We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception and two night stay”
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wedding reception and two night stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I picked The Oak Hotel as our wedding reception venue due to it looking good, being in a great location and very affordable. Guests who stayed also got a discount off their room which is always great.

I stayed the night before our wedding and the room was small but clean and tidy. I couldn't get the shower to work, but that might just be me to blame, but the bath was wonderful. I was unfortunately woken up a lot by other people being noisy in the hallways and ended up getting up at 6 am because I could hear everyone on my floor having showers! But, that isn't the hotel or the staffs fault really as there isn't much you can do about wall thickness and guests having to get up early to leave. I, personally, wasn't all that bothered as I was getting married that day so I could just get an early start on things and I'm often up early anyway, but it might bother some.

The Tiffany Suite where we had our reception was gorgeous. The room was laid out perfectly, the staff were very helpful and everything was wonderful. I would definitely recommend hosting an event there as it was all done so professionally and for a very good price. We had the room all day too.

The second night my husband and I stayed together in the same room and it was fine. No noisy neighbours this time! Although the room is on the small size we didn't find it a squeeze, though I imagine some might.

Despite being on the harbour front on a bank holiday weekend we didn't notice any noise or disturbances at all throughout our stay.

We also ate at the restaurant and the food, drinks and service was all fantastic. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: You may want to specify that you would like a little more space, my parents stayed in the hotel too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    52
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
21
73
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Great location is always a good start. Quite a nice hotel with nice pub/restaurant downstairs. The room I was in was very clean and cleaned on a daily basis. Nice hot and powerful shower. Staff very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frostypops1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I suppose the fact that my wife and I stay with you once or twice every year makes us regulars. However, I am pleased to say that the reason we visit regularly is because we are never disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the service is excellent and always friendly and the food in the restaurant is first class. If it wasn't so we would not bring the family - all 13 of them - to eat & stay on special anniversary occasions. We look forward to our next visit!
Arthur Blaney

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank You Mr Blaney for taking the time to review the hotel.

It’s always a pleasure to read the teams hard work does not go unnoticed. We will as all comments good or bad relay the feedback to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming the Blaney family again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

tried the oak again as reasonably pleased with last visit but not impressed this time.The rooms are ok but very small and the food in the bar restaurant is extremely poor although this may be because very quiet at this time of year.
the staff were 1st class and very helpful but found all of ramsgate really quiet with hardly anyone in any of the restaurants even on a Friday night.
roll on the spring !!!!!!

Room Tip: in summer stay away from the ones on the left (looking at the front of the hotel) as can get very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penfolds_bin_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

I am saddened to here that your second visit to the hotel did not live up to the previous stay. Regrettably, this time of year is a very quiet time for the hotel and for all local traders due to the location, the wind and rain does not always seem as appealing as the sun. Because of this, the whole sea front can suffer which is a shame.
My general manager would be grateful for some more information on the comments concerning the restaurant food so he can investigate further.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Rooms are generally clean and comfortable but be warned, if you get one of the higher floors bring your climbing gear as there is no lift!
The food in either of the Restaurants are good but the beer can be pricey!
So, all in all, ok to spend the odd night but I wouldn't spend any length of time here.

Room Tip: First floor front facing if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyindarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Good Afternoon.

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to see you found the rooms clean and comfortable. We will be sure to pass your comments onto the chefs regarding the good food.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle,Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It has the most fantastic location, rigth in the middle of ramsgate at the habour.
The room was at the top floor(4th) and with no lift. It was difficult to carry your suitcase in the stairways and our room was old and dirty. The bathroom was in a very bad shape.
Breakfast was ok and the waiters very nice . They offer you a full english breakfast if you want.
I dont think I would go back to that hotel although the staff was very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetteVagn-Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Expotel, Manager at The Oak Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you your review.

The hotel building is a very old building and refurbished in 2004, with only a small extension to increase the amount of rooms. Due to the lay out we are unable to have a lift installed directly through the hotel which unfortunately does not suite everyone’s requirements.
As seen in some of the reviews before and verbal direct Feedback to the front desk team, the feedback is always very positive about the cleanliness of the room & the bathrooms. I am very surprised to hear you found the room dirty; nevertheless, we do take on board all comments good or bad. Please feel free to contact the hotel were we could discuss the issue in more detail.
We will ensure the team are made aware of there special mention for helpfulness on trip advisor.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed in a family room as we were attending a wedding near by. Due to the time of check in and the time of the wedding clashing we didn't get to our room until 1am. Our bags were left in a friend's room which was a bit of hassle but is obviously not the hotel's fault. When we arrived back to the hotel I realised it was directly next to clubs which on a Saturday night were busy and noisy. There was no staff available during the night however there is an on call porter, I was desperate for a glass of water but there was nowhere I could get one and nobody I could ask. When we got into our room it was massive and although it was decorated in many different bright colours it looked good enough. I was sleeping on the sofa bed and I am not lying when I say it was rock hard, so were the pillows. It was also very musty. The noise from the clubs was so loud with the beat of the music and the shouting and screaming from the people outside that it was hard to get to sleep. In the morning I woke up in a lot of pain from the bed. The view from the window was lovely, our room looked straight out onto the harbour which was nice. Breakfast was also very nice. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ramsgate hotels
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
The Falstaff, Ramsgate
#6 of 10 in Ramsgate
77 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Property: The Oak Hotel
Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing