We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A good place to rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stay regularly here for work, and find the staff friendly and efficient. It is a labyrinth of rooms, all quite different from each other, but all immaculately clean.

Yes a room on the front can be a bit noisy, but certainly doesnt stop me from sleeping. Its opposite the harbour, lovely views, places to eat and drink nearby.

Breakfast is plentiful, hot, and served in the bar - very relaxing.

Parking has not been a problem for me - ever. Some say they had problems getting a spot close to the hotel but it never happened to me.

No complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on here. We are always pleased to see customers return on a regular basis. We pride in good customer service and are delighted the staffs have achieved this on each visit to the hotel.

When Thorley Taverns took over the hotel in 2000, the hotel was expanded to offer more rooms to a higher standard, with the changes the lay out of the hotel now has as above a “labyrinth” of rooms and hallways, however all rooms and hallways are signposted to help guests find the relevant areas.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

Hotel Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    46
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
19
65
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We went with our two small kids and found the hotel very comfortable. The rooms were very clean. Toiletries and towels in good supply. Cute little cupboard and chest of drawers to store things. Nice shower in a well equipped bathroom (small but very clean). The staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was good and service very quick. Overall a very pleasant stay for our family. We would recommend the hotel highly and wonder why it is only a 2 star.

Room Tip: We had the back rooms. No views but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you for the polite review above. It’s always a pleasure to read such lovely feedback. We are very fortunate to have a passionate team of staff here who help ensure everything is top form for our guests & customers.

We hope to welcome you again to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The rooms were fine - we stayed once in June where I had a very small room, then again in July where I had a much larger nicer room. Both visits the room was very hot - the first stay they provided us with a fan, which proceeded to blow the hot air around the room! The room overlooked a very loud extraction unit outside, so I couldn't have the window open. The second visit i actually had air con in my room which was great - i still overlooked the extraction unit but it wasn't an issue as i had the a/c. The staff were very helpful on our second visit to ensure that we weren't in the same rooms as our previous visit.

The hotel restaurant was fine - the food was fairly average in the bar, but we enjoyed a couple of nice meals in the Atlantis restaurant. Our favourite haunt was out of the main door and left along the main street to the Belgian Bar - lovely fresh fish - I would recommend the haddock goujons.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucys488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, wonderful breakfast and helpful staff and great value for money. Ps the Pimms is outstanding. PPS check out the Atlantis Restaurant, fabulous food we recommend the sea food platter.

Mr & Mrs D Wilson
Sittingbourne, Kent

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firstaidroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you Mr & Mrs Wilson for your review above. The Atlantis team are delighted you found the food fabulous & hope next time you are visiting, you come back to try the exciting new menu.

Regards

The Oak Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We decided to book a hotel last minute for the following evening with our 18 month old daughter. We came across the Oak Hotel and it looked perfect right on the harbour. When we arrived the receptionist was extremely friendly and professional and explained everything to us. I was a little disappointed that there was no lift as we had a buggie and lots to go with it. The room was lovely and spacious and very clean. Every member of staff that we came across on our brief visit was lovely and helpful. We had breakfast the next morning and again superb staff and a very nice breakfast. We will be returning again to this very well run hotel.

Room Tip: request the back of the hotel for sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaeljones73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate all comments made to the hotel and find it very pleasing to know you enjoyed your stay and plan to return.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

The Oak Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Friendly staff, nice and clean. We had soooo many stairs to climb it was unbelievable and we got lost on the way to the room!

We only stayed one night and didnt crawl in until around 4:30am! We were at the back of the hotel with a horrible view but it was quiet.

Room Tip: Peace = no view. View = no peace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevLeFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Front Office Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your comment above. We are pleased that you found all staff friendly. We are very fortunate to have a good location, but due the location we also encounter noise in the late evenings. We do inform all guests at the time of booking over the phone, that sea views and standards can be affected.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This hotel is fairly typical of a tired English seaside hotel. The location is good in that it is directly opposite the harbour, but the road is lined with bars and restaurants, and certainly on the warm Saturday night we were there, they were crowded and open until 4.30 in the morning.

If you must stay here pay extra to get one of the rooms without a view at the back or you'll get no sleep. The rooms are small with standard double beds and cramped bathrooms with the usual mould around the bath. The hotel is not suitable for those who cannot walk well - there are a lot of stairs.

Breakfast was average, a small selection of cereals and juice. The cooked breakfast was not especially generous - one Radner of bacon, a sausage, half tomato, one egg and one slice of toast.

Overall the hotel is very average. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CADLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Front Office Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback above. I have since spoke to the head chef of our kitchen who is looking into your breakfast comment, all full English’s should be served with, one piece of bacon, one sausage, an egg, half tomato, beans, mushrooms and toast. That is our standard breakfast. Guests are more than welcome to add extras to the breakfast being reasonable & items on the menu.

With regards to the mould around the bath, I would very much appreciate if you could contact me direct at the hotel to confirm what room type you stayed in. We have had a look at the bathrooms and can agree some rooms do require some attention with silicone that consequently we are dealing with.

Once again thank you for your feedback, without this we would not be able to continue to improve our standards.

Kindest Regards

Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
1.6 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Property: The Oak Hotel
Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing