We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I came down for the weekend to visit my Granddaughter who is studying nearby.
The single room was bright & fresh the view was breathtaking. Staff very helpful taking my case up & down as i was on the 3rd floor & i use a stick. Breakfast choice very good.
The whole atmosphere is welcoming & tastefully furnished. Would certainly come again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a sea & harbour view - brilliant i could sit & look out all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 132Valerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    271
    75
    32
    27
See reviews for
173
544
77
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The decor is very fashionable but the rooms are small. There wasn't a cupboard to keep our things in or space for towels in the bathroom. It's as if nice finishing touches are used to cover a lack of basic necessities. Late check in and early check out. Breakfast is crowded and service not perfect and somehow hurried. Not sure I'd like to go again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EttyBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our room was excellent with a modern 4 poster bed. The staff were delightful and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location, has a good character and good plumbing. The Empire Restaurant was a real find.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 149Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lympne, Hythe, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Pre-booked a weekend stay with an easy access room which went slightly askew but the hotel manager went the extra mile to sort it out and compensate resulting in a great stay at the Royal Harbour. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean, comfortable and well provided with little extras. We had a superb evening meal at the Hotel's Empire restuarant followed by a 'legendary' breakfast the next morning which provided for even the fussiest tastes.
Well done Royal Harbour, well worth the money and a revisit!

Room Tip: If you can manage stairs ask for the adjacent building to the reception as it has been recently mode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our stay was absolutely lovely. We had a fantastic view, the room, especially the bed was lovely and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, the courtesy bar was a very nice touch and the breakfast was admirable as was Nelson's Crescent! We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Ramsgate which is a very interesting and pleasant town.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenTrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

many thanks to you all for making our short stay very enjoyable. from the views across the harbour to the tv in the bathroom, just great.

A special thanks to Dave

this is how a small hotel should be, clean friendly and good service

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markdurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is in 2 lovely old buildings that are a few doors apart. Breakfast, check in, honesty Bar, in fact everything is in the main building except 8 rooms which are in the second recently refurbished one. Which is lovely when the weather is beautiful, but I wouldn't be too impressed to have to go out in the pouring rain, cold or snow to get my breakfast. There are also only 7 breakfast tables for a 31 bedroom hotel (most of which seat 2 people). On Sunday several people (including ourselves) had to wait for a table. Our room was called a Junior Suite and cost £295 for 2 nights - it was a nice room but certainly not a junior suite and certainly did not warrant this price tag. There was no phone in the room, or any guest information so if you had a problem or simply had forgotten what time breakfast was you had to go trudging to the main building, which is more of an effort when you are on the second floor! There's also a lot of road/traffic noise, which isnt helped by single glazed windows. I agree with keeping original windows but you can still have them double glazed these days.

We know Ramsgate extremely well and have stayed in several other hotels, holiday lets and this is the only one we feel was overpriced.

Overall it was pleasant and we had fantastic views from the room of the pretty marina but I doubt we will return, we would probably rather stay in the nearby Travel lodge - at least you know exactly what you're paying for there.

Room Tip: Main hotel is more convenient. Ask for a room at the back if you want peace from road noise, but a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing