We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2009

The hotel is lovely, rooms are nice with a nice harbour- and seaside view. Nice people.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2009

..and nice guests! Kind regards James Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

3 for the price of two but could only stay 2. Worst room we have ever been given. Didn't bother complaining as we felt any hotel that would insult a guest with such an appalling "space" called a bedroom really didn't care that much about their guests anyway..! Is any room with a bed called a "Bedroom"..? It was SO bad we did have a laugh and every room will be judged against that one. Being 1 in a scale of 1 to 10.You could sit on the toilet brush your teeth and shower at the same time the bathroom was so small.I could even touch both walls of the "Bedroom" at the same time.It would give Fawlty Towers a bad name.. The breakfast was lovely but then i could get a good fry up in any cafe..

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peaches1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2009

Oh well...yes some of our rooms are small...no skeletons in our cupboard! Kind regards James Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We have been to this hotel numerous times and loved it every one - all the rooms are beautifully decorated, but if you can get one, ask for a front room with sea views - we've never been lucky enough to get one, and though I imagine they might be slightly noisier than the back which is very quiet, it'd be worth it for the sea views and balconies!

The owner and staff are incredibly nice, and breakfast is huge, frshly cooked and absolutely delicious!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phone-pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2009

How kind of you to write such a sweet piece..thank you. Kind regards James Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Wonderful food and service. The ambience excellent. Steep stairs to many bedrooms but well worth the climb. Parking could be problematic but we used the multi-storey 5 mins away and for £1.10 overnight we were very happy to have a secure and brightly lit facility. Super packed breakfast when we left very early on our final morning. Honesty bar and complimentary cheese board in the evenings examples of many little touches which make The Royal Harbour Hotel top of our list.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robroygbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2009

Ooohh..how we love 'little touches'!! Kind regards James Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This little hotel (30 or so rooms) gives over the ground floor to a guests' restaurant, lounge and snug - all of which are welcoming and comfortable. At 7:30pm the friendly staff put out cheeses and pates in the restaurant to enjoy at leisure with a drink from the honesty bar. The lounge area is comfortable and there is a recordplayer (or CD player) and a vast selection of music from the 70s, 80s and 90s - along with board games and books. Perfect at the end of a hard day's walking. I nearly forget......the rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The breakfast too is everything you could want!! Go there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clara.coxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

I am still amazed and delighted that the small details about the hotel are noticed...thank you. Kind regards James Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Without doubt the best B&B ever. Genuinely shabby chic with wonderful paintings and furnishings collected and put together beautifully. Very relaxed and welcoming, cute garden and room with a fabulous view. The attention to detail was excellent, from late night snacks left, brilliant breakfast and a high thread count on the bedlinen! We felt very lucky to have stumbled across the Royal Harbour Hotel and can't recommend it highly enough. Charming and elegant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVG070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

Phew...it surely must be 'delighted from Tunbridge Wells' ..how sweet of you to write such an elegant piece. Come back soon. Kind regards James Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

A real gem, non corporate, interesting quirky small hotel with a view to die for, Ramsgate is handy for ferries to Ostende, shortly for Bolougne and the Channel Tunnel. The hotel has nearby restaurants also with great views.
Breakfast showed imagination and great attention to detail and -- was scrummy, public rooms downstairs and our room 4 were immaculate, provided with TV, videos. dvds and radio in the bathroom, and best of all an open working fireplace . We shall return.
Just one small thing , take the wrappers off the complimentary cheese guys, we dont want to see you bought the cheddar at the local lo cost supermarket and a clear cheese cover costs nothing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jilly157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mash07, Owner at Royal Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

Scrummy..! What a great word..and so perfect! Interesting point re the cheeses...the so called 'low cost' supermarkets have such good value nowadays..parrotting our favourite..don't change your style, just your supermarket! But thank you for your comments..please come back soon! Kind regards James Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
509 reviews
4.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: £57 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing