We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and good value small hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My partner and I stayed on New Years Day and were delighted with the hotel and staff.
Yes, the bedroom/bathroom is small, but it doesn't claim to be a Best Western or Premiere Inn! Friendly, welcoming and informal. Loved the quirkiness of the decor and the honesty bar was lovely touch. Central to amenities and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    282
    76
    33
    29
See reviews for
185
563
79
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We were very much looking forward to going to the south east side that we brought our parents with us from Italy. We were not helped with the luggage and were instructed to climb up very many narrow staircases. The toilet had a really bad smell and the receptionist didn't offer to do anything about it. We complained and it took a family member to fix it! We were not introduced to every part - althought it is a very small hotel!

Felt lost at breakfast and were not given a menu or informed about my options, just asked very loudly about what I wanted cooked!

Very unfriendly staff who are not prepared to move from their desk to do anything!

There is NOTHING in the village, less than a mile stretch of a beautiful riviera and that's it! so pricing is VERY UNREALISTIC!

In all fairness, we enjoyed the fireplaces that were kept going only at night by the gentleman who seemed like he was the owner. We enjoyed the antiques and board games and the 1970'2 disc player in the tiny front room. If you must go, I recommend you to ask for room 4 only! it is the room on the promotion! But don't be misled!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmayahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I stayed at The Royal Harbour hotel last weekend (Saturday 11th Dec) and had a lovely time. I had booked the suite room for my partner and I and the room was amazing and the views were just spectacular. The staff were very informative and extremely friendly as soon as you arrive and that continues until you have checked out! The cheese and biscuits in the evening was defiantly the cherry on the cake! We thoroughly enjoyed ours and were allowed to eat it in the comfort of our bedroom, otherwise we could of stayed in the lovely front room by the open fire. I cannot fault one thing about this hotel and would defiantly recommend to anyone because you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxxxxLauraxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Royal Harbour as we were attending a wedding close by. We were also celebrating our wedding anniversary. The Hotel is absolutely gorgeous and has some really personal touches. Our Room (number 15) was pleasantly decorated with a wonderful door opening onto a small balcony with a view of the sea/harbour. The breakfast was wonderful with a fresh buffet and cooked breakfast. Staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming. There were also a number of rooms where you can relax and read books in front of an open fire. We definitely plan to return at some point as we both thoroughly fell in love with the place!!

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paul_antoniou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We chose this hotel based on the reviews read on Trip Advisor and were delighted to find it lived up to our expectations. On arrival we were met by an extremely friendly and professional receptionist who made us feel very welcome and this attitude continued during our 4 day stay.

The initial room offered was considered to be a little on the small size whereupon we were advised that others were still being cleaned( we arrived early in the morning) but were shown these alternatives and were allowed choose the one most suitable to our needs. Agian a great start to our stay ! If you are heading to Ramsgate this hotel is very much worh a visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Very warm welcome by Phillipe on reception and shown to my room.
The room has been recently decorated and the en-suite appeared to be new.
Well equipped room with multi-channel tv and tea/coffee facilities
A new innovation is the range of complimentary crackers and cheeses in the lounge in the evenings and a delicious fixed price cold meat platter with glass of wine/beer for those who dont want to go out !
The range of newspapers and magazines, in the lounge, would grace a 4star hotel !
The breakfasts are to die for ! Ham on the bone is top-notch as is the smoked salmon. Cooked breakfasts are cooked to order. A hotel not to miss !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1587763Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Excellent location with channel view. No restaurant but breakfast was superb; lots of fresh fruit and a choice of coffee blends in individual cfetieres. Cheese and biscuits in the eveneing was a bonus. Room basic but immaculate.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRWWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
304 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
4.3 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Property: Royal Harbour Hotel
Address: 10-11 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing