We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't believe its not butter!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Oak Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Bromley
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I can't believe its not butter!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

5 stars for food, service and price. 3 to 4 stars for atmosphere



We had previously had an excellent lunch at The Oak, and thought we would
try three nights as a get away at the hotel. We also ate two nights at the
66 restaurant which is part of the hotel itself.

On the good side, the first night we ate at the 66, the food was very nice:
well cooked and well served and presented. Price was acceptable for the
quality.

On the downside:

The reception staff were mixed, from not particularly welcoming to not
really seeming to care at all (not even a ‘thank you’ when we left, £500
poorer).

They only issued us with one key card to the room when two would have been
handy.

The room itself wasn’t the one we booked as there had been a mix up over
how many days we had booked. The room was ok but a little worse for wear:
the windows both had paint pealing and damp marks above them, the bed was
quite loose when you got onto it (it moved: from the holes in the frame it
had clearly been a four poster at one point but no longer) but it seemed
safe and was pretty comfortable. The décor was a little tired but
serviceable. The ensuite was ok and the tea and coffee facilities provided
were quite good. Despite the view of the harbour (which was good) it really
wasn’t worth £110 a night.

Breakfast on the first day was good but ruined by the lack of butter for
the toast. What was brought out was claimed to be butter by the staff but
was patently margarine and quite nasty margarine at that. The juice was
nice and the sausage and bacon on the full English was good.

By day two we had been to Iceland and bought ourselves a packet of butter
(which – for £330 for three days – we really shouldn’t have had to) just in
case they hadn’t taken on board the feedback we gave them on morning one.
Sure enough, we had to use our own butter as they trotted out the same
yellow waxy stuff again. And the sausages were quite inedible.

Day three – having had a meal in the 66 restaurant the night before (one of
the £35 for three courses with a bottle of wine that was quite
disappointing: why go to the trouble of home made soup and bread and still
serve the same waxy margarine?) we could see which way the wind was blowing
and again provided out own butter. We had a full English and a smoked
salmon and scrambled egg with toast on the side. The full English was ok
but the toast was late (the latter two mornings the concept of serving
toast actually with the breakfast seemed to be too difficult) and the toast
for the Salmon didn’t turn up at all. And the cut of Salmon was awful –
thick, dark and cheap. Service at breakfast was rubbish and the food
declined steadily.

Any other bad points? Some of the staff were very nice but some needed to
be better trained (employing a bar staff person who couldn’t spell Rioja
was just embarrassing). Being kept awake to three thirty in the morning by
the club next door on our last night because there is no control over what
goes on outside in the street and being woken up at five or six by street
cleaners and dustbin collection made sleeping awful.

Lastly, the room cleaning could have been a bit less close to breakfast –
we did feel we were being rushed out of the room on one occasion (though
the cleaning itself was flawless).

In all, not somewhere we would go back to, which is a real shame. A waste
of the property.

Food 3 star (4 star but spoilt by the Salmon and the butter)
Service 2 or 3 star (quite mixed)
Facilities 3 to 4 star
Location 4 to 5 star

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandJRocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    46
    23
    14
    9
See reviews for
20
67
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Generally very good and well situated with excellent views over the harbour from the front rooms. Park free on Saturdays in the multi-story car park. Would stay again. The hotel blurb could be more helpful about parking for there is a multi-story car park near by that is free on Saturdays. You may get a bit of disco music at weekends but this shouldn't put you off. Get a front room.

Room Tip: Free parking between 6pm and 9am. Otherwise get one of their tickets for the multi-story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I booked the Oak fairly last minute for the Easter weekend and managed to grab the last harbour side room. I am glad we got one of these rooms as the view was lovely!

The hotel is in a good location, as it is a short walk from town with bars and shops. it is also a short walk to the bus stop which is great for a cheap trip to Broadstairs (£2.20 return)/Margate.

Broadstairs is also a 40 minute walk along the coast.

The hotel room was nice, although could have had a bit more TLC as some bits were falling apart. The rooms were clean, and we had a maid clean the room in between our 2 night stay. Although, there was a dodgey looking stain on the bed throw which we decided not to use.

The harbor side rooms were loud at night, with music and people talking. Although we had prepared for this because of the reviews and ear plugs seemed to do the job pretty well.

The service in the bar was welcoming, as were the ladies in hotel reception. I found it a bit irritating that there was no one on hotel reception just after 2pm, when 2pm was the check-in time, although someone did arrive after 10 minutes or so.

I couldn't have expected more for the money.

Room Tip: It is worth the small cost of upgrading to a harbour-side room. However, make sure you prepare for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We are staying here just overnight, but have been overwhelmed with what we have found. The staff are very friendly, the room is spotless and cosy, the bathroom is bigger than what we have at home!. We have just had dinner in their 66 restaurant and could not fault anything there either. A great selection of starters, mains and puddings, and the young girls who served everyone were very attentive, polite and happy. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylordayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The rooms are very clean & fresh, Room refreshments exceptional, as were the toiletries & gorgeous towels. Great pity that there is no way a lift could be installed as some of the rooms can be a bit of a trek ! Staff very helpful & friendly.My gluten free breakfast in May had been a great disappointment....no alternative bread or sausage offered , limited amount & choice , other places nearby offered better value,so we ate breakfast elsewhere this time.The Hotel meals are a bit expensive !
Still exceptional value for the room though !!

Room Tip: Go for the dearest you can afford as some of the cheaper rooms are noisy & can be slightly claus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanna-2MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The staff are so welcoming and friendly and ensured we had the perfect valentines day. The rooms are very comfortable and completely spotless and the Meal at restaurant 66 was fantastic. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORRINGHAM ESSEX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in room 301 on new years eve 2013. Really great hotel, and the staff were great. Especially Ash in the bar that night. :) Made to feel really welcome and the chef even seated us and let us chose from the bar menu, even though they had a pre-booked 7 course meal that evening. Cosy warm room, and spotless. Many thanks for a great new year. The rain even stopped for us at midnight.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsgate
0.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
431 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak Hotel

Property: The Oak Hotel
Address: 66 Harbour Parade, Ramsgate CT11 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ramsgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on the Royal harbour in Ramsgate. Central to all tourist attractions, Restaurants, Bars and pubs. We also have function rooms for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Hotel Ramsgate
The Oak Hotel Ramsgate, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing