We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to spend the afternoon.”
Review of The Sportsman

The Sportsman
Ranked #82 of 197 Restaurants in Ramsgate
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely place to spend the afternoon.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we've been here and after today I believe this place deserves a review. The first time we went here was a birthday surprise meal, the food was excellent and the service was friendly, they also had some live music so the atmosphere was great too. After the meal everyone commented on how nice the food was and how friendly all the staff were.
Today we decided to stop for a Sunday roast and once again we were welcomed with friendly smiles and a crackling open fire. After ordering we waited 10 minuets before our first course came out, our waitress was friendly and served us very quickly. The choice of food was good, with all the roast meats you would expect, and with a choice of just having a main meal or 2 - 3 courses. The 3 courses came to £12.95 and is more than reasonable. Everything was presented very well and the whole afternoon was great.
The only thing that I think could of been better was the cosiness, it lacks a certain cosy feel, it was a little cold in there and although there was a little log fire, it wasn't warming up the other side of the pub.
All in all not feeling cosy is a small negative when you add up the positives, this is really a great place to eat and enjoy an afternoon or a good night out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrisp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with Service to Match, a Must not to be Missed!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Our Sunday meal today was excellent! which matched the service! We were warmly welcomed by the owners, both Teresa and Ronnie, and had lovely, service by the staff, Sharon, and Ellis,who we found helpful and friendly. It was nice to walk into a nice clean, Pub with a friendly atmosphere.(Teresa thank you for the extra gravy!) We are looking forward to our return, which won't be long!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait?”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We've eaten here a few times now and the food is good, well presented and offers pretty good value for money. The staff are helpful and friendly; the location and ambience is pleasant. Their tartare sauce is excellent. My only criticism would be that it takes too long for the meal to be served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lcsajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New owners create something special”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Brand new decor and energy welcome you at this hostelry situated on Pegwell Bay. Stunningly friendly owners, offering that unique warmth of hospitality that Emerald Isle Natives do so well. Smashing food and great evening entertainment regularly on offer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice pub.”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

While this wasn't the most amazing meal it was better than some local pubs in the area and better value too.
The pub itself was lively and had a nice feel to it. Very light and friendly with nice beer and helpful staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sportsman also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Sportsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing