We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 day break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pegwell Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 day break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had a lovely stay great location and all staff are excellent nothing is to much for them. Stayed twice before and look forword to staying again. Alan and Sue who are in charge really make you feel welcome for the minute that you arrive until you are going home a great couple.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Your comments are really appreciated.
Alan Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    146
    32
    7
    3
See reviews for
78
193
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Great views, lovely place, fantastic service. Close to Broadstairs, Sandwich and Deal which means fantastic towns and close to many great golf courses.

Next to the hotel is one of the finest pubs: Belle Vue Tavern. Kind people behind the bar, and the owner knows how to make guests feel at home.

All quality for money. Can't ask for more. Simply a great place to be around for a couple days.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ErwinMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your visit here and the surrounding area. I am pleased to report that we are hosting an increasing number of golfing parties.
Looking forward to your next visit
Alan Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely spot on the cliff with great views and easy walk (about 15 mins to centre of Ramsgate). Hotel was clean, comfortable etc and all staff really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and pub adjoining the hotel had good food and very friendly staff there also. Well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

It's a strange old place, that's for sure. An old miner's convalescent hospital with a tunnel under the road leading to a pub with spectacular sea views should make this a real character hotel, but instead it seems resigned to middle of the road wedding parties and 'functions'. The two tone green and ornate signage favoured by the Thorley Taverns group feels neither retro nor old - just old fashioned. And what's with a brown patterned carpet in 2014? This hotel is in desperate need of a facelift - just paint the outside cream and put oatmeal carpet inside and you'll probably get an extra star.

Having said all that, the room was fine, the bed comfy, the shower amazing (I want one like that at home) the breakfast scrumptious (and served by a really nice lady) and the views great. That balcony by the dining room is to die for, especially on an unseasonably sunny morning like today.

The hotel is attached to a pub but we went across the road and it was one of those 'Oh heck, how do we get out without looking rude' moments. A bunch of blokes and a pool table is not ideal when you have a 5 year old. Maybe if we'd gone via the tunnel there was a different dining room for guests, but no one told us. Instead we went to the Bellevue next door which was in a different league.

This morning I was left standing for 5 minutes (doesn't sound long, but count it) while a receptionist stared at a screen without acknowledging me. A simple "I won't be long" wouldn't have hurt.

Pegwell Bay is in that awkward slot where it has more character than a Premier Inn but not as much luxury as a country house hotel. £100 a room feels a lot for what we got and this hotel needs to work hard to justify such a high room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here this weekend as we had a dinner and dance at the Sir Stanley Grey on the Saturday evening.

The food and service was very good both in the pub and the hotel itself,

Rooms were small but clean and had everything you needed. Beds were comfortable.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful, hot and had a good menu to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Easy to find, good parking, and given a warm welcome. Was a guest speaker for local group who were meeting. Food good, breakfast service helpful, but bizarrely provided my requested POT of hot water in a jug!

Very helpful receptionist fixed failing TV!

Room Tip: check out the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanandRuth0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night just for one night, booked in the middle of the week knowing that the weather forecast was good for the weekend! Very friendly staff, clean and tidy room with a lovely big shower. Nice view from the room over looking the bay. Pub attached to the hotel via a' tunnel' which is quite quirky. Staff in the pub also very friendly and good service. We only had a sharer Charcuterie board as we had eaten previously, but the food being served around us looked lovely. Would recommend and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PegwellBayHotel, General Manager at Pegwell Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
It was great to read your review and to learn that your last minute booking proved to be enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for taking the time to post the review.
Alan Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
1.1 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.3 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#7 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
20.0 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#1 of 10 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pegwell Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pegwell Bay Hotel

Property: Pegwell Bay Hotel
Address: 81 Pegwell Road, Ramsgate CT11 0NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pegwell Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pegwell Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pegwell Bay Ramsgate
Pegwell Bay Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing