We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy but Super!”
Review of Pegwell Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed on Valentines, which was an exceptionally windy evening, easy to find, lots of parking, staff came to the door to welcome us (possibly because we were so windswept!) Staff very welcoming & efficient, room lovely & clean, nice size room, comfortable bed, very nice bathroom with the most powerful shower ever. Breakfast very tasty with quick & pleasant service.
We ate in Stanley Grey in the evening, superb food, great portions, friendly & efficient service, great atmosphere and good price would highly recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. My team and I are really pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the very windy conditions!
Alan Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed for two nights mid-week on business, although the rooms were quite small they were well decorated, clean and comfortable with suitable facilities e.g. desk, wi-fi etc. Breakfast was lovely with a nice choice and the evening meals I had were in the bar area. The meals were all of good quality with a reasonable choice. The staff at reception were welcoming and helpful. The area was quiet with nice views across the bay, adequate free on site parking available. The hotel is only a short distance outside of Ramsgate if you need other facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

I was pleased to learn from your review that you found everything to your satisfaction whilst staying with us on business. My team and I strive hard to ensure that our business guests feel that we offer a "home from home"
thank you for conveying your findings.
Alan Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights while attending a wedding, staff were welcoming and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had a room on the third floor, which had lovely views over the bay. Our room was very clean, modern, and quite spacious, with comfy beds. Breakfasts were lovely, and plentiful, especially the Gammon ham and Poached egg. again waiting staff were very polite and very helpful. We ate in the hotels adjoining pub, the Sir Stanley Grey and found the food to be very good, although i didnt think the same of the wedding reception food, and found that some, had almost finished their meal before some of us had even got ours, but couldnt fault the evening buffet reception food, lovely with plenty of seafood. Ideal location for a Wedding with beautiful views over the sea, and we were lucky enough to have an exceptional beautiful sunny day. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trinaanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. I was concerned to read your feedback on the food/service at the Wedding Breakfast - this has been discussed with the team members concerned in order to ensure better service for future guests. Thank you for the very positive comments on the rest of your experience here. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Alan Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed for a 2 day weekend break at the end of January.
We had a spacious and well equipped room on a corner of the building with fantastic bay views (room 201). We ate in the Sir Stanley Grey which is owned by the hotel and also in the Belle Vue Tavern just up the road. Both are pleasant, but we preferred the Belle Vue as we thought it was better food and was more light and airy. It also has a great terrace for the summer.

It was certainly good to have 2 drinking and dining choices so close by in such a quiet spot.

Strolling into Ramsgate takes about 1/2 hour and into Broadstairs 1 1/4 hours and it's mainly flat. A cab back from Ramsgate town centre is £3.70 so it's worth walking into town for a drink and getting a ride back.

Room Tip: 201 is on a corner so has great views on 2 aspects
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your time in writing a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you found the hotel to your liking and enjoyed the fantastic views from your room. You may be interested to learn that we will be building a balcony, accessed from the main bar, so that guests may enjoy food, drink and the ever-changing scene outside. I sincerely hope that you will honour us with a future visit.
Alan Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend treat at this hotel. The room was extremely comfortable with all amenities, the breakfast was well cooked and delicious. We had two freshly cooked evening meals at the adjoining pub, accessed through a tunnel which was much appreciated due to the inclement weather. The hotel staff were very professional and knowledgeable. We look forward to returning.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and, yes, the tunnel linking both parts of the building really comes into its own during periods of bad weather! Thanks for taking the time to write a review - the feed-back is really appreciated.
Alan Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My daughter and I were treated to a night at this hotel by my husband. Have not spent much time in Pegwell Bay so wasn't sure what to expect. On the way to the hotel you go down a road which you are not quite sure about. At the end it opens up to a large hotel in front of you, opposite the sea. The hotel was lovely, very well maintained and the room we had was very clean, cosy and very comfortable. There was a restaurant open until 9.30pm and a pub across the road which you could access through a tunnel in the hotel. Breakfast was lovely and the manager came round to everyone to check if everything was ok. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Don't think there is much in the area, but Ramsgate, Broadstairs are not very far away. Great for a weekend break and very reasonable. The staff were very nice as well.

Room Tip: A sea view room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to your next visit.
Alan Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just went in for a couple of coffees and to use Wifi and was so pleasantly surprised to receive such excellent help and professional, friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble and this has encouraged me to return for a meal or to stay.

Many thanks to Katie for a job very well done!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edumerity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

It was great to read your very positive review. It is most important to us that all our guests enjoy their experience wit us.
Thank you on behalf of the Pegwell Team
Alan Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
1.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
322 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegwell Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegwell Bay Hotel

Address: 81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: £90 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegwell Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pegwell Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegwell Bay Ramsgate
Pegwell Bay Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing