We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Harbour Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We last stayed here about 5 years ago and we have always held fond memories of the hotel. Well, I'm please to say that the hotel retains it's charm and character. The Royal Harbour is the sort of hotel in which you can immediately relax. Internet access is free via a fast wi-fi broadband connection AND the honesty bar is well stocked and the system works well. The roaring fires were very welcome on a cold February evening - along with the complimentary cheese and biscuits. Breakfast on Saturday morning was also excellent. Our room was a little draughty, overlooking the harbour with a strong south westerly wind, however, the heavy curtains soon addressed that! We'll certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drussel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for Royal Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

Oh where do i start!

We found this hotel a few weeks before our wedding in December on groupon(!) and booked it as we were on a budget and thought "oh well it won't be that bad" although i had never heard of it!

Well it snowed horribly and all the roads were blocked off by police on the night of the wedding so we never used it.

The hotel kindly let us rebook and we went for my birthday instead though.

Anyway we arrive just after 10pm, and walked into, what can only be described as a charming hotel, to be greeted by a helpful gentleman who showed us to our room and carried our luggage up the 3 flights of stairs.

When i booked the room i wasn't expecting a sea view room so it was lovely to see the sea from the bedroom window, the room was small but cosy and the books were interesting to read, the bed was really comfy and the bathroom was clean and tidy, everything you'd really expect, but the quality on the bed was much more than that.

Once settled into our room and spent half a hour looking out of the beautiful sash window onto the harbor, we decided to go down stairs for the complementary cheese board that was offered in the dinning room and we got comfy on the sofa and had a game of solitaire in the living room, which was decorated beautifully and with such character!

after having a nice sleep we came down stairs to be greeted by David! Oh David what can i say about this man! He was so entertaining and welcoming and really made you fill at home and had me in stitches! The hotel and David go so well together and you really do feel welcomed.

Breakfast was lovely, and the ham and honey was to die for, David really wasn't lieing when he said that!

oh i could go on and on about this hotel but i shalln't all i shall say is you really need to go this hotel and experience it yourself!

I have never been to a hotel like this!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PixieDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Hotel overlooks Ramsgate Harbour & stayed in a double room with balcony overlooking the harbour. Room was spotless & we had a coal fire in the room which was lit whenever we asked. Hotel so central we never had to use our car & there were some excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. One of the staff, David, recommended La Magnolia which was just a few minutes walk away & the food was excellent. All the staff were so helpful & friendly & the breakfasts which were freshly prepared were the best we have ever eaten. We shall return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraineblower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My partner and I came to stay for the night at the Royal Harbour and we loved it so so much, we felt the need to review it here.

From the lovely staff, to the open fire, honesty bar, record player, breakfast cooked to order, the long list of wonderful aspects of this hotel goes on. If I were ever to own a hotel, this is what I would model it on.

I think the next hotel we will stay in will have a lot to live up to. I am trying to think of any excuse to come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ant_eater31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We were warmly welcomed by David on arrival. The hotel is relaxing, informal with some nice touches such as open fires. We had a very pleasant stay. Excellent view of harbour from our room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridge32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

My partner and I stayed on New Years Day and were delighted with the hotel and staff.
Yes, the bedroom/bathroom is small, but it doesn't claim to be a Best Western or Premiere Inn! Friendly, welcoming and informal. Loved the quirkiness of the decor and the honesty bar was lovely touch. Central to amenities and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayDartford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We were very much looking forward to going to the south east side that we brought our parents with us from Italy. We were not helped with the luggage and were instructed to climb up very many narrow staircases. The toilet had a really bad smell and the receptionist didn't offer to do anything about it. We complained and it took a family member to fix it! We were not introduced to every part - althought it is a very small hotel!

Felt lost at breakfast and were not given a menu or informed about my options, just asked very loudly about what I wanted cooked!

Very unfriendly staff who are not prepared to move from their desk to do anything!

There is NOTHING in the village, less than a mile stretch of a beautiful riviera and that's it! so pricing is VERY UNREALISTIC!

In all fairness, we enjoyed the fireplaces that were kept going only at night by the gentleman who seemed like he was the owner. We enjoyed the antiques and board games and the 1970'2 disc player in the tiny front room. If you must go, I recommend you to ask for room 4 only! it is the room on the promotion! But don't be misled!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmayahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
1.1 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
503 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Harbour Hotel

Address: 10-11 and 14 Nelson Crescent, Ramsgate CT11 9JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: £66 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is made up of three Georgian Grade 2 listed townhouses, two of which are adjoining, that date back to 1799. They occupy the prime position in Ramsgate's best known historic garden crescent. Many of the bedrooms boast magnificent views over the 'Royal Harbour', the yacht marina and the English Channel. Some even have their own private south east facing balcony! 'The Empire Room' our 30 cover restaurant serves modern British food in a club setting. Open Mon-Sat 6.30pm to 9.30pm. Open on Sunday Bank and Public Holiday weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Harbour Ramsgate
Hotel Royal Harbour
Royal Harbour Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing