We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“School Weekend Away”
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“School Weekend Away”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here last summer! I am disabled and I need extra pillows! When I confirmed the booking I was assured there would be more pillows in my allocated room!
When we checked in! I ask the girl at reception about the pillows, I was told that the room had been let! Then we was asked for full payment, this must be the only hotel that takes the payment up front!

The room was ok! It was clean a bit on the small side! The main problem we had was being kept a wake for most of the night be the fridges humming all night long!

We also found some of the staff quite rude to the point of being arrogant!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am disappointed to hear you did not have a satisfactory stay with us.

I ask you to contact the hotel to discuss further the matter of your check in.
We allocate rooms on the day of arrival unless guests request for example a first floor room or one with a bath. You comment at check in you had been told the room had been let, I am concerned to know if you were allocated to higher floor as a result of not being allocated the room you specifically requested in advance If this is the case the matter will be taken up with the reception team & please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.


We do have a comment section that we use often to provide the housekeeping time with extra information that is relevant to the guests requests, Please accept my apologies if we had not placed extra pillows in the room before your arrival this may have been an oversight by the housekeeping team. We have now taken action to highlight in colour these comment boxes on the housekeeping sheet to help bring the information to their attention. Whilst I appreciate, you had taken the time to ask in advance, A member of the reception team would have been more than happy to assist in providing you with extra pillows on the day.

Concerning payment, each hotel has their individual policies with taking payment. After reviewing our system and looking closely at other policies, we amended our system to take payment at the time of check in, or a pre authorisation to allow guests to post items to their personal bills

With regards to the staff being rude, I was very staggered to read this comment. We often receive on a daily basis very good feedback from guests commenting on the friendliness of the hotel staff. All staff are currently taking CPL training in numerous certificated courses one of those being customer service, to help all staff maintain top service at all times.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    49
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
68
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

please, please,please don't listen to the last review !

can't fault this hotel, me & my partner booked in on 16th feb. the food at the Atlantis restaurant was fantastic. we had lunch plus our all our evening meals there for the whole of our stay(Delicious). plus the prices for the food was very reasonable,

reception staff, bar staff, restaurant staff, were all very helpful & friendly.

1: room with harbour view (perfect)

2: lovely, modern bar (relaxing)

3: atlantis restaurant (Delicious food)


well definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Wow thank you for your superb review.

It gives us great pleasure to read your kind words & even more pleasure in knowing you had an enjoyable stay here with us at the hotel. Our head chef in Atlantis especially will be pleased to read your review.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We thought the hotel looked idilic, the harbour setting etc...we were very disappointed. When we arrived we were asked where we had parked and we told them had parked in the pay and display the receptionist then told us we could have parked for free on the side of the road there was no mention of this in the advert, we were glad we did'nt. Our room was Superior executive deluxe...compared to Premier in it was standard. The bed was small and hard. The carpet and decorations were old and tired despite the 'recent upgrade'. The windows were filthy. The only deluxe thing was the towels very good quality but not enough to shower and wash your hair with The complimentry refreshment tray was well stocked with good quality tea and coffee. The breakfast was well cooked and tasted lovely but the staff on duty were poorly trained and not particulary friendly.. We returned to the hotel at about midnight to find the lively nightclub next door, also not mentioned in the advertising...spilling out on to the street and did not close until 3am. glad we parked over the road. Definetly not one for the family or anyone wanting a quiet weedend away like we did. Lovely town and surrounding

Room Tip: phone and talk to staff before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel.

We are very fortunate to be situated in a beautiful & convenient spot. With good surroundings, but Due to the great location of the hotel, unfortunately we do not have a private car park. We do not advertise the on street parking as these spaces are limited and we cannot guarantee a space at the time of guest’s arrival. On our homepage, we do advertise the car park tickets for a multi storey that has situated a short walk away, however not on booking.com. After reading your review, we will now be changing the information to include recommendations to the multi storey parking.
We provide in all double or twin rooms, 2 bath towels, 2 hand towels and two face clothes. We feel this is an satisfactory amount of linen per day. The housekeeping team change these on a daily basis. Should guest require more, as per the notices in all rooms the reception team are always happy to assist in arranging more?
The comments about the window s will be passed onto the company director. The location of the hotel is by the sea therefore we do experience the salt and sandy ocean spray. We have a local company that clean the windows weekly & this is the first bad comment we have received about the windows. Nevertheless, this will be looked into & changes made.
After receiving constant feedback with regards the bars surrounding the hotel and noise, we now inform all guests when booking online or via the phone that again, due to the position, we are a busy seaside hotel at the weekend mainly, the sea views can be affected by the noise.
I will pass on your compliments to the kitchen team in relation to the good breakfast; however, I would be interested hearing in detail your feedback on the breakfast staff. We usually have 2 set dedicated members of the team serving breakfast to help give returning guests a constant regular friendly face.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel Sat 5th Nov 2011. Absolutely nothing to complain about, room very very clean, bed very very comfortable, breakfast fantastic, and staff very very friendley, helpful and welcoming. The view from my room was Ramsgate Harbour, beautiful at night. Pleanty of places to eat and drink, fish and chips 1.30 in the morning after an evening of drinking and speaking to the lovely locals. Great weekend. Gail, Maxine, Chris and Alan

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxinewinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Gail, Maxine, Chris & Alan, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. What a lovely review you have posted.

With pubs, bars, cafés & late night fish and chip shops all within walking distance, not forgetting the beach it certainly is a GREAT location. We are very privileged to have the stunning views here everyday on the front desk, and as you point out, of an evening Ramsgate harbour looks glorious, most certainly underrated in some cases.

We hope you keep us in mind should you return to Ramsgate again.

Take care.

Kind Regards

Hotel Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Agree with most posters - double check which room allocated with very helpful reception staff.Just returned from 2 night stay and because of TA reviews queried rooms and was shown one booked (would have been really noisy as cheapest avail) or 312 at other end of the hotel for a small supplement which was well worth paying.
The rooms can be very hot (it was 30 degrees last w/e) but fan supplied in room.
The rooms are big enough - the bathrooms and towels excellent - very good choice of tea/coffee/hot chocolate etc - nice big TV - comfy bed - and room kept very clean each day.
Overall a little expensive for Ramsgate but would stay again if offerred any specials.
nb - if booked direct with the hotel as opposed to some of the agencies they will often include breakfast.

Room Tip: if looking at the hotel from the front ensure you are not on the left hand side as close to the disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penfolds_bin_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for the review.

Here at the Oak Hotel we have a very prime location at the weekends, with local bars and pubs open until late we always inform guests at the time of booking, any sea facing rooms or some standard doubles (situated towards the side of the hotel) may be affected by the noise. This is something we have put in place at the start of the year due to feedback from our customers. We always action to the best of our abilities the comments we get come good or bad. Reception staff are always more than happy to discuss room types with guests/ customers to help meet their requirements.

We are in the process of having air con installed in the hotel to help keep rooms cooler in the summer (although we seemed to lack a summer this year). Once again this has been something previously commented & now we are in the early steps of resolving this.

Please feel free to forward your email address to us on reception: reception@oakhotel.co.uk and we will inform you of any special offers or rates we will be offering in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The oak hotel is where I stayed the night before and night of my wedding. I was given an excellent room at the front with view of harbour. I had the worst nights sleep ever not from nerves but the noise and it was a Thursday night, pubs and bars appeared to be open until 3am ish. The hotel should provide ear plugs for guests in front rooms.

No other complaints the staff were very helpful, they ensured whole day ran smoothly, did everything I had asked for with regards to wedding reception etc. Sit down meal was fantastic but evening buffet was not quite as good.

Breakfast was lovely both mornings.

I'd recommend staying as location good for night out, but be aware you may have noisy room. Would also highly recommend for wedding reception or parties.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epage3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for the above review.

Firstly congratulations to the newly weds. We hope married life is treating you both well.

I am sorry to hear you had a bad night sleep before your wedding. We do have a night porter on duty to help assist guest during the night. While I appreciate moving rooms is not what a bride to be wants the night before her wedding, however should you have called down he would have been more than happy to help move you, whether it be just using another bed for sleep or room moving completely. I hope the second night was a little more pleasant for you and your husband. We do have a policy that all guests are informed that sea views of the weekends can be affected by street noise, the general manager and I will look into why you were not informed of this at the time of booking. Please accept our apologies.

With regards to your wedding meal we have a very passionate team of chefs who will be pleased to hear your sit down meal was a success. Here at the hotel we hold parties, conferences & weddings through out the year, this is the first time we have had a bad comment and would like to be able to discuss this further with you. We would appreciate if you could contact our functions co-ordinator to discuss your feedback on the buffet.



Kind Regards

Hotel Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I stay regularly here for work, and find the staff friendly and efficient. It is a labyrinth of rooms, all quite different from each other, but all immaculately clean.

Yes a room on the front can be a bit noisy, but certainly doesnt stop me from sleeping. Its opposite the harbour, lovely views, places to eat and drink nearby.

Breakfast is plentiful, hot, and served in the bar - very relaxing.

Parking has not been a problem for me - ever. Some say they had problems getting a spot close to the hotel but it never happened to me.

No complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbysw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on here. We are always pleased to see customers return on a regular basis. We pride in good customer service and are delighted the staffs have achieved this on each visit to the hotel.

When Thorley Taverns took over the hotel in 2000, the hotel was expanded to offer more rooms to a higher standard, with the changes the lay out of the hotel now has as above a “labyrinth” of rooms and hallways, however all rooms and hallways are signposted to help guests find the relevant areas.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards

Hotel Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ramsgate hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
#6 of 10 in Ramsgate
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Property: The Oak Hotel
Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing