We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
111
85
34
21
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
85
34
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift jacuzzi bath wedding reception lovely hotel overlooking the harbour would stay here again hotel bar comfy bed mr mrs bars and restaurants room was spotless superb location sea front one night stay the ground floor breakfast room short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2022

Although simply furnished, the room was spotless and comfortable. The shower was hot and had excellent pressure. We had a jacuzzi bath, though we didn't use it. The bed was very comfy. Terrific view of the harbour. We could have done with knowing that the hotel was booked for a wedding party. A trip to Boots for ear defenders was definitely needed. Despite spending over £300 during our stay, having paid for an upgraded room, we were charged an extra 20p at checkout. Apparently we had been charged 20p too little for the upgrade. That 20p, although of little consequence to us, has cost The Oak a 5-Star review.

Room tip: Check for noisy weddings and bring ear defenders.
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2022 via mobile

Had a five star experience, would like to say a massive thank you to the bar staff of Amy and Emily who were amazing and couldn't do enough to make sure we all had a great time. A real credit to the establishment.

Would not hesitate to attend again

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2022 via mobile

Lovely venue for wedding staff all polite however the in house DJ was not very good played some very drab music not many were dancing
The room we had was terrible at rear noisy all night overlooking the kitchen and generator going on all through night. Ever slept a wink nor my wife breakfast was ok despite waking 15/20 minutes for it
Disappointing overall

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank robm599
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2022 via mobile

The most friendly if hotels, we were welcomed like friends. The staff were awesome. Rooms brill breakfast to die for and even met the maintenance guys who were so friendly. Previously use the Travel Lodge and so had the wife and her friends but you know what, this place we will use in the future very soon

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2022

Stayed at The Oak Hotel for family wedding, The room was very nice with double bed, on suite with bath and shower, Two seater sofa, flat screen TV plus everything else you would expect. The wedding reception was held in the Tiffany Room , really enjoyed ourselves, In general the service was very good , staff very welcoming and helpful. Only negative I would have is the DJ at the reception wasn't very good , had no idea how to keep the dancing going, once people had started. But that aside, we all had a great time, food was good , service was great, no complaints.
We stayed the weekend, Breakfast was good and service great, although I found there is not very much in this location, I would definitely stay at The Oak Hotel again and would definitely recommend it , Thanks Oak Hotel, five stars.

Room tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel, are quieter than the front, as they don't get the noise from the night life !
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 953ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews