We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back To Comforts”
Review of Pegwell Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Back To Comforts”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

After 4 nights in a disappointing hotel on the Isle of Wight, the Pegwell Bay Hotel was luxury.
Easy to find,lovely looking from the outside with a large carpark. Friendly and helpful receptionist.
Large clean and pretty new looking room, with a wonderful bathroom/shower. We had a nice comfortable quiet sleep.To get to the breakfast area it is down a well lit tunnel under the road.
The dinning area has a beautiful view of Pegwell Bay, the breakfast was not incudled in our booking, was lovely and a reasonable price. About a 20 minute walk from Ramsgate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    161
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
97
208
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 nightp...and what a delight...tea/coffee making facilities, lovely big screen tv, superb bathroom with bath and shower and large fluffy towels..breakfast was good...overall a perfect place to stay with magnificent views 10/10.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I booked into this hotel for a 6 night break, as it is well located for visiting many places of interest. Also it avoids the need to drive through a town at busy times of the day.
The room was exactly as described with everything that we wanted, such as tea and coffe making facilities, en-suite bathroom with shower, television, telephone and free wi-fi.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. If you elect to have a cooked breakfast, this is cooked to order and arrives at your table piping hot. This is well worth the extra charge.
Finally for evening meals there is the pub over the road, The Sir Stanley Gray, which is actually part of the hotel. The food in here is superb with generous portions, and very good value for money.
We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waddesdon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

I was booked into this hotel for one night whilst away on business and what a nice surprise.

The building is a pretty amazing slice of, I guess, Victoriana - recently and comprehensively modernised but retaining the features of another age. Warm, quiet rooms, a great powerful shower, tea and coffee, large tv, a fan etc etc. And you get a beautiful view right over Pegwell Bay.

Breakfast was freshly and speedily cooked and served with politeness and a smile.

And the price? Well you can see it here on the site. I have payed much much more for a miserable night in a Travelodge!

So if you find yourself looking for a room on the Isle of Thanet, try this little gem!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gentbrugge, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Pegwell Bay Hotel brings back memories of childhood, when it was still called "Hovertel International" in the 70's and 80's! I have dear souvenirs of that hotel of its location and friendly staff. Last week we stayed again at the Pegwell Bay and it was no desilussion. It still have its wonderful location of course, next to the sea, the Bay and its charmings surroundings (it's nice to wake up with a birds song or seagulls in the evening) and the staff is very friendly (especially the girl on 1st day @ Reception, Louise: charming girl. The hotel is very well kept and the rooms are very clean and large enough. There is enough choice of tea/choco/coffee making facilities and the bathroom is very bright, modern (not too) and an "walk-in shower", which works very easy. The sea view from the room makes you want to stay longer. The TV works well, digital programs, only the remote of TV itself doesn't always work properly but can be easily arranged. The corridors are quiet and very clean. The breakfast is served in a sort of "Titanic-style" 1st Class Dinner room in the basement. The Full English BF is of high standard and staff is friendly and well kept. For music, during breakfast, you'd have to be sort of a Michael Bublé-fan. The only downside is that the difference in room-price between 'a room with a view' and one with little, is too big and the price-categories are not clear and not mentionned in a folder or website. But in all, I certainly will book again !You can hardly be dissapointed

Room Tip: Some hotel rooms have crammy views. If you want a sea view you must ask for it when you make your re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Pegwell in July 2013. Charming little hotel overlooking sea. Very helpful staff and perfect time had while here .We had an extremely hot room on first night and out request for a change was absolutely no trouble
Lovely views from the restaurant. It's about 20 minutes walk from Ramsgate centre and all the lovely restaurants at the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyamy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We came for a wedding, booking the Friday and Saturday night's. We enjoyed it so much that we also booked the Sunday night.

The quality of the staff make this stand out from the crowd. Nothing was too much for them, and their friendliness whilst having to deal with the pressure of a busy wedding, and also a normal Saturday night, was outstanding.

This is not a new built hotel and is a work in progress to upgrade a quirky building. The fact that you have to go downstairs to the restaurant, which includes going under the road, and then upstairs to the bar, adds to its charm( although you could just go out of the front door, cross the road and into the bar instead!).

The hotel is on the extreme outskirts of Ramsgate, but there is a wonderful walk along the cliffs into the town. The fact that you cannot go into the sea from the hotel is made up for by the quiet area it is located.

When I need a Hotel in this area again, this will be top of my list.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
1.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,085 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
1.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
314 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
4.5 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegwell Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegwell Bay Hotel

Property: Pegwell Bay Hotel
Address: 81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegwell Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pegwell Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegwell Bay Ramsgate
Pegwell Bay Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing