We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Pegwell Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a lovely hotel and definitely value for money. Not only is the scenery from the bay beautiful, but the rooms are clean and pleasantly decorated. The service as well is fantastic, the staff are very pleasant and always on hand to help.

The Sir Stanley Grey pub that is affiliated with the hotel serves great food and has an outside porch area to watch the scenery.

It's about a £4 taxi from Ramsgate Station or to get into Ramsgate, but if you don't mind walking into the town, then you can just follow the harbour around to get into town and enjoy the sights.

Couldn't recommend this more for a weekend break or short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Pegwell Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

A fairly large hotel in a great location with views overlooking Pegwell Bay, just outside Ramsgate. There is plenty of parking and two good beer guide rated pubs just over the road. Breakfast was fine but not fantastic. The blinds in the room did not fit well so we were woken up by light coming through early in the morning. Room had a good shower room and adequate storage. Good welcome at Reception and very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the bay
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Firstly a huge Thank you to Kate for all your help.
How wonderful to be greeted by such a lovely receptionist.
Stayed in the Saxon Suite 'room 201'. Although not a large room, it had most fantastic sea views through all 3 windows, nicely decorated and plenty of tea and coffee etc.. It had a pleasant bathroom with great pressure from shower over the bath.
We ate and drank in the adjoining pub. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced plus all staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Excellent location and incredibly peaceful. Highly recommend and look forward to staying again soon.

Room Tip: If want sea view best room is 201 offering view from all 3 windows. 202 and 204 are slightly bigger...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrisonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed for a week and enjoyed the quiet, clean, and up-to-date rooms, The complimentary breakfast were wonderful - eggs cooked to your liking along with a variety of other goodies. Beautiful seaside setting with a couple of nice pubs across the street. Walking distance to downtown area and a nice nature trail. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Our first room had little ventilation because the window faced away from the sea. They cheerfully mo...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monarchlady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is right by the sea, an interesting old building but with modern amenities. We had a very good welcome from the staff. Our sea view room was spacious, well-furnished with a very comfortable bed and very good bathroom with excellent shower and nice toiletries. We didn't eat in the hotel but we did have evening meal at the pub across the road which is linked to the hotel.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst attending a family wedding and very much enjoyed my stay. A very good 3 star hotel which is doing lots of things right.

Positives

Location – in a very quiet and friendly seafront village but not far away from the tourist spots of this part of Kent. A great cliff walk start from outside the hotel to Pegwell Bay. Worth doing. There is also a great pub across the road, good food, beers etc.

The views from the various function rooms and bars are great, especially when outside on the vast decking area.

The staff – all very friendly and professional. Make you feel very welcome.

The food – lovely breakfasts and the food for the wedding was very good indeed.

Excellent value for money – I paid £122 for two nights B&B for two persons. Was given a discount for the first night due to attending the wedding.

The décor – smart and relaxing. Lots of old pictures of old Ramsgate and the village.

The bedroom was fine, clean, very quiet, comfortable bed and great shower. Perhaps a little on the small side but nothing to put you off staying.

Negatives – none that I can think off for a family run 3 star hotel.

I would be very happy to stay here again and hope to do so at some point in the future. Keep the good work up!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for such positive feedback. We are really happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We do have several pictures around the hotel of Pegwell Village, Ramsgate Harbour & The Hotel to give our guests a taste of the local history.

Making our guests feel welcome is something we love to specialise in. We are glad you felt this way, & we hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Hotel Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the Superior Suite the Jubilee week-end.,
On arriving the staff on reception were so helpful and friendly. We were told we had the best room, the views over the sea were amazing.
The room wasnt massive but had everything we needed and the bed was so comfortable.
We had sunday lunch in the pub accross the road which we entered via the tunnel from the hotel, our meal was lovely and the service was also very good.
I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The superior suite has the best views
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Misstrela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
1.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,095 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
1.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
318 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
4.5 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegwell Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegwell Bay Hotel

Address: 81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: £86 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegwell Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pegwell Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegwell Bay Ramsgate
Pegwell Bay Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing