We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Generally very good and well situated with excellent views over the harbour from the front rooms. Park free on Saturdays in the multi-story car park. Would stay again. The hotel blurb could be more helpful about parking for there is a multi-story car park near by that is free on Saturdays. You may get a bit of disco music at weekends but this shouldn't put you off. Get a front room.

Room Tip: Free parking between 6pm and 9am. Otherwise get one of their tickets for the multi-story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked the Oak fairly last minute for the Easter weekend and managed to grab the last harbour side room. I am glad we got one of these rooms as the view was lovely!

The hotel is in a good location, as it is a short walk from town with bars and shops. it is also a short walk to the bus stop which is great for a cheap trip to Broadstairs (£2.20 return)/Margate.

Broadstairs is also a 40 minute walk along the coast.

The hotel room was nice, although could have had a bit more TLC as some bits were falling apart. The rooms were clean, and we had a maid clean the room in between our 2 night stay. Although, there was a dodgey looking stain on the bed throw which we decided not to use.

The harbor side rooms were loud at night, with music and people talking. Although we had prepared for this because of the reviews and ear plugs seemed to do the job pretty well.

The service in the bar was welcoming, as were the ladies in hotel reception. I found it a bit irritating that there was no one on hotel reception just after 2pm, when 2pm was the check-in time, although someone did arrive after 10 minutes or so.

I couldn't have expected more for the money.

Room Tip: It is worth the small cost of upgrading to a harbour-side room. However, make sure you prepare for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We are staying here just overnight, but have been overwhelmed with what we have found. The staff are very friendly, the room is spotless and cosy, the bathroom is bigger than what we have at home!. We have just had dinner in their 66 restaurant and could not fault anything there either. A great selection of starters, mains and puddings, and the young girls who served everyone were very attentive, polite and happy. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylordayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The rooms are very clean & fresh, Room refreshments exceptional, as were the toiletries & gorgeous towels. Great pity that there is no way a lift could be installed as some of the rooms can be a bit of a trek ! Staff very helpful & friendly.My gluten free breakfast in May had been a great disappointment....no alternative bread or sausage offered , limited amount & choice , other places nearby offered better value,so we ate breakfast elsewhere this time.The Hotel meals are a bit expensive !
Still exceptional value for the room though !!

Room Tip: Go for the dearest you can afford as some of the cheaper rooms are noisy & can be slightly claus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanna-2MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The staff are so welcoming and friendly and ensured we had the perfect valentines day. The rooms are very comfortable and completely spotless and the Meal at restaurant 66 was fantastic. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in room 301 on new years eve 2013. Really great hotel, and the staff were great. Especially Ash in the bar that night. :) Made to feel really welcome and the chef even seated us and let us chose from the bar menu, even though they had a pre-booked 7 course meal that evening. Cosy warm room, and spotless. Many thanks for a great new year. The rain even stopped for us at midnight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is lovely. The staff can't do enough for you. The rooms are decorated to a very high standard and are spotlessly clean. The restaurant is brilliant and the breakfast was cooked to order. The hotel's location is amazing too. I really can't find fault with it at all and I really can't understand why this hotel is only a 2*. I'd have thought it was a good 3*. Definitely stay here is you're visiting the beautiful town of Ramsgate.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destinyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
1.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ramsgate
520 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range: £53 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing