We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cant wait ti go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cant wait ti go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, wonderful breakfast and helpful staff and great value for money. Ps the Pimms is outstanding. PPS check out the Atlantis Restaurant, fabulous food we recommend the sea food platter.

Mr & Mrs D Wilson
Sittingbourne, Kent

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstaidroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you Mr & Mrs Wilson for your review above. The Atlantis team are delighted you found the food fabulous & hope next time you are visiting, you come back to try the exciting new menu.

Regards

The Oak Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    46
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
19
65
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We decided to book a hotel last minute for the following evening with our 18 month old daughter. We came across the Oak Hotel and it looked perfect right on the harbour. When we arrived the receptionist was extremely friendly and professional and explained everything to us. I was a little disappointed that there was no lift as we had a buggie and lots to go with it. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. Every member of staff that we came across on our brief visit was lovely and helpful. We had breakfast the next morning and again superb staff and a very nice breakfast. We will be returning again to this very well run hotel.

Room Tip: request the back of the hotel for sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaeljones73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate all comments made to the hotel and find it very pleasing to know you enjoyed your stay and plan to return.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The Oak Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Friendly staff, nice and clean. We had soooo many stairs to climb it was unbelievable and we got lost on the way to the room!

We only stayed one night and didnt crawl in until around 4:30am! We were at the back of the hotel with a horrible view but it was quiet.

Room Tip: Peace = no view. View = no peace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevLeFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Front Office Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your comment above. We are pleased that you found all staff friendly. We are very fortunate to have a good location, but due the location we also encounter noise in the late evenings. We do inform all guests at the time of booking over the phone, that sea views and standards can be affected.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This hotel is fairly typical of a tired English seaside hotel. The location is good in that it is directly opposite the harbour, but the road is lined with bars and restaurants, and certainly on the warm Saturday night we were there, they were crowded and open until 4.30 in the morning.

If you must stay here pay extra to get one of the rooms without a view at the back or you'll get no sleep. The rooms are small with standard double beds and cramped bathrooms with the usual mould around the bath. The hotel is not suitable for those who cannot walk well - there are a lot of stairs.

Breakfast was average, a small selection of cereals and juice. The cooked breakfast was not especially generous - one Radner of bacon, a sausage, half tomato, one egg and one slice of toast.

Overall the hotel is very average. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Front Office Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback above. I have since spoke to the head chef of our kitchen who is looking into your breakfast comment, all full English’s should be served with, one piece of bacon, one sausage, an egg, half tomato, beans, mushrooms and toast. That is our standard breakfast. Guests are more than welcome to add extras to the breakfast being reasonable & items on the menu.

With regards to the mould around the bath, I would very much appreciate if you could contact me direct at the hotel to confirm what room type you stayed in. We have had a look at the bathrooms and can agree some rooms do require some attention with silicone that consequently we are dealing with.

Once again thank you for your feedback, without this we would not be able to continue to improve our standards.

Kindest Regards

Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Stayed here for two weeks in March on a business trip. The receptionist was really really nice! Breakfast is good too! I did not stay here for the weekend as I went to London so did not experience the loud weekend night life I've heard off. I would definitely stay here again. With a little more TLC this woull be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msichana_mkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2011
Thank you for you kind feedback. We are delighted you had a pleasurable stay with us for your two week stay here in the UK.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Stayed in this hotel regularly. Staff are great, very polite and friendly. Really good value and location. It can be a bit noisy at night but that's just due to the lively location. Not a problem for me at all.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GroupCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

Bearing in mind I have lived next door to a nightclub for twenty five years in central London, which is opposite Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, complete with screaming sirens from ambulances, police cars and fire engines at all hours of the day and night AND on one of London's busiest roads (Fulham Road). So for me to complain somewhere is ridiculously noisy really must give you some idea of how appalling this place is! The room was clean, very small but okay for one night (thank god!) but NEVER AGAIN, more like a nightclub with rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KikLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
7.6 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Property: The Oak Hotel
Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing