even turn the bed down for you each evening!
Breakfast was excellent and there is a restaurant down in the basement though I never got around to trying this. And to cap it all you even get cheese and biscuits for supper!
Looking forward to a return visit - and may possibly push the boat out for one of the tempting suites.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view can be a little noisy ... but what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wordsmith1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back from a weekend at Royal Harbour Hotel in Ramsgate. What a brilliant hotel. We arrived to a room upgrade, beautiful and huge room. Atmosphere - very relaxed. Bed was really comfortable, shower amazing and the view great. Breakfast was delicious as was the evening meal we had in the Empire room. Would be back next weekend if I could.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a large suite, if you can afford it - do it, SO gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
20.7 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing